We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well appointed and a typically very comfortable guest house....”

Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Fernie B&B and Inns
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well appointed and a typically very comfortable guest house....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Well appointed and a typically very comfortable guest house....

Check out the size of the bath rooms, before signing.

The location is wonderful, two block walk to the picnic restaurant.

The true test - yes I would go back.

.....an if you want to watch TV, there are none in the rooms and the one in the lounge is poor....this did not concern me, but to some it matters

Room Tip: Check out the size of the bath rooms, before signing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

The owners have done a wonderful job on this classic old residence. The house is decorated with at wide variety of lovely antiques. The owners certainly know how to tie all the pieces together. Patrick and Jo Ann are sincerely warm hosts- very welcoming and treating us truly as if we were special guests in their home. Wonderful bed (I'm really fussy about not having a mushy bed), great breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

The only thing I can say in any way negative is that I like to have a cup of coffee while I'm waiting for breakfast and none was offered until breakfast was served.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We arrived very late at night (1 am), Patrick was waiting up for us, he offered us hot beverages on arrival. The bed was very comfortable, in a charming room filled with antique furniture. Shower and WC were compact and bijou - but more than adequate for a building of this age. Breakfast was a family affair, we ate with Patrick and Jo-Anne and they also invited our son and his girlfriend to join us for breakfast. Patrick directed us to places of scenic beauty.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice-hockey-fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves Beach Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

Staying at the Old Nurses Residence will always be a memory in our hearts. From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly & made to feel like we were right at home. The hospitaliy was amazing, food terrific, great red wine, beds warm & cozy. Patrick & Jo the hosts have become life long friends. We loved the atmosphere created in this 100 year old home and wish Patrick & Jo many more years of welcoming people into their B & B. We are from Caves Beach Australia and will definitely be back at the Old Nurses B & B for another amazing white winter, skiing, great hospitality & friendship. What more could you want when you go to another country.

  • Liked — Hospitality, friendliness, cleanliness locality,
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snowangelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Med Hat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

If you want isolation, a TV and an impersonal experience when you stay in Fernie then you'd best book into the Super 8 or Best Western.

If you want charming, knowledgeable hosts with flowing red wine on arrival and the best pancakes for breakfast that you have ever tasted then the Old Nurse is for you.

If you are cold then take the heater out of the closet and turn it on. If the room is too dark then ask Patrick or Jo Anne how to operate your bed side light. If the conversation downstairs is disturbing you then go down and join in.

I can honestly say that after a weekend with Patrick and Jo Anne it was like saying goodbye to relatives when we departed.

We shall return!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beamerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

We felt compelled to post a review of this B&B after reading the other negative review and then staying at the B&B ourselves. We stayed at the Old Nurses for 2 nights in January and chose it for its central location and good price.

Due to circumstances beyond our control we arrived 3 hours late (near midnight) on the Friday night and instead of being met by a grumpy host (which I think would be understandable) we were welcomed by co-owner Patrick who was all smiles and offered us a glass of wine! This warm welcome was to set the tone for the whole weekend.

Old Nurses is a charming old house, full of character and centrally located in Fernie. We were attracted to it because it looks so much like the archetypal classic North American property and it's quaint kitsch interior did not disappoint!

Patrick and Jo Anne were charming hosts, always ready with a glass of wine for their guests each evening and serving up the most fantastic homemade breakfasts. They couldn't do enough for us and we had a good weekend laughing with them about their tales of some of their more eccentric guests!

Don't stay here if you really want to stay in a hotel with marble bathrooms and room service - stay here because you want the real Canadian experience with a couple of Fernie's residents in one of the town's most beautiful homes...

We'll be back!

  • Liked — Free wifi, central location, great hosts, character property
  • Disliked — Lack of pressure in the shower in the shared bathroom (if we had to choose something)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgirl065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

this is a beautiful old house but my room was very cold, with a very small bathroom, tiny sink and no reading lamp by the bed. I found it awkward to make small talk with the host while watching TV in the common room. There was no TV in the room and only a small radio for entertainment. Voices of the owners and guests traveled upstairs easily and I found this very disturbing.
I'm afraid that next time I will stay at a hotel rather than here

  • Liked — heritage building
  • Disliked — cold room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank littleterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast
Address: 802 4th Avenue, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing