We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills economy hotel with comfort”
Review of Auberge de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de la Gare
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel offers percs such as free parking, free continental breakfast, as well as free movie channels and a both refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. We attended a wedding in Gatineau so this was an ideal location. It's a quick ride into Ottawa too. Restaurants and banks are several blocks down the street too. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

It is a nice local hotel, bed super comfy with big heavy bed cover, clean, friendly staff, and sound proof (i did not hear people in corridor or other rooms). It is not located in the heart of the nicest part of old Hull, but very close. Amenities and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquamishGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This was a lovely hotel just outside the city of Ottawa(about 10 min drive),but is based within the french area of Gatineau.The hotel was very clean and quiet,also with free parking.There was also a free breakfast,which was fine for what it was.Only downside to breakfast room was television on quite loud on a french station,i know i was in a french speaking area but i found this to be quite rude. I would def' recomend this hotel if visting Ottawa with a car,not sure how the public transport would be to get into city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smurfy3msl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

It's a simple, non pretentious hotel. It's cheap and you can see that in decor choices and what not. However, I would recommend it and I would definitely stay again. It's decent and clean. Service is friendly and reasonable. Free parking, good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4evern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed one night at this little gem in Gatineau. The front desk staff are so charming and helpful. They were welcoming and very accommodating. The room itself was clean, comfortable, but small. One note about this hotel is that it's incredibly quiet which I really enjoyed. It's in a safe neighborhood and you can literally walk to a dozen or more great places to eat. I would definitely stay there a second time if I ever find myself in Gatineau again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Nice hotel.
Clean comfy room and bed.
Decent free wifi.
Free parking.
Good location, 10 min drive to Ottawa's main attractions.
Highly recommended.
They offer a free continental breakfast, can't comment on this as I didn't avail of it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junglejim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I found this hotel by chance, after booking at another hotel I cancelled my reservation early and booked ADLG, Great place clean,big LCD TV comfortable beds. Rooms are simple but has everything you would need even a small fridge.

lots of restaurants around for all tastes.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
141 reviews
District des Riverains
Motel Adam
Motel Adam
#8 of 26 in Gatineau
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Gare

Address: 205 St-Joseph blvd, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 3X3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Hotel located in Gatineau's downtown and minutes away from Ottawa's downtown. Clean and Quiet rooms. Friendly Staff. Free breakfast and parking and many other amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Gare Gatineau, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing