We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel on the edge of town let down a bit by the slightly poor breakfasts”
Review of Red Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tree Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Decent Hotel on the edge of town let down a bit by the slightly poor breakfasts”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Good sized rooms and decent facilities for a reasonable price. Helpful and friendly staff especially in the restaurant and bar. Major issue was with the somewhat limited options for breakfast. Not really what I'd expect when staying in north American and the evening meals were not that filling, though this may have been a good thing as people have said staying for long term in ski resorts tends to result in significant weight gain

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaccMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi MaccMike,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you liked our rooms and facilities. I'm especially proud of the my team and the service they are eager to provide, and it's always great to hear that you found everyone to be helpful and friendly. I'm sorry to hear that you found the menu to be limited at the restaurant here in the hotel, but I'm happy to report that a new menu will be offered when the restaurant re-opens for the summer in the next week or so. I'm sure you'll find some items to your liking there!

Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    116
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
78
127
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Red Tree Lodge. We stayed there for three nights at the end of March 2014 during our ski trip. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room had lots of space for our family of four and was very clean. Our kids thought it was great there was a theatre! The communal kitchen is a nice amenity. For us the heated boot room was the icing on top of our stay!! Nothing like putting on toasty, dry ski boots in the morning!
We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello Tanya,

Thank you for your great review! We have tried to build an array of amenities to make us a very family-friendly hotel and things like the kitchen and theater are great examples. As you noted, the boot room also works really well all winter (in the summer we convert it to a bike storage room to go with our bike wash station outside). I'm glad you enjoyed your family had a great stay and we'll look forward to seeing you again next time.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Red Tree.

We got a suite at a very good rate. The room was terrific.

The staff are incredible, very well trained and super helpful.

The resturant has very good food at very reasonable prices.

The hotel is close to some other very good resturants and pubs.

We will most certainly stay again.

Terry

Room Tip: The suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Terry,

Thanks for your kind words and thanks for coming back! I'm glad you got to enjoy the suite this time and my staff were really pleased to see your mention of them in your review.

We'll look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

In European terms, the rooms are massive. Lots of space, nice comfy beds, toasty hot tub and a well stocked bar. Service always with a smile, from the Front Desk through the bar to the housekeeping staff, a genuinely happy atmosphere. Despite being located downtown, the views of the skihill and the 3 sisters are great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello Jonathon,

Thanks for your very nice words! It was a pleasure to have you back and I look forward to your next visit with us. I'll make sure that everyone knows how much you appreciated the smiles and our happy atmosphere, and we'll make sure to keep it up!

Until next time,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My son and I recently stayed at the Red Tree Lodge for a ski trip and we had a fantastic stay. The staff was friendly, the lodge was impeccably clean, the beds comfy, and the bonus amenities (fridge, communal kitchen, lounge, movie room) made the stay extra enjoyable and helped us save money. The location is great - it's an easy walk to restaurants and to the rink to catch a Ghostriders game.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi Gord,

Thank you for your review! I'm really glad that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us so much. It was a pleasure to have you join us and I'll look forward to seeing you again next time so I can buy you a coke!

Safe travels,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great for families! The guest kitchen is very convenient! Great beds, clean rooms and bathrooms, ski lockers and ski boot room (warm!), friendly staff, excellent value! The swimming pool is under renovation but will open soon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Paula

Thanks for your very kind words. I've glad you enjoyed your stay and found us to be great for families. With our amenities and room types like the Family and Deluxe Family rooms, we try to have everything you need ready to go. I hope we'll see you again soon (when the pool has reopened!)

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

No elevator, but only two levels. Rooms updated and clean. Excellent cook at dinner attached to hotel. One of us slept well on their bed. Friendly and helpful staff. I wouldn't keep the communal kitchen if you want guests to use the restuarant already up and running.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gothereanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hello Gothereanddo!

Thanks for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm proud of the team we have here at the Lodge and I'm glad you found everyone helpful and friendly. I'll make sure to pass on to the restaurant and chef how much you enjoyed your meal as well.

Thanks again and I hope we'll see you again soon!

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

PS - great user name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
159 reviews
3.4 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Lodge

Property: Red Tree Lodge
Address: 1101 7th Avenue | PO Box 2294, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Family Hotel in Fernie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#3 Green Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable and friendly family-run Red Tree Lodge is centrally located and has many hostel-like features including a fully equipped guest kitchen, sauna, hot tub, indoor kids pool, 24 seat movie room (free movie rentals), laundry facilities and a games room with pool table, foozeball, poker table and lots more board games. We have a ski tuning room, heated boot room, and ski lock-up for winter guests and a bike storage, bike and boot wash station and BBQ area for summer guests. Free high-speed internet is available throughout the lodge and parking (with winter hook-ups) is also free. All rooms are en-suites and have coffee/tea, mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. Stay & play for discounts on winter and summer packages including rafting, hiking, mountain biking, fly-fishing, golf or cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, first tracks or ski lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tree Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing