We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great clean, friendly, value option for Fernie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Fernie
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Banff
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great clean, friendly, value option for Fernie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked in midweek March and got a good rate of around $110.00 a night. When looking at other options, we found this to be a reasonable choice, not too far away from the hill. The quality of room exceeded our expectations. It appears that they have got new carpet. When returning to Fernie, I wouldn't look anywhere else - I don't think you could find the same value anywhere else in town! We'd come back.

Room Tip: Book more than one night and book it earlier than two weeks out for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sekaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Hi Sekaitraveller,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Fernie Super 8, we are glad you found us to be a good choice and that the rooms exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to offering a warm welcome on your next visit to Fernie
regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    227
    83
    16
    6
See reviews for
197
153
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We chose Super8 Fernie because of proximity to the ski resort. We will return because of the great service, spacious and clean rooms, nice hot tub and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
HI there Vanvoyageur

Many thanks for the review, we were glad to hear you had a good stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you on the the Fernie Super 8 on your next trip to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Nice and clean hotel! Nice sized room, with good TV, Free Internet, Fridge and Microwave! Washroom was in great condition. Stayed for 6 nights and it was perfect. Hot tub outside was worth the price of admission on its own. Two 25 yr old travelling and was great. Will be staying again when we return to Fernie!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Hi there Travels0me,

Many thanks for the review, it always makes us smile when we hear that a guest has had a good stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Fernie
Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We booked a room at the Super 8 for a 3 day ski trip. The room was clean and very comfortable outfitted with cable TV, internet, fridge and microwave. The staff were accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. The hotel offered a great continental breakfast to suit everyone in the families tastes. The stay was excellent value for the money spent. Our family will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpau_9, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Hi there Lori135,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Super 8 Fernie after your recent stay. We were glad to hear everything was good and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Early check-in, nice room, hot tub, Wifi, coffee, hot chocolate - what else could you need (they do have some cable too). Glad we decided to stay here. As opposed to another review I saw on TripAdvisor, I think for what you pay it's pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpau_9, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Hello Matt J

Just a quick note to say thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor and review your stay with us

We were glad to hear that you had a good stay with us and found everything to be as you had hoped.

We hope that we can be of service to you again at some point in the future and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent family ski trip. Both the main area of the hotel and room were clean, in good shape, and nicely decorated. The rooms were spacious, beds and linens great, water temperature and pressure good, tv and Internet worked well. Cleaning staff did a great job. The breakfast was super, plenty of variety, even for a four night stay. Loved that they have a washer and dryer, great for drying out all those wet ski clothes. ( and only $1 each) We were quite disappointed that the hot tub was out of service 3 of the 4 nights of our stay. After a long day skiing you kinda feel cheated when you can't relax in the hot tub. The kids had been really pumped about getting to use an outdoor hot tub in the winter. I understand that there was an issue with some guests and broken glass in the hot tub area. I sympathize with hotel staff that have to deal with a few " rowdies" , but it makes me wonder what myself and my three small children may have stumbled across had we been there a day earlier. Do they not have video cameras in the hot tub area? Kinda expected a little more than a " sorry for the inconvenience". Still overall a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpau_9, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Hi there Clint G,

Many thanks for your response - we were glad to hear that you found the hotel - both rooms and public areas - clean and spacious. It's also good to note that our breakfast was pleasing and the variety was good.

I am sorry that you were disappointed by the issues we had with our hot-tub. We do have video cameras in that area so we are able to make sure there is nothing un-toward happening out there and 99 times out of 100 we prevent issues before they happen, but on this occasion we were unable to prevent a problem.

We hope that we can welcome you to the Super 8 Fernie again soon, should you wish to book with us again in the near future please ask for me and I will personally take care of your booking.

We take all feedback very seriously and thank you for taking the time to visit us on Trip Advisor

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Walking in to the hotel it looks decent, however the "owners" are not very friendly, as I sat with my family for breakfast in the lobby, I over heard the owners talking down one of the customers who were staying there. However they DO have very friendly staff. During my stay I could smell a very strong odor of marijuana. I do know that the staff could also smell this odor, being they were also complaining of the stench in the hallway.
*Very sickened with our stay at the Super 8, in the future my family and I will choose another hotel to stay at!"

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Hello Dave T.

We thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and were sorry to hear that things weren't quite perfect for you. We aim to not only meet each guests expectations but exceed them.

I am new to the hotel and therefore can't comment on conversations that were overheard but apologise for the odor problems that you experienced. This is not normal within our hotel as all our rooms are 100% non-smoking and it takes just 1 or 2 guests to spoil this by smoking either in their rooms or smelling strongly of smoke on their return to their rooms.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Have a great day
Jan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Property: Super 8 Fernie
Address: 2021 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#4 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Fernie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super Eight
Fernie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing