We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great comfort, great location… Definitely a must see”
Review of Cornerstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cornerstone Lodge
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed at Cornerstone Lodge for the first time and it was an awesome experience.

Customer service is great when we checked in. They are very helpful in giving us instructions to the facility. Easy access to underground garage with lots of ceiling clearance for the gears on top of SUV. Easy access to the third floor from the garage via elevator. There are baggage trolleys stationed in the garage that are handy for moving all our stuff in one trip.

The unit is spacious and with high ceiling. It’s comfy, clean, fully furnished and with a mountain view facing deck. The lodge is at the very foot of the ski hill. It’s our base camp for summer activities around Fernie.

All the things we need in the kitchen are already available and ready for use. Chopping board, knives, pots/pans, dishes, cutleries, dishwasher, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge, etc. Also include cable TV, fireplace, washer/dryer and cable only internet access.

It’s actually a good idea for us not having wifi and only use ethernet cable for internet access. I can still make a quick online check of some essentials using cable and not give an easy access to my kids to be online with their gadgets and get distracted from the purpose of the trip.

It’s a great feeling to know that at the end of a long day exploring places and enjoying lake beaches in the vicinity, there’s the spa, cold beer and the comfortable suite that we can retire on to re-charge for the next day’s adventure.

It’s a great value, great comfort, great location… Definitely a must see for us during winter ski season. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beadjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Beadjean:

Thank you so very much for your kind review of the Cornerstone Lodge. We are very happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the wonderful areas and activities that Fernie has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Cornerstone Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

The room quality was very good except for a tear in the arm of the sofa. Would recommend replacing the sofa, very dated.
Garage smelled very bad, it was very hot even though the thermostat was set at 0.
There appeared to be a water leak in the fitness room, a ceiling tile was found on the floor.
I would love to come back in the ski season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank JimWest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornerstonelodge, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are working very closely with the owners of each unit in trying to keep the units updated and will definitely advise them of your comments regarding the furniture.
When we were made aware of the smell in the garage, we did advise the on site Restaurant to remove the odor causing problem and it was done fairly quickly.
We are very happy to see that you would love to come back and visit us during ski season and your are correct that the Cornerstone Lodge is the Premium Ski In Ski out location at Fernie Alpine Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We have never stayed in a Ski in/Ski out type of accommodation, and based on our experience at the Cornerstone, we will again (and certainly at the Cornerstone). I agree with most comments posted earlier, so I won't repeat them; however, I must highlight the parking, designed for vehicles with ski boxes (will easily accommodate 8 foot tall trucks), and the customer service.

The layout of the hotel is great - you drive "up" into the garage, and take an elevator from there to your floor - couldn't be easier. The ski and play day care is in the same building and is by far and away the best children's program for skiing I have encountered.

The only issue we had was with the hot tub room, next door to our room on the 3rd (top) floor. Not only was it not open for business due to ongoing repairs, it was also leaking - into our room. The wet spot (and wet carpet odour) in our bedroom appeared 3 days into our 5-day stay. This negative was more than overshadowed by the staff's response. They first offered to move us to the next door condo (an upgrade to a 2-bedroom from our 1-bedroom unit), and they also offered to do the move for us. Due to the fact that we had a LOT of stuff with our 3-year old with us, we decided to stick it out in our unit. Maintenance did what they could to mop up the water and dry the carpet while we were there. The final excellent gesture was that they credited my credit card for the last night's stay for the inconvenience, even though I never once made any suggestion of compensation. I found this gesture on the management's part to be outstanding, especially considering we were there over the Christmas period.

We will stay at the Cornerstone again. And yes it's true, you cannot possibly be closer to the lifts and amenities of Fernie Alpine Resort. I would give a 4.5 if I could (I save 5 for perfection)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureBound007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornerstonelodge, Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Dear AdventureBound007:

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit to the Cornerstone Lodge. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks regarding our facilities and guest services. It was most unfortunate that when the maintenance staff were preparing the hot tub for the busy season a part broke. This part was delayed in delivery causing the hot tub to be closed and then when the part was being replaced the seal broke and this was the cause of the water leak into your unit. We are very happy that you felt our staff responded correctly to the difficulties you experienced during your stay.
We are happy to see that you would recommend the Cornerstone Lodge and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We have stayed in Fernie a number of times, this was the first time at Cornerstone.
It was perfect for a skiing holiday and hard to fault. The rooms contained everything we expected and more. The kitchen was very well equipped with large oven, microwave, kettle & toaster (a must for us English visitors), dishwasher etc. The washing machine and dryer in the bathroom were excellent and enabled us to wash ski gear and get it dry to use the next day.

It doesn't seem to be on their website anywhere but people should know that 1) there is a hairdryer in the bathroom 2) There is FREE wired internet access in each room. If you don't take an ethernet cable you can borrow one from the Griz reception if you leave a small deposit - If you're taking one take a cable that's 2m+ long.

There are negative comments on here about reception being in the Griz Inn - it's hardly a problem having to walk 100 yards twice during your holiday is it?

Underground car park and ski lockers were excellent and the housekeeping staff were very good.

The only areas we could see for improvement were that it would be good if each room contained a safe so money / passports etc could be left in the room securely while skiing.

The Cornerstone Lodge will certainly be our first choice when we return to Fernie.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornerstonelodge, manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cornerstone Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the amenities
we have not noted on our website. We will be adding these items when we next
up-date our web page.

We agree that safekeeping for your personal items would be a great benefit. As we are the rental manager for the Cornerstone units, which are each individually owned we will be happy to submit this idea to the owners when they are next considering future upgrades to their units.

We are very glad to see that you would recommend our facility and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We chose to stay at Cornerstone Lodge for it's location and $. It was nice to be so close to the lifts. We could walk our 2nd floor corner room and were at the ski stands. That was convenient. The condo was good for 5 of us (3 kids) as it had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a hide-a-bed, a washer and dryer and a full kitchen. It was nice to come back and make a sandwich throughout the day if someone was hungry. The couch and chair were not very comfortable. Starting to get worn. The only real negative thing, is that the beds were hard as rocks, and the pillows were flat as pancakes. My back and neck were very stiff and sore after 3 nites. (and not from skiing). My husband and I have been to Fernie before and stayed at the Lizard Creek Lodge. That was a much nicer place. We wanted to try something different, plus the cost for the Lizard was quite a bit more for a family. The weather was decent, 0 to +6, except that made the snow soft and slushy, but it was better than -30. Overall it was a pretty good trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskatchewanTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This was our first trip to Fernie and I must admint, this review will be very much coloured by the fact that it poured rain from the moment we arrived. Booked to stay 3 nights and ski 2 days, I got just one run in before deciding not to risk my limbs. While there was rain in the village, very heavy snow was falling higher up and was impossible to ski in. When we booked we were told that if we needed to make a change that the hotel would likely let us move our dates to another time. Well, we tried and they would not. Essentially, we spent $900 for 1 run.
We also had trouble with getting ice (one of my pet peeves). When you are paying a couple of hundred dollars a night you shouldn't have to run around town trying to find ice.
I don't think the management company really cares about the folks staying at Cornerstone -- the Griz Inn folks manage it. I think we would have gotten much more flexability if we had been staying at the Griz
The room was alright -- not particularly comfortable, by our standards. Quite noisey outside, and the bed was too small and hard.
We tried on a couple of occasions to have a hot tub but the water was cold (we were told that it was changed that morning and it would be hot by 1:00 but at 3:00 this was still not the case)
I would not come back to the Cornerstone Lodge but will defintely try Fernie again and stay elsewhere. Wish I could afford the Lizard Creek Lodge -- it's fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC-Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

We stayed at the Cornerstone Lodge for a week in February and could highly recommend it mostly for it's location. This is the closest accomodation to the main part of the village and there were 3 chair lifts all within 100 metres of the front door.

There is no reception here and the entrance to the lift lobby is hard to find but fortunately we had a bus transfer down from Calgary and the driver gave us good intructions on how and where to check in (but not how to get into the building itself). If you were driving yourself though and weren't told to go to the Griz Inn to check in then you would have a frustrating time. As the previous poster mentioned, there is only a small piece of paper taped to the front door (when you find it) explaining where to go. The staff at Kelsey's must get asked for directions all the time as they were really helpful when we asked for help.

Once inside though, all this was forgotten about as the rooms (we had a one bedroom) are a good size with a well layed out kitchen, reasonable storage space for boots and ski clothing, and a great fireplace. Whilst the furniture wasn't spectacular it was comfortable enough not to complain.

Ski storage is in the car park on the lower ground level and is secure and dry. Right outside the car park door, you just slap on the ski's and slide a short distance down to the Elk chair and your on you way. Coming in at the end of the day is just as easy.

The only other complaint was that the Slopeside cafe which is in the same building opens pretty early in the morning and the first thing they do is to start the music playing which is piped outside on the deck, right below where our room was. No need for an alarm clock but if you want to sleep in it can be a little annoying.

Overall we were pretty happy with our stay there and would definitely book there again. Second time around will be much easier !

As far as the resort and skiing is concerned, this place has shot straight to the top of our list of favourite skiing destinations. Amazing quality of snow, a broad range of terrain to suite all skill levels (there was much more intermediate terrain than were expecting) and the short hop down to town meant you had a brilliant range of bars and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
357 reviews
3.3 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Lodge

Address: 5339 Fernie Ski Hill Rd | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range: £90 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Lodge at Fernie Alpine Resort offers an ideal ski-in, ski-out location and exceptional comfort in our fully-equipped 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Unit features include full kitchens, gas fireplaces, air-conditioning, free wireless high-speed internet access, cable TV and balconies. Facility amenities include a licensed restaurant (Kelsey's) and Slopeside Cafe on the main level, Fernie Alpine Resort Daycare on the main level, indoor whirlpool, fitness room, and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cornerstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing