We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snow Valley Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
47
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbike rentalsolder placewalking distance to everythingwater pressurenight's sleepfree wifibit datedclose to downtownroom was spacious and cleanlight sleeperexcellent place to staystayed nightsrv parkgreat rooman overnight stayfridge and microwave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Rooms are nice and clean, but I guess the building quality is not so good so the rooms are pretty noisy. If you are a light sleeper - this is not a place for you. Plus the internet is quite slow (can't stream videos). No free breakfast either which is generally available in such places (Super 8 etc.).
But the caretaker (Janice) is a lovely person, and would tend to your issues.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVManager, Owner at Snow Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Varun,
Thank you for taking the time review our motel, it is very much appreciated. We are continually improving with room upgrades and feel we provide cleanliness and our staff provide excellent customer service. It is unfortunate that on occasion other guests are not as considerate and their noise levels can disturb other rooms. We hope that these isolated incidents will not deter you from returning and you will consider us in your future travel plans.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Overall it was a comfortable stay.

There were a couple of little annoying things such as the bathroom fan was incredibly noisy (and rattly) and unfortunately the bathroom light could not be turned on without the fan. The shower was average in terms of pressure. When the people next door had a shower you could hear the water going into the drain in our bathroom as if it was us having a shower.

Other than the bathroom issues, the bed was comfortable, the channel selection on the TV was excellent, staff were wonderful. The microwave was convenient and surprisingly the coffee was great!

Probably a bit overpriced for what it is, however it was the cheapest accommodation in town that I could find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVManager, Owner at Snow Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Joolery,
Thank you for your review. We are very dedicated to our customer service and cleanliness, so we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and amenities in the room. We have recently made some improvements introducing flat screen TV sets and upgrading beds and furnishings. The bathroom fan in your was very noisy, so we apologize for that. We have since remedied the problem. We appreciate your feedback, positive and negative as it allows us to build on the success that we have built up over the years.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Our room was very clean and comfortable with good beds and was a lot more modern than the photos on this site show so they may have done some renovations. The one staff member we dealt with was very friendly and extremely helpful. Given the quality of the room, great location and helpful staff the price they charge is a real bargain

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVManager, Owner at Snow Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Joolery,
Thank you for your review. We are very dedicated to our customer service and cleanliness, so we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and amenities in the room. We have recently made some improvements introducing flat screen TV sets and upgrading beds and furnishings. The bathroom fan in your was very noisy, so we apologize for that. We have since remedied the problem. We appreciate your feedback, positive and negative as it allows us to build on the success that we have built up over the years.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We arrived in Fernie on Friday night of the three-day holiday weekend without reservations. The staff at the Snow Valley went out of their way to ready their last room for us, and to make us feel at home. On a very busy weekend the service could not have been better! The room was very clean, and had a comfortable bed. The location is central to the town, and the views are amazing! A beautiful place to stay in the Elk valley. The rates are great, wifi is very good, and the staff is top-notch! My thanks to them for making our vacation excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife, 10 year old son and I took a week travelling with our RV from Penticton, BC to Lethbridge, Alberta where we were to attend a wedding. When we got to Fernie we stayed 2 nights in a provincial campground. I initially stopped and inquired about RV space at Snow Valley Motel and RV however they were full. Since we would have to come back through Fernie to return home after the wedding I asked if they knew of a storage facility I could leave my travel trailer at while we drove to Lethbridge. Janis the manager said there wasn't one, however, she did have a small site and if my trailer would fit we were welcome to leave it there. To make a long story short ... my trailer fit and we were able to travel to Lethbridge in just our truck which made our trip and stay in Lethbridge alot easier.

It's not everyday, people go out of their way to be accommodating. Janis is such a warm and friendly person. And so helpful. If ever we are in Fernie again without our trailer you can be sure we will be staying at SNOW VALLEY.

A great big THANK YOU to Janis and staff at the Snow Valley Motel and RV Park.
People who truly understand customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Okanagan1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVManager, Owner at Snow Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and rv park. Janis is indeed such a warm and friendly person, instinctively accommodating and we are very fortunate to have her and her husband William as managers. i thank you personally and on behalf of both of them for your kind and thoughtful comments.
-Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews