We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A humble abode!”
Review of Motel Montcalm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Montcalm
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A humble abode!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I visited the Motel Montcalm a few weeks ago, it was just fabulous, the staff was very friendly. We even met the owner who treated us to complimentary muffins and coffee.

I recommend this motel to anybody who is visiting Gatineau.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMontcalm, Public Relations Manager at Motel Montcalm, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks for the kind comment. We're so thankful you were able to fully absorb our motel and meet the owner. Enjoy the rest of your Summer and come back anytime!

Best Regards,
Brock. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I enjoyed my trip at the motel montcalm its the very first time i saw nice big renovated rooms at a motel, the rooms where very clean, very reasonable prices, surrounded by great restaurants along with the biggest shopping mall in Gatineau, the service was very welcoming, they offered me breakfast and answered all of my needs. There was also a wonderful outdoor swimming pool to cool off in during the incredibly warm weather. I will deffinatly be returning to this motel in the near futur, and be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Motel Montclam has nice clean rooms but offers nothing but static filled channels on tv and a weak internet signal that isn't accessible by Mac computers. This motel needs a cable and interenet upgrade big time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumor2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatineau hotels

gatineau
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

there is some upgrading.it is great for customer service. they have open the restaurant and the food is great and the price too. they have a good service. there are many change under the new owner and i will come again

  • Liked — it is comfortable and service is perfect and very nice
  • Disliked — the pool to be operating more hours
  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alohaGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Pierre, SPM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2004

Visiting ottawa, tried a night in sept 2004 .Certainly not the best and newest furnished but, after having unplunged the useless fridge, we spent a quiet night; That's quite a thing.
No breakfast available at the motel but cross the road at external restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank MonaVisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 August 2004

I stayed at motel montcalm in September 2002 and the management was very poor.The first room they gave to me&my husband was filthy and the toilet was broken,they then moved us to another room,a bit less filthy but not clean either.Early next morning the phone rang to ask us to move to another room cause they had some repairs to do in that building(the hotel being divised in 2 building,one okay and one poor).Once we were in our third and final room,things got a bit better but i don't recommend going there when there's a few better motels and hotels in the area.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2004

This place is sometimes rated as a 3 star motel, but it is barely a one star. I stayed there in March, at a reasonable $45cdn a night. There were about 50 units but only 3 cars in the lot. I had ordered a nonsmoking room, but the room reeked of smoke and had burn marks everywhere. I asked for another room, which they provided, still with burn marks but smelled markedly better. However the chain lock was virtually broken off the wall. The doors do not have bolt locks but appeared secure. The toilet had the "sanitized seal" but upon lifting the lid I observed a poorly cleaned surface. Bottom line is that this is a basic inexpensive accomodation, but not well maintained, so I would look elsewhere. I might try the Adam next time, based upon the one review.

Helpful?
3 Thank Greg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
District des Riverains
Motel Adam
Motel Adam
#8 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Gatineau
#13 of 25 in Gatineau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Montcalm

Property: Motel Montcalm
Address: 175 Boulevard Greber, Gatineau, Quebec J8T 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau > District des Promenades
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Montcalm 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Motel Montcalm offers you a place to rest at an affordable price.Motel Montcalm is located in the heart of the City of Gatineau in the Outaouais Region. Surrounded by local businesses, restaurants, shopping and entertainment.Only a 3 minute drive to the “Hull Sector” of Gatineau and 7 minutes to our Nation’s Capital, Ottawa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Montcalm Hotel Gatineau
Montcalm Hotel Gatineau
Motel Montcalm Gatineau, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing