We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Would not recommend...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 1 night everything was good other than the bed it was very dirty (black hair all over the bed). Also the pool had a big clump of hair floating & hair on pool deck. Would not come back and definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Timothy P,

I was extremely disappointed to read and am truly sorry that you and your family did not get the opportunity to experience our hotel in the manner that is truly representing of our value and quality. Should you decide to give our hotel another chance to make a 1st impression, I would welcome you to contact me directly at 1800-265-8550 extention, 4452 Martin Fogarty, General Manager. It would be my pleasure to have you back as our guest and ensure you are taken care of.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    215
    116
    64
    44
See reviews for
191
199
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

our weekend started out very poorly with our bus driver not knowing where he was going and dropping us off about 5 city blocks away from our intended stop. Once we made it to the hotel the staff were very accommodating and curtious and geniunly concerned about the walk we'd just made. Our room was beautiful, clean and cool, we had a beautiful veiw of the Jacques Cartier Park and the river. We were close to the restaurant and the pier where our intended cruise (which never happened) was supposed to leave from. The pool is wonderful just the right temp. Breakfast is priced right and the food very good. I certainly would recommend this hotel for a short stay or long stay as the price was right for the service and cleanliness. 5 star in my book.

Room Tip: front facing rooms better view non smoking suites best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Mary L,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post your review of our Best Western Plus Hotel. It is comments such as yours that allow us to continually improve upon our products and services. It was most gratifying to learn that our continual investments into training, customer service have not gone un-noticed.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring your back to the Nation’s capital region.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our car trip around west Canada.
We stayed 2 nights and during this our rental got a flat tyre, we contacted road assistance but did not believe it would take nearly 5 hours to sort. As we could not have breakfast asked staff to keep us cereal, fruit for our return expecting to have in our room.
On our return we were sent to the dining room where everything including cooked food was waiting for us. This was well after closing time for the cafe, we were gob smacked.
Had the staff in fits of laughter over our experience.
Thanks to all an amazing experience we will never forget

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and sunny, unfortunately we did not have one of these as hotel was pretty f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Dee2727

Thank you for your review of our hotel; we appreciate the time and effort you took to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for acknowledging the excellent customer services you received while staying with us. My team and I take personal pride, in delivering superior customer care.

Once again Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, we sincerely look forward to your next stay with us when your travels bring you back to the national capital region.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Best Western - Gatineau is located directly cross the river from Sussex Drive, the National Gallery of Canada, the Parliament Buildings etc. Just walk across the Alexandra Bridge and you are there. It is also across the street from the fabulous Canadian Museum of History a must see in Ottawa. The hotel meets all he expectations of a Best Western hotel with a nice restaurant (great buffet breakfast), a pool and other amenities. Rooms are large and comfortable and the one we had on the eight floor had a balcony overlooking a fabulous view of the Ottawa River, Parliament, The Peace Tower, the National Gallery etc. The night we stayed at the Best Western - Gatineau there was a beautiful fireworks show right in front of the hotel launched from a barge in the middle of the river. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the higher floors with a balcony overlooking the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgoldchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Rgoldchain,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate the time and energy it takes to write comments after your stay. I was so pleased to read that you had such a positive first impression of our hotel and services. You even commented on our high levels of cleanliness and customer service, as well as how happy you were with our location. We value all comments from our travelers; we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you back to the National Capital region.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa was at the bottom #7 of the 8. Even tho it was the highest price of all the Best Westerns, I had hoped the room rate was worth the cost. The front desk was friendly & welcoming. Our view room had dust bunnies on the ceiling & the balcony was littered with cigarette butts & dirt. It was the smallest room of the 8, & there was no microwave, so the wife couldn't have a cup of tea. The bed was comfortable with little or no noise at night. I'm sure the parking charges incurred offset the cost of snow removal. Some of that money should go making the parking lot presentable at least during the tulip festival. The lot was pretty bad, & to beat it all 2 days as we returned one employee was smoking under the portico, so entry through a fog of smoke. The breakfast hit the very bottom, as it was like eating 3rd day leftovers & they had the cajoles to pile on the extra charge. Very few guests ate there, & probably shouldn't have myself. I have a hard believing this was a BW Plus. I guess if you have captive audience, & why this place has such a high rating. The inspection team should reevaluate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed there in May for the Festibière de Gatineau. 115$ Govt rate. I biked there and had my bike stowed for the duration of stay so good option for cyclist.

Check in was friendly and was provided room on upper floor. Room was good size but only had a small windiw which made for a claustrophobic feel. Good queen bed, LCD TV with plenty of channels, decent sized bathroom, free wifi.

The pool was decent but the corridor leading to the pool is a bit long and in need of reno. Small gym with limited equipment.

Breakfast was a plus, for 8$ buffet, with crepes and maple syrup included. Overall, worthwhile economical option for those visiting our fair city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was a disappointment as a Best Western Plus. We expected more. The building is older and shows its age. Carpets are worn and could use a thorough cleaning. The rooms are clean, however.

We chose this hotel because it was close to our destination and it had air-conditioning and a pool. The pool hours for mid-summer are ridiculously short. Never could get a definitive answer on what the hours actually are but they seemed to be about 1630 to 2130 hours. Forget the morning swim except possibly on weekends, maybe.

The restaurant breakfast buffet is over-priced for very average food. Didn't even try the dinner menu.

Parking was adequate, if you made use of the underground garage. Very limited space there, but it was better than parking in the extremely tight spaces outside.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful - that was a definite plus.

Next time we go to Ottawa-Gatineau we will choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: River view rooms at least have something to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsingPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#4 of 25 in Gatineau
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gatineau
#5 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a moment to relax and enjoy the view! Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is an award winning, waterfront hotel that provides guests with a picturesque view of Canada’s Capital. Our 9 storey structure has 133 guest rooms including 9 suites, 4 banquet rooms offering a total of 4500 square feet of meeting and banquet space and with our events manager directly on site, we can accommodate all your business or leisure event needs. Our hotel offers a relaxing blend of inviting hospitality with state of the art, modern day conveniences, including complimentary wireless high speed internet throughout, free local phone calls, an equipped health facility, a newly renovated indoor salt water pool with a lifeguard provided at all times and indoor parking. Enjoy a stroll across the historic Alexandra bridge, to the famous Byward Market and Ottawa’s downtown business, shopping and entertainment district. We look forward to welcoming you to the Outaouais’ best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gatineau
Best Western Gatineau
Gatineau Best Western
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing