We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from a brit”
Review of Griz Inn Sport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Griz Inn Sport
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

As i noticed it tends to be a load of Canadians/Americans writing reviews for this, so being a brit would throw my opinion in.

I stayed for 9 nights, having been travelling for 20 hours in total, to arrive at the hotel to be greeted by the receptionist. I have to say this was probably the second worse experiance of the stay. After checking in and having to pay $200 on my debit card as a deposit and then getting my room keys, very vaugely told me where my room was. After wondering aimlessly for a few minutes and trying to different rooms he finally came along and told me i was staying downstairs after neglecting to tell me first off.

The room was standard really. I travelled on my own so had the choice of a bunkbed or a double bed, ha. Bed was comfy enough with enough layers if you got too hot/cold. TV was confusing at first but fairly good. Shower etc was standard. Was confused that i had the sink next to the bed. But hey what the hell, it's canada.

Ski lockers were close to my room so at half 8 to 9am if you were asleep you'd be woken up by the sound of everyone clunking past. I went when it was very quiet so this wasn't too much of an issue. Lockers can fit a couple of boards/skis. Only issue would be drying out your boots, i used the radiators in my room.

The location was fantastic, ski in-out is a big thing for me on holidays like this and the Griz did not let me down.

The slopes of Fernie have so so so much to offer, i can't write it here just go find out for yourself

The hotel has a pool/hot tub aswell that guests could use which was perfect after a long day on the slopes.

Reception were helpful other than the dopey one on arrival.

Did have 2 issues out there,
1- Casually watching tv on the 2nd to last night on my bed, noticed something scurry on the floor our of the corner of my eye, now being terrified of spiders immediately thought the worse. So went up to reception and asked someone to help me, which they did. And turned out to be a mouse in the room. So they set some mousetraps and moved me to the room next door, which turned out to be even better than my first room. So every cloud and that......

2- The room's were a little noisey, like i mentioned before mornings and evenings when the lifts closed you can here people walking past in their boots, and also next door's door slamming aswell. Also some nights the pipework was creaking. But hey it's an old old building. Also when the rental shop across the way sharpens the skis/boards edges you can hear that too.

Other than that the hotel was awesome for a 3 star.

DIdn't get chance to use the rental shop as i took all my own gear.

The resturant "Corner Pocket" attached to the hotel was the best in the resort. Good food, Good prices, nice drink selection (even if they say guiness is from scotland in their menu haha) Avoid Kelsey's if you can, i got a bad stomach bug from there. Loads of little deli's etc so loads of choice.

However at the end of the day so long as you have a roof over your head and a bed, hotels don't really bother me.

It's all about the legendary Fernie Powder days, and believe me they are unreal!

Hope this review helps everyone, have an awesome time in Fernie! Because I did!

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the rental shop/ ski lockers ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLIff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dearjliff:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Griz Inn. These reviews are always very helpful for us to understand what areas we may need to address to make for the best possible guest experience. We are very sorry that your check in did not meet the expectation that, we too, expect from our guest services team. We are grateful that you found our team to be most helpful during the rest of you stay.

As you highlighted, our lower level hotel rooms are basic, compact units and we make best efforts to communicate this to our guests when booking. Unfortunately, it appears that you may not have been advised in as much detail about the hotel units by your booking agent. Nonetheless, it appears that you were able to look past the standard nature of the hotel room and took full advantage of the great amenities as well as the Griz Inn’s ski-in, ski-out location.

We are overjoyed to see that you did get to experience Fernie’s Legendary Powder and had the opportunity to explore the different venues at Fernie Alpine Resort.
We do hope we may be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at the Griz Inn during Christmas break. The experience was wonderful. It was great being so close (SO close!) to the ski lifts and ticket office, having a rental shop just downstairs, and being able to take a dip in the pool and hot tub after a day of skiing. The room was well set up for everything we needed and the staff was helpful.
Overall, good place to stay :) Would recommend highly to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shandy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Shandy30

We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your Christmas Holidays at the Griz Inn and that you would recommend our hotel. We are most grateful for your comments regarding our staff and facilities. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to offer our services to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the Griz over the Christmas break. The location is excellent, right at the base of the lifts and the ski shop in the basement made renting very convenient. The ski shop staff really took their time to make sure the boots would be a good fit. Desk staff and general staff were also very friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the pool and hot tub with my grandson.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzq60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Suzq60

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding our facilities and staff. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Break at the Griz Inn. We look forward to being of service to you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Whilst it is by no means the newest accommodation on the hill the Griz offers great value and great location. Genuine ski in, ski out withouit a major price tag. The rooms are comforatble and well appointed. The ski shop in the basement is great - the guys know there stuff especially when it comes to boot fitting.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Litigate:

We appreciate that you have taken the time to state your feelings in regards to the Griz Inn. We truly do have one of the best ski-in, ski-out locations with the best value on the Mountain. We will be sure to advise the Ski Shop staff of your kind words.

We hope that we may be of service to you and your friends in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The room/suite we chose was more that adaquate for our needs for 4 people. It gave us plenty of room to stretch out and for large travel bags.
The room could sleep more than double our number, easily.
Management was very accommodating and friendly. They did not bother us.

Room Tip: The suite was quite functional, fully outfitted for a kitchen. If there were anything that was missi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Roland P

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Griz Inn and we thank you for
submitting your review. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

You can't beat the griz. We've stayed at the griz approx 12 times in the past 8 years. It is no big deal walking a very short distance to get our lift tickets. The ski rental in the basement is excellent and the guys there really know their stuff. Literally a few steps out the front door and you put your skis on---- a few strides later you are at Elk Chair. Nice pool. 2 hot tubs are outside. The rooms come in all sizes and decor as many are privately owned it seems so there are some better decorated than others. Would not stay anywhere else as the other on hill hotels are much more expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahwinter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Dear sarahwinter_11

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the location and facilities of the Griz Inn. We are very glad to see that you are a return visitor as repeat business is what our guest services team strives to achieve. We are very happy to see that you would recommend our Lodge and we look forward to your continued visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Right on the hill, ski up to the door, fantastic! Staff was very friendly, had a great time. Pool, hot tub, even a photo gallery! Highly recommend the Griz!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizinn, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Dear lirvine

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Griz Inn. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and for taking the time to review our facilities.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griz Inn Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griz Inn Sport

Address: 5369 Fernie Ski Hill Rd, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £60 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Griz Inn Sport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griz Inn is your family's first choice for quality accommodations on the mountain at Fernie Alpine Resort. The facility offers a full range of lodging options ranging from comfortable hotel rooms to fully equipped one-to-three bedroom suites, including loft units. Amenities include the Corner Pocket Restaurant, Top Shelf Bootfitters & Rentals (winter), indoor pool & outdoor whirlpools. The Griz Inn also offers a ski-in/ski-out location in the center of the ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Griz Inn Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griz Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing