We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”
Review of Red Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed one night in between camping. The hotel had all the amenities and was pretty clean. To me it looked as if it had been a bit rundown but was just about back to top shape. The desk clerk was very good and the WiFi was fast. I loved the free washing machines. I didn't swim but I checked out the facilities and they looked nice. Overall quite nice and the price was good.

Room Tip: They should all be good
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasomonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Hello Pasomonte,

Thanks for your review! We've worked hard to make sure we offer a broad range of free amenities to our guests and it's great to hear you appreciated them. I'll make sure to mention your comments to the front desk and housekeeping as well. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Red Tree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Red Tree Lodge for one night to break up a long drive while returning home from vacation. The experience was wonderful. Shortly after we checked into the room we received a call from the front desk to ensure we had everything we needed and to ensure the room was sastisfactory. My wife and I have stayed in all types of rooms ranging from $700/night down to $20/night and this is the first time we ever had front desk staff call to ensure everything was okay. Staff also offered to let us into the pool room after hours as we arrived a little late. The media room was a cool addition you won't see in many hotels. The room itself was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The only complaint my wife had was the air conditioning unit was a little loud, but i loved having the white noise to sleep too. All in all, it was an extremely satisfying experience and the Red Tree Lodge will be our hotel of choice in Fernie from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Hi Rick,

Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like we exceeded your expectations. We're really proud of our focus on customer service and I've already made sure to pass on your comments to many of the individuals who went above and beyond for you - they really appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

Thanks again and we'll see you next time!

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

nice rooms, good size pool, nice sauna, movie room, game room and for such an awesome price! The staff was so kind and went out of there way to make sure our stay was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel and when I'm ever back in Fernie this is where I will be staying!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Hi Northern111111,

Thanks for your kind words and great review. We're always glad to hear that a guest's stay was perfect!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit - remember that if you book in advance you'll qualify for our repeat-guest discount!

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The facilities in this hotel were amazing. Games room, sauna, spa, pool, free computer access to check internet. Friendly staff who let us check in early. The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom area. NICE!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi Craig!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We're very proud of our complimentary amenities and our friendly service here at the Red Tree Lodge and comments like yours really go a long way towards making us feel like we're going a good job. Thanks!

Looking forward to see you again soon (don't forget to book ahead to get our repeat-guest discount!),

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

For the past 10 years we've had an annual fishing trip that included Fernie. The Red Tree Lodge will always be the place for us. Extremely friendly, very helpful and accommodating; always getting us a room with 3 beds! Where do find that????? When we arrive late to check-in from fishing in Alberta, they have always made arrangements for us to get to our room. In addition they always give us a discount as returning customers. The Red Tree Lodge is the only place for us!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank IFFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello IFFLY!

I'm glad you've enjoyed staying with us at the Red Tree Lodge! We always do try to make our guests feel at home and I'm always pleased to hear that we've done our job.

We'll see you again soon,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is an average motel within the town of Fernie. Good price, average ammenities, close to everything. There was a group of young hockey players staying there that were pretty noisy and the management didn't do much, so not overly impressed about that. But I'd stay here again and give it another chance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulin_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thanks to the Paulin Family for your review!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found that we offer good value to people staying in Fernie. I'm sorry to hear that there was a loud group during your stay - we do employ staff until 3am to help ensure that everyone gets to enjoy their evening with us, and also have staff in the building overnight for unforeseen emergencies or concerns. As a result we rarely have noise complaints but if something does occur during your next stay with us, please don't hesitate to contact the front desk immediately so that we can address it, at any time of the day or night. We do offer a repeat guest discount - just ask at the time of booking to take advantage of this.

Looking forward to your next visit with us,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed here only for one night while passing through. Beds are not very comfortable. Front desk was very friendly and were leaving the hot tub open later on request. Ok hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountaingirl_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Hi Krista M,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate you taking the time to leave these comments.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and that we were able to accommodate your request to keep our hot tub open a little later for you. We do strive to offer outstanding customer service and I am pleased to hear that you had a positive experience in that regard. The front desk was certainly pleased to learn you enjoyed their efforts!

I am sorry to hear that you found your bed uncomfortable. We have recently begun upgrading our beds to include pillow-top mattresses and I hope that next time you visit us you will find your bed more to your liking. We do have a number of different options in this regard, including double beds, queen sized, king sized, and even our family rooms with bunk beds for the kids, so I do think we'll be able to find something to suit your needs.

We endeavor to offer value in ways beyond simply the price of our hotel rooms. Our hotel includes a range of complementary amenities that is unparalleled in Fernie, including many unique offerings such as our public kitchen, movie theatre, games room, guest laundry, and more, as well as free wifi, complimentary breakfast snack, our pool and spa, and others. All of these amenities are included in our room rates, which we feel are extremely competitive with those of other hotels in Fernie. In addition, we do offer discount rates for returning guests - I hope you will take advantage of this on your next trip through town!

Thanks again for your comments and I'm glad you liked our hotel!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Lodge

Address: 1101 7th Avenue | PO Box 2294, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Family Hotel in Fernie
#3 Green Hotel in Fernie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable and friendly family-run Red Tree Lodge is centrally located and has many hostel-like features including a fully equipped guest kitchen, sauna, hot tub, indoor kids pool, 24 seat movie room (free movie rentals), laundry facilities and a games room with pool table, foozeball, poker table and lots more board games. We have a ski tuning room, heated boot room, and ski lock-up for winter guests and a bike storage, bike and boot wash station and BBQ area for summer guests. Free high-speed internet is available throughout the lodge and parking (with winter hook-ups) is also free. All rooms are en-suites and have coffee/tea, mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. Stay & play for discounts on winter and summer packages including rafting, hiking, mountain biking, fly-fishing, golf or cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, first tracks or ski lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tree Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing