We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chronological history of Canada”

Canadian Museum of History
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.13*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization At Canada's most visited museum, discover the events, experiences, people and objects that have shaped the nation's history. Take in the beauty of this architectural gem and its spectacular setting on the banks of the Ottawa River. Marvel at the world's largest indoor collection of totem poles, explore the traditions and achievements of Canada's First Peoples and this summer, step aboard the Empress of Ireland and relive the experience of the worst maritime disaster in Canada's history - with its stories of tragic loss, courage and human kindness - through artifacts and eyewitness accounts. Be a kid again at the Children's Museum and live the ultimate cinema experience at the IMAX(R) Theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chronological history of Canada”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great experience. Don't miss it. I liked the 3rd floor history of Canada starting in the east and moving west with the settlements.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    400
    139
    64
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great museum! Kids LOVED it!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited the museum last week and would definitely go back....and we are not Canadian!! The history halls were fascinating and I could have spent much, much more time in those areas. However, with two young boys, they were anxious to get to the Children's Museum!
The children's hall was fabulous! My boys are 7 and 6 and they absolutely loved this museum! We spent 5-6 hours at this museum and could have spent much longer!

The only problem we had is that we were parked on the road at a parking meter that we had to go back to every 2 hours to add more $$$. We were not able to utilize the museum parking due to our vehicle (midsize SUV) with a cargo box on the roof. We likely would have stayed at the museum longer if we had not "run out of time" on the parking meter!

(note: there may be lockers/storage, but we were not looking for it!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank misdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Museum was okay...”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We visited the Canadian Museum of History (mainly because we were going to see an IMAX) and weren't sure what to expect. At the time, the museum had the Empress of Ireland exhibit, which was sold as the Titanic of Canada. The artifacts and history were woven together well to give visitors a comprehensive idea of the events surrounding the Empress of Ireland.

After viewing that exhibit, we saw several other exhibits which seemed to be a bit odd. One was all about snow. Neither my husband nor I really understood why they created a whole exhibit on snow, but we quickly looked around and moved on. On the top floor, there's a very brief overview of each province. Since the museum is call the Canadian Museum of History, I expected to get a more cohesive history of Canada and possibly see stories from different provinces highlighted. Instead, we got a very superficial story that I could have quickly read on Wikipedia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LHoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“AKA Canadian Museum of Civilization”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

An incredible space with amazing collection of Canadiana from Haida to Inuits. Canadian native histories are celebrated and housed in this incredible architecture in a surreal location with sweeping views of Ottawa downtown.

Don't miss the celebrated artworks of Bill Reid, and incredible Canadian first nations artist.

I only wish the museum was open a bit later because they close at 6pm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James_wu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
751 reviews
326 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Impressive coverage of Canada's history - Not to be missed”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at the Museum of History by aqua ferry, affording lovely views of the area. The sun was shining brightly and we enjoyed walking through the grounds en route to the entrance of this impressive building. We started our visit by taking in a special display of the sinking of the Empress of Ireland, which went down quickly in the St Lawrence in 1914, killing over 1000 people. The story of this little known tragedy was effectively told. We took our time going through the 'History of Canada' and then made our way to the Great Hall with an impressive array of totem poles, before viewing the exhibit of First Nations peoples. The story of the history of Canada is important and this museum is not to be missed if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelIsBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie F, Manager at Canadian Museum of History, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience. We strive to provide unique, fun, interactive and quality learning experiences to visitors. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the special exhibition Empress of Ireland and our other permanent exhibitions. Reading comments and feedback from visitors is the best reward for all of us at the Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Museum of History also viewed

 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Canadian Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing