We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad beds. Condo is a nice option.”
Review of Cornerstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornerstone Lodge
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The condo rental is such a great option for making your own meals if you wish to and we liked having the kitchen for the use of the fridge and utensils. Having two bathrooms was great and we used the balcony to sit and relax for hours over the three days we were there. That is the end of the positives for this place. The condo was worn out, it looked really tired and it needs to be fixed up. The beds were horrible!!!! Hard as a rock. We ended up using every blanket we could find to put under us while we slept just to give us some cushion and the pillows were flat as pancakes. To no fault of the lodge one downfall was that the ski hill plays music loud starting at 8:00am. We wanted to sleep in but it was difficult to do so. The a/c couldn't cool the place and it was very hot.

Room Tip: Quieter perhaps on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Kristin S,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cornerstone Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the many features of our units. All of our units feature balconies with great views, fully stocked kitchens and spacious bathrooms. We regret to hear that you did not find our beds up to your standards. The mattresses at Cornerstone Lodge are firm, however we are looking into your concerns with the mattresses in the unit you stayed in so we can resolve any specific unit issues. On your next stay be sure to request a room on the back side of our hotel as they are further away from the lively plaza. We look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Simply wonderful mountain and skiing.
Cornerstone Lodge 2 Bedroom Premium? Outdated, dirty, uncomfortable beds, pillows and bedding, no ice machine, no service, lacked proper kitchen supplies, the list is endless.
Don't do it unless you can stay for free.
Spend the extra and go to Revelstoke Sutton Place, the lap of the gods guaranteed.

Room Tip: I guess you will have to spend more money to stay at Lizard Creek or just stay in town for a lot les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 923RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Rick L,
We are sorry to hear your stay at the Cornerstone Lodge was not to your satisfaction. As the rental managers we work closely with the owners and feedback from guests is key when planning upgrades and improvements. Although there is not a guest services desk at the Cornerstone Lodge our guest services staff are available 24 hours through the guest services desk at the Griz Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay on the slope. This is our third experience with slopeside accomodations and we found the access to ski lockers and the rooms in general to be poor and a secondary thought to the business entrances. The elevator was horific and stalled out a few times on us. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. The dishes were not cleaned well and the tools/pans did not have enough mix to cook a decent meal (no pot big enough for the rice). We reported minor issues to guest services and they were dealt with quickly and completely. The overall ski and rental experience was not as organized and friendly as we have had elsewhere. The rental process was booked as a package and when upgrades to ill fitting boots were required the staff were not familiar with the process and charges varied. Staffing at the rental shop was incufficient in the evening.
Shopping was good if you take time out of your ski day, otherwise the stores are closed by the time you are ready to browse and shop. Food services were very good and had a nice meal at Kelsey's below our room. Location was perfect and the rooms were very quiet at the right times. The kids enjoyed the night skiing each evening and we were able to watch from the deck of the Cornerstone Lounge. Definitely ask for slopeside view as it is a great way to wake in the morning.

Room Tip: slopeside view is a must ... get the code for the side door beside Kelsey's ... shop early in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRUCE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Bruce N,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cornerstone Lodge and Fernie Alpine Resort. We work closely with the owners to have updates performed on the units and feedback from the guests is a valuable tool while prioritizing these updates. Our sincerest apologies for the dishes not being properly cleaned, we have shared and discussed these issues with our housekeeping team. We are pleased to hear though that the staff was able to accommodate your requests, and that your group was able to enjoy quiet at the appropriate times and could partake in the night skiing. As we are the rental management company for the owners of the individual Cornerstone Lodge units, we have forwarded your comments in regard to the resort itself to Fernie Alpine Resort management. Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was my family's first time at Fernie and first time ski-in/ski-out experience. It was wonderful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom premium suite which had everything needed. No it's not granite counter tops or stainless steel appliances but it's clean and comfortable. The best part for me as the mother...the room was steps away from the ski hill. If we got cold or hungry it was right there. I didn't have to pack lunches. One thing I'll do for next time though is request a room that doesn't overlook the chairlift. Our mornings were off to a pretty early start with the snow cats driving by and the pre-morning lift activities. All in all, one of our best family vacations!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Abigail C,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that we were a part of one of your best family vacations and that you have shared your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor. We have updated your profile to reflect you would prefer to be in another part of the hotel your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is an excellent location. It is right on the hill by the lifts. We were in room 212... Which is right over the Kelsey's restaurant. The suite was nice a little bit dated and the beds were quite hard. The hotel room has everything you need. This hotel is wonderful for people who want to be awake at 7am by rock music playing outside of your room until 9am. The hot tub is quite small. Made for a group of 4-6 people.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212 and anything on this side of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Courtney K,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cornerstone Lodge. We are pleased that you thought your suite had all of the amenities you required. We work closely with the owners to have updates performed on the units and will pass your feedback along. Our sincerest apologies for the early morning music, we have spoken to the appropriate staff to ensure it does not happen again. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My family and I stayed at the Cornerstone Lodge for Fernie's opening week end. We truly enjoyed the room's proximity to the chairlifts.....a true ski in/out lodge. We had a fantastic experience facilitated by the staff who were courteous and efficient during check in. The condo was very clean and the amenities created a feel of being home away from home. The Cornerstone Lodge is at the top of our list for ski destination from this point forward. To top it all, we were pampered by the tranquility of the shoulder season which not only meant small crowds at the ski hill, but also a feel of having the entire lodge to ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Andre,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cornerstone Lodge. We are thrilled you enjoyed the close proximity to the chair lift as well as the amenities offered in the guest rooms. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have stayed at the Cornerstone Lodge several times over the past 10 years. We have always rented a premium 2 bedroom unit. While the location is great everything in the unit needs updating badly. The beds were hard as rocks, the bedding hasn't changed in the past 10 years and is very very worn. The sofa was broken, along with the TV. The TV had basic cable and a VCR! Who has tapes anymore, couldn't even find one to rent in Fernie. With just a few basic updates i.e. down comforters on beds, new sheets, new sofa, flat screen TV and DVD player this place could be great again and we would return. For now we are spending our 10 days in Fernie somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not stay here until updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clyde_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie R, General Manager at Cornerstone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet expectations. We continually strive to improve the overall product our guests experience and will be sure to share your feedback with the management team as well as the unit owners. We hope you will consider staying at the Cornerstone Lodge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Lodge

Address: 5339 Fernie Ski Hill Rd | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range: £102 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Lodge at Fernie Alpine Resort offers an ideal ski-in, ski-out location and exceptional comfort in our fully-equipped 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Unit features include full kitchens, gas fireplaces, air-conditioning, free wireless high-speed internet access, cable TV and balconies. Facility amenities include a licensed restaurant (Kelsey's) and Slopeside Cafe on the main level, Fernie Alpine Resort Daycare on the main level, indoor whirlpool, fitness room, and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cornerstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing