We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who cares about the beds, etc - the receptionist was just gorgeous - worth a visit alone..”
Review of Red Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tree Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Maybe different in winter but fall was quiet, rooms were cheap and clean if bland, beds comfy, etc. Restaurant was stylish and the food great. Service great too. No complaints other than the expected continental breakfast turned out to be M-F only.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

My boyfriend and I were visiting Fernie to do some fly-fishing in August. We knew that most of our time would be spent on the river, so luxury was not a priority for the stay. We wanted a clean room and a central location, along with a decent restaurant to eat the odd meal. We found all of this at the Red Tree.
The hotel is equipped with a communal kitchen (of which was very clean) and facilitated making meals for our days out on the river. Our room was always nicely cleaned upon our return.
Our personal interactions amongst staff were very positive and we found that they were all very friendly and helpful. In fact, all were very pleasant.
The two meals that we had in the restaurant (one dinner and one brunch) were very good. The presentation was excellent and very tasty. (As the former owner of a restaurant, I was pleased to see their efforts to accommodate and tend to their guests. The measures they took were very noticeable).
We would most definitely stay at the Red Tree again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Appetizer: great food with great ambiance
Main Dish: I rarely go out (Scottish blood), but when I do, I enjoy quality - both in taste and visual appeal. The RTL Restaurant scores highly on both accounts. The walls showcase a wide range of local artistic talent, and thick glossy pine tables greet you as you sit. The waitress also greets you - she was friendly, smiling and prompt in service. The menu has unique offerings, and is bound to please all, even vegetarians. My dinner guest ordered the dinner special - a salmon in a white tarragon sauce, while I had the Phyllo Strudel - veggies, feta, phyllo, and an alfredo sauce. Both dishes came with a side of vegetables that were artistically arranged, and tasted wunderbar - which is saying a lot because I'm not crazy about vegetables. The main dishes were both excellent as well - fresh wholesome ingredients that seduced our palates without overwhelming them. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunwapta_Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I really like Red Tree's restaurant and bar so I want to counter the reviews here that paint it as being a hostel. I've never stayed at the hotel as I live locally, but I understand that during the winter it is home to a large number of 20-somethings who do a ski instructors course for three months so this is probably why things get a bit wild in the ski season. They are all leaving town at the moment so I imagine the hotel will be quieter and more family oriented in the summer.
I have eaten several times in the restaurant as I believe it is the best place in town if you are looking for quality, imaginative, healthy food (most places here only really serve up fried fast food).
The restaurant is bright, modern, with some amazing art and local photography on display and friendly staff. It's not cheap but that's because the quality is good and you won't go away hungry. I think main meals range from $10 for pasta - $27 for steak.
They also do a really good brunch/breakfast.
If my parents came to town, this is where I would take them for a relaxed, adult meal in a calm setting - it isn't a hostel bar.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bringonthepowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Before I start my review of the Red Tree Lodge let me say that Fernie is well worth a visit. We drove there from Calgary through some spectacular scenery. I wouldn’t advise driving if you are not a confident driver has the conditions can sometimes be dangerous and stressful when it’s snowing.

Fernie is a charming town with some decent shops and lovely food. The Fernie Alpine Resort is also well organized with varied runs for all levels of skiers and boarders. But Fernie is small so if you are easily bored you might prefer a bigger resort. Alternatively, Kimberley, another small resort, is about 1.5 hours away and is also worth a visit if you are looking for some easier terrain and a change of scene.

Our experience of the Red Tree Lodge was similar to that of fellow reviewer SRH1149. The Lodge is located in downtown Fernie about a 10 minute drive away from the hill. We stayed here as we were visiting friends who are staying here as part of a 11 week Nonstop snowboarding course. Before arriving our friends had already mentioned that they were not treated like guests and had to fend for themselves most of the time despite paying to stay as a half board lodge guests. We naively assumed that this had something to do with being a Nonstopper and that we would be treated differently. We were wrong.

The bedroom was large with two double beds but unfortunately both were extremely uncomfortable and lumpy. The bathroom area was small and a little mouldy. The bed linen was also grubby - they must have a problem with their washing machines as we requested that the linen be changed three times before giving up and resigned ourselves to the fact the sheets were covered in old stains and we weren't likely to catch anything.

The maid service also left a lot to be desired. We even found that one of the staff had stripped off and left some of her clothes on top of our clothes on the bed in our room while she was cleaning!

At night/early morning the car park gets noisy when the bins are emptied or the snow ploughs come through. That coupled with the lumpy bed and deafening pipes, we didn’t get much sleep.

The water system was a complete nightmare. As soon as someone used the water in another part of the building we were either scalded or frozen! And the pipes made a horrendous noise whenever someone was using the water.

The food at the lodge was also terrible - tasteless and expensive. There are plenty of other food options within walking distance. Would highly recommend the Lizard Creek Lodge and the Blue Touque.

The laundry facilities were also dire with the washing machine struck in the corner of a dirty and smelly room in the basement. As hygiene levels at the lodge were poor we didn't venture to using the pool or sauna.

The lodge is predominately occupied by Nonstoppers. Unfortunately they are not treated like guests despite paying for accommodation on a half board basis, and as such, but is no excuse, a small group of them go a little crazy in communal areas and late night parties are common – ruining it for the rest of the Nonstoppers and the hotel guests.

Red Tree staff are non existent and when they are around to complain to they are completely unsupportive and unwilling to help. The front desk is not manned all the time so when they is a problem be prepared to fend for yourself.

Stay here only if:
- all you want is a place to sleep (assuming you aren’t in a room next to a Nonstoppers party or overlooking the car park)
- you have a car, unless you are happy to get the ski bus from down the road

We only continued to stay on as we were specifically visiting friends and having a car gave us the freedom to move around as much we wanted to so didn’t spend too much time at the lodge.

Stay here at your peril!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Selinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I decided to take a short trip to Fernie to hit the slopes for the weekend. We found a positive review for the Red Tree Lodge & Restaurant here on Trip Advisor and decided to book a Ski and Stay package with them.

We decided that we were going to ski on Saturday, stay overnight and then leave on Sunday. This meant that we would have to stop in to pick up our voucher for our lift passes early on Saturday morning on the way to the hill. My husband waited for over 20 minutes at the front desk while a representative looked everywhere for our vouchers. It would seem that this could have easily been avoided had the person we booked our room with simply put our voucher in an envelope and left it at the front desk for us.

After a wonderful day on the slopes we returned to the lodge to check in. We noticed that there were a lot of young people coming and going through the lobby. Once we got our key we headed to up to our room, the first thing we noticed was that the Red Tree Lodge is more of a Staff Accommodation for locals as opposed to an actual hotel. There were lots of loud young people loitering and chatting in the hallways.

We entered our room that according to the previous review here on Trip Advisor had been extensively renovated. The room smelled stale an faintly of cigarette smoke. The carpets were old and brown...and definitely the original carpets from the 70's or 80's. There was hair in the sink and bathtub which was also stained and yellowed. The windows and sills were filthy and there was a can full of cigarette butts on the armrest of the patio chair. The TV was easily 15 to 20 years old and the bedding was mismatched. The extent of the "renovations" in the room we were in was limited to a coat of paint and a couple of new dressers.

Fireworks were set off under our window by some of the tenants that night, people ran up and down the hallways while shouting at each other and we could smell food that was probably being cooked in some of the rooms.

We were very disappointed with the service, the state of our room and the noise of the local tenants in the building. The lack of cleanliness in our room did not encourage us to try the restaurant in the hotel either.

We will NOT be returning to the Red Tree Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustyRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTLGirl, marketing representative at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2009

We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for any shortcomings. We are not a typical hotel as we have a combination of the amenities of a hotel and hostel. We have learned from your experience that we need to do a better job of explaining this in our marketing and at the time of booking.

We do remember your husband waiting for his lift ticket. This was the first time we had a guest pick up a lift ticket voucher before check in. We of course should have anticipated this possibility in advance but since that incident we have changed our systems.

There was a large, long stay group between December 28th and April 13th. In fact they have booked the entire lodge for the same dates in 2010. We have learned from this year’s experience that short stay guests do not always mix well with a group of this size. During the other months of the year we cater to short stay guests such as yourselves.

We can also remember the incident that occurred during the weekend of your stay. Unfortunately, we did have an exceptional situation involving some loud and disruptive lodge guests returning from a bar in the middle of the night. We do not condone or allow this, or any, type of behavior that disturbs other guests. We sincerely apologize for our failure to police these disruptive guests quickly enough to prevent them form disturbing you and other hotel guests that night.

Thank you for bringing those problems with the cleaning to our attention. High cleaning standards are very important to us and we take any deficiencies very seriously. We have identified the staff member who cleaned your room on that date and have spoken to her about the standards that must be upheld. We are confident the issue has been resolved.

The lodge did undergo a 1.2 million dollar renovation in 2007. We replaced about 90% of the flooring but did leave the carpets in 5 of the rooms as we thought they were still acceptable. We appreciate that you do not agree with this judgment. Some of the other improvements we did make were to add an additional free laundry room, a DVD theatre room, and a guest common kitchen. The smell of food in the corridor would have been from guests enjoying the free public kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katjasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Lodge

Address: 1101 7th Avenue | PO Box 2294, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fernie
#3 Green Hotel in Fernie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable and friendly family-run Red Tree Lodge is centrally located and has many hostel-like features including a fully equipped guest kitchen, sauna, hot tub, indoor kids pool, 24 seat movie room (free movie rentals), laundry facilities and a games room with pool table, foozeball, poker table and lots more board games. We have a ski tuning room, heated boot room, and ski lock-up for winter guests and a bike storage, bike and boot wash station and BBQ area for summer guests. Free high-speed internet is available throughout the lodge and parking (with winter hook-ups) is also free. All rooms are en-suites and have coffee/tea, mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. Stay & play for discounts on winter and summer packages including rafting, hiking, mountain biking, fly-fishing, golf or cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, first tracks or ski lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tree Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing