We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoping for a bit better...”
Review of El Guapo Mexican Diner - CLOSED

El Guapo Mexican Diner
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hoping for a bit better...”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

While passing through Fernie, I read the reviews on this place from another site which suggested the 80% liked the place. I does have its charm, but charm can only carry you so far. The waitress was far from attentive (at one point texting while we were waiting for our bill). It was like she was bothered by us and the other few customers.
The food was a bit better. We sat beside the kitchen counter - good table actually - and could watch the chef prepare the meals. I had the fish tacos - seriously - tasted like chicken. My 12 yr old son ordered the quesadilla and they LOADED it with jalapeños. I like spicy food, but even one bite was too hot. My son doesn't like it as spicy, so we removed the peppers and asked for sour creme - which we were charged for. We still couldn't eat the meal.
Over, just below average. There are much better restaurants in Fernie at better value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YYC-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    4
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Guapo, El Crappo”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Probably the WORST Mexican? Restaurant i have ever been to. The waitress was rude and when i inquired about why there was no cheese in our burritos she argued and explained that i was wrong and there indeed was. Fernie is notorious for overpriced average food and lousy service. This place continued this fine tradition.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoDdY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weird decor and bland food”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Situated in a half converted skateboard park / restaurant this is an odd place.

We had heard good things but were all disappointed by the bland food. I had the 2 burrito special (and you only get two burritos, no sides etc, just the burritos) and I found both to be extremely bland. There is a huge selection of hot sauces which I used to add some experience to the meal.

The staff was very friendly and the place was busy so maybe I just got a bad one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petiteTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burrito Tuesdays!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Its a Fernie tradition. SUPER casual in its decor and service but you'll get tasty belly bursting 2 for 1 burrito's on Tuesday nights. If your looking for Taco Bell, keep driving. This is another Fernie local's hangout where you come to meet locals over a Corona and chill out while they prepare your meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great alternative in Fernie”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was pleased to find a restaurant in a small community -off the beaten path- that is quite busy. It told me that the quality of the product is endorsed by the locals. I have eaten here a few times and have been pleased with the food. Great value, especially if you pick the special for the evening. The server recommended my colleague and I split the 2 burritos for $14 and it was more than enough food. No surprises just good eats.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Perciva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Guapo Mexican Diner also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing