We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, but..”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Timberline last weekend. We had a 2 bedroom platinum lower level room and it was fantastic. There were 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms, a full kitchen plus a microwave in one room and a large dining/living area complete with fireplace. The whole unit was in great shape, newly renovated and spotlessly clean, and we were able to walk from our patio directly to the hot tub. Off to a great start! There were a couple of improvements needed to make this a great experience though. 1> the queen bed had the hardest mattress I've ever tried to sleep on and I had to request a mattress pad for the second night. 2> there were no frying pans and no toaster in the kitchen which made breakfast a bit of a challenge, but the front desk was able to provide us a frying pan on request. 3> parking was unassigned and overcrowded.

And now to the desk staff..... very friendly and helpful! Our requests for items were actioned efficiently and with a smile. All in all, I would likely stay here again now that I know how to arrange for a decent night's sleep, but there is some room for the resort to improve.

Room Tip: make sure you book a platinum room to get the most recently renovated units
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nielsensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed with a group of friends (all adults) for 2 weeks in Feb. The lodges are well located and are ski in, walk out. The walk takes about ten minutes to get to the foot of the hill. The condo we had (#540) was perfectly adequate. Beds were comfortable, wifi worked, kitchen was well appointed, ski storage awesome, car parking excellent, hot tub and barbeque area fantastic, and the service offered by the staff was friendly and very helpful. The two biggest complaints we had were the cleanliness and the value. We had to move the couch to plug a laptop in and the carpet underneath was filthy. Also the filter in the dishwasher was full to overflowing so until we emptied it our pots were coming out dirtier. I guess the problem is the labour force are transient antipodeans more interested in skiing than cleaning so not sure how this will ever be resolved!!!!

The more serious complaint is the value. We booked from London and not knowing the area used the ski fernie website. Once at the mountain we were able to find much better accommodation at the same price. True ski in ski out, bigger floor space and a true 3 bedrooms rather than a loft. If thinking about fernie spend more time than we did looking for digs. I feel we over-paid by a long shot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAWL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I recently stayed in the Timberline Lodges at Fernie Mountain Resort. They are condo's that are rented out by their owners when the owners are not there, so depending on which room you get, they may have different qualities of furnishings. That said, the room I was in had very comfortable beds and a flat screen in both of the bedrooms along with the living room area. It was very clean, had a fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher and kitchen table. Staying in the building gives you access to one hot tub that is attached to the building, another communal hot tub inbetween the buildings, and a hot tub/pool area that is very nice and clean that is attached to the main building.

There isn't service like a hotel, no maids will come aorund and clean your place daily, it's as if it was your own place.

If you don't want to go into town, there are a few restaurants on the hill and a tiny grocery/liquor store.

The only real disadvantage to Timberline is that it is about a 1km walk uphill to get to the first lift and even though there are supposedly shuttles up the hill, I never saw one. That is the reason I'm giving it a 4 out of 5 because it is not fun to carry your ski gear up hill that far in the morning,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossTCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear CrossTCOB,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Timberline Lodges. We appreciate your feedback, particularly regarding the shuttle. There has not been a shuttle from the lodges to the lifts this Winter season, nor last, however as a result of guest feedback this is something we are looking to rectify for next winter (2012/2013). We hope that you consider Timberline Lodges in the future, and thank you again for the time you took to write this review.

Kind regards,
Juliana Dare
Brand
Fernie Lodging Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Old property, you need to DRIVE to the ski lodge - VERY EXPENSIVE - 5 stars price for a super 8 type of accommodation.
Hot tub was always full.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear jtllz,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review of our property. As a result of guest feedback such as yours, we are implementing a number of changes for this coming Winter season. Owners of each suite are being approached and asked to upgrade where necessary, to meet our minimum standards. We are also looking into a ski shuttle for our guests to provide transport up to the lifts in the mornings. Thank you again for your review, and we hope you consider Timberline Lodges when planning your next Fernie vacation. I invite you to call us directly when booking, so that we can find you a suitable unit to meet your needs and budget.

Kind regards,
Juliana Dare
Brand
Fernie Lodging Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

When this vacation was booked (a few months in advance of our arrival) we were advised it was a "short" walk to the ski hill, but ski in at the end of the day. The only way this is a short walk is if you're 20 years old and an olympic athlete. Our reservation was for 5 days and during the entire trip the parking lot was a skating rink. Not the most safe situation to be lugging skis/boots/poles and possibly a lunch up the "short" walk when just walking through that parking lot was a challenge with no gear.

This was intended to be a romantic get away.....however when we arrived at our room, they had put us in a condo with 2 single beds. Initially we were advised that they'd sent us to the wrong room. New keys in hand we went to a different suite, only to walk in on a family. Back to the office only to be advised that the original suite was correct and that we were expected to stay in a room in separate beds for our romantic retreat. Their solution was to suggest we just push them together. We were advised there were no other rooms available and that they can't/don't control the "bedding" situation...the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard from the manager of the front desk of any hotel/condo. (conversations with other guests would suggest that this was not a unique experience - I spoke with at least 2 other couples where they had the same experience). After much conversation with the front desk and our booking agent (over 90 minutes), we were "upgraded" to a "Platinum" room.

My only comment is if you actually chose to pay for this facility, DO NOT pay for the upgrade. Admittedly the room was supposed to have been the "showsuite", but all the cuttlery, pots, etc had to be washed before they could be used. There were 2 hot tubs at our building, one which was out of service the entire 5 days for maintenance (yet no work was being done on the unit). The other was more of a warm bath and had tiles missing....to the point that we and another guest in the facility cut our feet on the broken tiles. Any time we did use the hot tub there were guests from other buildings who had wandered over to use the tub, as the hot tub in their building was out of service.

We are planning another ski vacation this spring - we're even looking at spending time in the Fernie area. We WILL NOT be looking at this facility - the drive from town would only be approx 10-15 mins more than the drive from this facility, the views from town are lovely and with this facility not being ski in/ski out, we'll either look for a true ski in/out location or stay in the town where we'll save a bit of money while still having the spectacular mountain views, a true hot tub, and the standard bedding one expects when planning a couples retreat.

Room Tip: Pick a different facility - the front desk does not appear to have any control over "bedding&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Liz B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay in Fernie.

We are disheartened to hear that despite our staff's best efforts, you failed to enjoy your accommodations. Feedback is vitally important to any business in the service industry, and as such we value your comments.

Unfortunately there are a few limitations no amount of good service can remedy - one of these is poor weather. You visited us over the busy New Year's holiday period, a time when the ski out that you speak of is usually in great shape. As a result of unseasonal temperatures and some precipitation, this was not the case.

Another factor which led to your unpleasant experience was the misinformation you recieved from a 3rd party booking agent (wholesaler) who we contract to sell some of our 183 properties. Since your stay we have been sure to contact this wholesaler to verify the accuracy of the information they provide to our guests. We apologise wholeheartedly that you were misinformed regarding the bedding that would be in your suite, and also regarding the walking distance to the lifts.

As our Guest Services Manager explained to you, the Wholesaler who booked you did not request specific bedding, and as a result of us being at capacity when you stayed, there were few options left to move you to another suite. She offered you a show suite (not usually used for guest stays) and had a front desk member look over the suite quickly prior to you settling in.

As you were advised at this time, we would have been happy to immediately rectify any housekeeping deficiencies you may have found, should you let us know. Unfortunately none were brought to our attention until after your stay, which makes it difficult to remedy.

Regarding the loose tiles in the hot tub area, we appreciate you drawing our attention to this, and have advised the strata body who takes care of these facilities accordingly.

Once again we do apologise for your lack of satisfaction, and hope that this may have clarified some of your issues.

We hope that you do in fact return to Fernie in the future, and that you have an opportunity to enjoy the town which we call home.

Kind Regards,

Juliana Dare
Brand
Fernie Lodging Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Plus side: Very nice accommodations, enjoyed the hot tub, very clean, close to downtown.

Minus side: Booking agent extremely rude when presented with an issue. Front desk not able to deal with booking issue, when we upgraded to a room with loft, they sent us to wrong room and then we had to wait with all our stuff till they figured that out.
Worst of all, check out day had a scheduled power out in which the lodge had a months notice of. No guests were informed! Had anyone been in the elevator, it would have been a very scary situation. Power off all morning, couldn't use the kitchenette and had to shower/pack up in the dark. Not great customer service in our eyes. A simple warning would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Public Relations Manager at Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Hi Erin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I would like to apologise on behalf of Fernie Lodging Company, for the unfortunate circumstances surrounding your stay. To say we were unaware of the power outage is not an acceptable response in a guest's eyes, and I fully understand this. Unfortunately the lines of communication in this scenario did not reach our front desk staff, and as such guests were not informed. We have learnt the hard way from this experience, and endeavour to inform our guests of any disruption in a timely manner going forward.

As for the confusion with the Wholesaler booking agent who you made your reservation with, I extend my apologies on that organisation's behalf, and fully intend to take the matter up with said organisation.

We would apprecaite the opportunity to make amends for this dissappointing experience should you decide to afford us the chance. Please contact us should you like to discuss further.

Sincerley,
Juliana Dare
Public Relations & Brand
Fernie Lodging Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Timberline lodge during a family vacation to Fernie. It is at the Fernie Alpine Resort and minutes from the Fernie city center. It was peaceful and scenic. The kitchenette in the condo allowed us to cook all our meals and save lots of $$$ as opposed to eating at a restaurant every evening. Recommended for travelers seeking a quieter place to stay.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
62 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company

Property: Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company
Address: 4559 Timberline Cres, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company - This on-mountain condo complex features fully-furnished mountainside condominiums in six iconic mountain lodges, with views of the Elk Valley and Lizard Range. The Timberline Platinum suites, located in the Balsam and all-new Juniper Lodges feature in-floor heat, granite and stainless steel kitchens, rock fireplaces, air conditioning, in-suite washing facilities and much more - everything you need to make you vacation to Fernie as enjoyable as possible. At the end of your day on the slopes ski down to your suite and enjoy the numerous hot tubs and outdoor heated swimming pool. Or, if your looking for chalet luxury in a suite, stay in a Platinum Signature suite and relax in your private on-deck hot tub! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Timberline Lodges by Fernie Lodging Company reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing