We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Little Hipster Breakfast Cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgar

Edgar
Ranked #1 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Brunch on weekend only
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Cute Little Hipster Breakfast Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

When we arrived for breakfast we had a 25 minute wait because it was so busy! The servers were really nice and brought us coffee while we waited. Don't expect a menu. The server told us the 3 breakfast items, two of which are set and the third one changes weekly. Luckily for me, one of the choices was gluten-free so we were all really happy. The food was excellent. I think they also sold some pastries/desserts inside. Tres yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    24
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We discovered a little gem of a restaurant in Gatineau. We went for brunch it was so good. We had the Dutch pancake with pork belly and cheddar and had a veggie sandwich with a greek salad. the bread comes from Les Deux freres bakery and it is delicious. Service was nice, small space but you get good homedae food. I will go back during the week for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtr1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simply sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Tiny little place but just a gem in the neighbourhood. I had a light lunch which consisted of gazpacho and cucumbers and honeydew melon salad. Both were just exquisite. Original menu, refreshing and creative cuisine. I can't wait to go back.
Compliments to the team!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent paninis, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We dined the night before at Odile and I was absolutely raving about the food! I was so excited to find out about Chez Edgar and drag the family to try it the next day.

We got the paninis as takeout as seating was limited. The paninis were pressed to perfection and the bread was just right and slightly crispy. The paninis were packed to the max with ingredients, and again perfectly paired, I experienced the same explosion of flavours in my mouth as I did with the last night's dinner at Odile. The pricing was VERY reasonable at $7/$7.25 each (remember that pho in chinatown Ottawa costs $7 for a small bowl and that a panini of this quality would easily exceed $10 in Toronto).

I also bought a few cookies for takeout. The beignes au citron were okay, but I really loved the cookies. I bought a gingerbread and chocolate one as well as the apricot and coconut. Loved them, wish I had bought more to take home with me.

We drove down one block to the park facing the Ottawa river to eat.

Next time I'm in the Ottawa region, I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mintchoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tiny place with great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you like a great coffee and a robust sandwich that tastes like it was made at home - this place is for you. The place is really small (as the title suggests), and can get packed especially during for the lunch hour, but that is the sign of recognition. In summer there is a few seats outside available. Also if you like this place do not miss 'Odile' - which is run by the same people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edgar also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Edgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing