We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Meetings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Well the staff definitely knows the meeting I am talking about since it was the CFS-AGM which means 300+ students who were there for 5 days! And all I can say is that the staff were absolutely amazing! Unfortunately I had to call down to get towels many times which sucked but the beds were always made great! The food was decent... not the best but I don't blame them for cooking for 300+ people who are super picky!

It is the best location - great walking distance to museums and art gallery's and even the Parliament Building! Great hotel!!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank lwhiting_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has some older fixtures, but they are keeping them up pretty well. Great location; the extra charge for the view is worth it. Parking charge could be a one time charge, not nightly, considering their parking is not secured and around the corner from the hotel. The staff were very friendly, personable and attentive to the guests. Restaurant for supper was ok, eat at the St Hubert, only 5min walk! the breakfast we found to be a little costly at 8.95 for the quality of the food. The eggs and sausage was not good, and you can't go wrong with a bagel. Loved the cycling trails nearby, very easy to get around. Would certainly stay here again when coming to ottawa, down down is just a short walk/drive across the bridge to the market, parliament, mint, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a view; book the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goulet145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pros - the location is perfect for anyone who will be enjoying the nearby museums or the river cruises (which depart from just across the street); staff were very friendly and very helpful; free wi-fi; there is a pool (though it was built-on later and access takes you up and down stairs and all over the place); Room climate control worked well; Generally fairly clean; fridge in the room (though it barely worked); exercise room in the hotel with good cardio gear; Coke machines on most floors; Good ice machines (but only located in the basement); conveniently close to SAQ depot store.

Cons - The hallways have a strange odor - likely due to the age of the place; hotel itself looks quite old; parking is scattered - and if you don't get underground or in front of the hotel - you could end up having to park your car on a sketchy side lot; our room was nowhere near as large as any in the professional photos shown here; doors/walls lack soundproofing; there is no room service; there are only plastic glasses provided in the room; rooms overlook extensions to the hotel - the roof for these doesn't look very good; bathrooms in rooms are tiny - with tiny box flush toilets - and while the bathroom sink appears to have been improved/renovated - the showers are much older and obviously harder to keep in presentable condition; Halls and elevator should be air conditioned (it was weird going from a nicely renovated lobby into a humid and dank elevator and into humid hallways - no doubt contributing to the odor in the hallways);

We'd suggest to the management that they need to completely modernize/update the ensuite bathrooms, renovate/re-carpet the hallways; install air conditioning for the hallways and elevators (it's necessary to keep the place smelling clean); and consider a system of complimentary valet parking (as your parking spaces are all over the place). You might also want to consider creating a small in-hotel store similar to those sometimes provided at HI Express or Hilton Garden Inn. . . .This location doesn't appear to be close to anything else in terms of stores etc. A lot of this comes down to general inconvenient layout of Gatineau Waterfront, but the hotel should try to compensate. Another suggestion - a hotel shuttle to ferry people to decent restaurants and other less accessible things. The Gatineau/Hull taxi system can be a little territorial for those not used to it. .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

very convenient location next to the museum and a short walk to downtown Ottawa, staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the family suite which offers ample room and a mini fridge and microwave. The hotel itself however is in need of some upgrades; our coffee maker was broken, the outlet in the bedroom didn't work, and the exercise room is tiny, hot and has very little equipment. They offer at big breakfast but not for free and we never ate in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My hotel of choice for my frequent visits to Gatineau/Ottawa. Amazing views of the river, Parliament, Art Museum, and downtown Ottawa. Incredibly courteous and helpful staff. Perfect location to easily walk to the Museum of History, Parliament, Art Museum, and the Byward Market. The most comfortable beds and bedding by far over any other hotel I have stayed in. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have travelled many times and have stayed here quite often. The staff is excellent, polite and very friendly. Even after having travelled to Paris and coming back late due to complications on the flight and the airport the staff at this location was so helpful to us. Thanks to Martin, Roxanne, Stephanie, Mariem, Nathalie and all the others that always make us feel like home. Keep up the good work

Regards
Nathalie

Room Tip: Room 823 has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The welcome we received was dismal , the room we were allocated was directly as you came out of the lift , the air-conditioning unit very noisy in our room , and so was next doors as the vent was on our balcony ....next doors tv could be heard clearly thru the walls . As my partner is a diamond elite member of best western and have stayed at various BW hotels and this one is by far the worst ! We were not told on check in that the pool was not working .... We were only told this when we went there now and found the door locked , we went to enquire why only to find the receptionist standing at the front door smoking . I won't recommend this one

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dawcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
147 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gatineau - Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gatineau
#5 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a moment to relax and enjoy the view! Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is an award winning, waterfront hotel that provides guests with a picturesque view of Canada’s Capital. Our 9 storey structure has 133 guest rooms including 9 suites, 4 banquet rooms offering a total of 4500 square feet of meeting and banquet space and with our events manager directly on site, we can accommodate all your business or leisure event needs. Our hotel offers a relaxing blend of inviting hospitality with state of the art, modern day conveniences, including complimentary wireless high speed internet throughout, free local phone calls, an equipped health facility, a newly renovated indoor salt water pool with a lifeguard provided at all times and indoor parking. Enjoy a stroll across the historic Alexandra bridge, to the famous Byward Market and Ottawa’s downtown business, shopping and entertainment district. We look forward to welcoming you to the Outaouais’ best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gatineau
Best Western Gatineau
Gatineau Best Western
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing