We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Waste your Money”
Review of Morello ristorante

Morello ristorante
Ranked #165 of 645 Restaurants in Gatineau
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Waste your Money”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Although service was adequate and attentive, the wines we requested off the menu were not available and some of the food items were also not available. Two of our party ordered the gnocci appetizer. It came fried???? It was hard, unpalatable and very disappointing. Whoever heard of fried gnocci??? Two of us had the fillet mignon. The meat was good and prepared as requested, however, the vegetable side was horrible! It appeared to be peas out of a can and then fried. HORRIBLE!!! Whoever is chef needs to go back to school and learn to cook. Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“I love the place!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We first went to that place when it was French Quarter. Since then, I have been a couple of times and never disappointed. We last went on December 12th for my retirement party and we really enjoyed! The food was excellent and it´s a great place for party! There is a parking at the back of the restaurant, although it may not be obvious to get to it if you are not careful with the entrance on Promenade du Portage. There is also a private room in the basement for those who wish to celebrate privately. We also did that for a family gathering. Price is very good and pretty standard for restaurants of that type. Worth the try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ManonSimard-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Service pretty good. Atmosphere not so much. Food terrible.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had the Sicilian linguini. Pasta was way overcooked when we asked for al dente. Sauce was fine, but the sausage was not. The underside of one of the pieces looked like it didn't get cooked at all.

The waitress was courteous and apologetic when we pointed it out. We didn't care for a replacement, though he offered one. And she was attentive to our needs and filled our drinks very promptly (though it helps that there weren't many diners here anywhere.)

The atmosphere was strange. Really loud, upbeat music for the whole evening. What happened to Mozart and opera in Italian restaurants?

The pasta never pasted that great anyway. Expensive, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
206 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

the location is excellent with a nice terrace and lots of room inside if the weather goes south. the selection of wine and micro brews is adequate and the service is excellent, friendly and fast. the appys and entres are nicely prepared and tasty

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffkVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the Portage area?”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had another really good meal at Le French Quarter. They had a daily catch deal for $19 of striped bass with a smoke salmon sauce and it was a fantastic meal. Service is quick- drinks are constantly refilled and they are friendly for the most part.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morello ristorante also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Morello ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing