We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Birch Meadows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 12 Fernie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2007

We had a wonderful Xmas at Birch Meadows! The surroundings are magical, the breakfasts were delicious, and the hospitality abounds.

Life could not have been better with great people, the peaceful call of nature (58 acres of it), and the prestine setting at Birch Meadows.

Santa could not have brought us anything to make it more perfect. We love the Birch Meadow hosts Sonya and Marcel! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2006

This is an OUTSTANDING B&B, and an excellent value. We booked a log chalet at $120 CDN. It had a living room with fireplace, microwave and small fridge (and TV that plays only tapes - no broadcast TV), and a bedroom with queen bed. The chalets are very new, clean airy and beautiful. Out your front window is a grand mountain view. In the main house is a living room open to guests, but we never used it. Breakfast is great -- eggs, good coffee and assortment of cereals & bread. The manager, Sonya, is very pleasant and helpful. It is about 10 minutes from downtown Fernie. This is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in, and probably #1 in value.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

The B&B is a gorgeous 10 minute drive along the Elk River south of town and perhaps a 1/4 mile drive off the highway and up a faily steep incline. It feels like you are a million miles from everywhere else in your own comfortable mountain getaway. The two duplex log cabins face onto a flower strewn meadow (in July) with spectacular mountain peaks beyond. The ski resort is between the B&B and Fernie, as is Island Lake Lodge and the old growth Cedar forest on the road leading to that lodge.
We stayed in one of the cabins which had a comfortable living room, bedroom with queen bed, and bath with tub/shower. In the living room there is a cabinet with a small fridge and microwave along with a basket of coffee, tea and popcorn, as well as dishes glasses and flatware.
Breakfast is served in a large country kitchen and consisted of a buffet of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, and a selection of breads. Sonya, the friendly, helpful owner, cooks hot dishes to order. One day we had delicious omelets, another blueberry pancakes, and another French toast. Plus Sonya will prepare an excellent espresso for you on her commercial machine.
Guests are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare meals if they wish, Beyond the kitchen is a large living room, and off that a gazebo, all for the enjoyment of guests. We did not see the lodge rooms, so I cannot comment on them.
Everything about the B&B is immaculate, reflecting the Swiss background of Sonya and Marcel, her husband.
Birch Meadows is the perfect place to soak up the experience of the unbelieveably spectacular scenery of the Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2005

We arrived at Birch Meadows while Daiseys were in full bloom, oats filled the fields and barn swallows swept through the meadows. We chose a log chalet which (in our opinion) is worth the few extra dollars.

Sonya and Marcel are Swiss hoteliers with extensive experience in the hospitality industry. We had difficulty with our fireplace and the couple responded quickly (within five minutes at 2200hrs), tried to fix the fireplace, but they determined that a cabin move would be the quickest solution. Sonya insisted on ensuring everything was in order in the new cabin and freshened the cabin while we gathered our belongings. the pace is easy going and money matters were dealt with in non evasive manner.

Breakfast was terrific and regrettably we did not stay long enough in Fernie to sample the traditional (and reasonably priced) Swiss dinner served (by reservation) at this BnB. After the marginal dinner experience in town, we'd opt for this in the future.
Suggestion? Go as soon as possible as we normally pay $250.00 - $300.00 for other log cabin accommodations in BC that didn't include breakfast and not nearly the extraordinary view. Word of mouth will travel and $120-$150 CAD/night in high season for the BnB is value-plus for what you get. I bet it won't stay this inexpensive for too long...

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2004

Stayed Dec 26-29, 2003. Skier / Hiker / Nature Lovers Dream... Beautiful winter setting. Exceptional breakfast. Unbelievable service when my vehicle could not make the hill after a heavy snow fall. Take a 4 wheel drive during winter months. Really close to ski resort and Fernie but far enough for total quite. Got great dining tips from our host as well. Am going back for sure.

2  Thank TJAClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitefish MT
13
Reviewed 23 September 2004

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Birch Meadows Lodge B&B. We had privacy, beautiful views and great breakfasts. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. For downhill skiers Birch Meadows is just about as close to Fernie Ski Area as the town of Fernie and it's much quieter and scenic. I would definately go back.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC
12
Reviewed 3 October 2003

We had a great time at this B&B on the last weekend in September. The breakfasts were amazing, especially the home-made fruit toppings and the creative eggs! Something for every diet. The view from the cabins and the outdoor hot tub of the mountains is inspiring, and we couldn't complain about being a short xc ski or a 15 minute drive from the lifts...We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
6.4 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
174 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blackstone Bed and Breakfast
7.5 mi away
Twisted Timber Guesthouse
3.8 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Meadows Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Meadows Lodge B&B

Address: 4485 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range: £97 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birch Meadows Lodge B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Birch Meadows Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing