We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend the night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Fernie
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is one of the best hotels we stayed in on our 4 week trip out west and up north to Canada. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and extremely comfy. The hotel was 100% smokefree and that was a great perk! The lobbies were quiet and recently updated. We don't stay in 4 star hotels, we look for clean and comfy and reasonably priced--this more than met our expectations. The laundry facilities were very clean and the dryer actually dried for 45 mintues! The hotel offered a continental breakfast that had fresh juice, lots of choices for food items. Check this one out if you are ever in Fernie, BC Canada!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hi there Holly K,

Many thanks for your review of the Fernie Super 8. We were happy to see that you had a super stay with us. It is our aim that all guests have a great experience & a good nights whilst here.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be coming to Fernie.
Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    227
    83
    16
    6
See reviews for
197
153
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I made a second visit to the Super 8 in Fernie, and third stay in Fernie overall for a couple of nights. It was my last leg of my weekend getaway after spending one night in Invermere. I usually prefer staying at a Super 8's or Ramada's for the value, and free breakfast on the road. They're both Wyndham hotels. While I find the location is a little out of the way in the heart of Fernie, I've found a few good walking routes around over my few visits in Fernie. I usually like to do some sightseeing by foot in mountain towns, but I do see they offer bus service for those who want to use it. Everything else is a basic clean room with free breakfast in the morning. Couldn't beat the value for the first weekend in May for my return visit. I you want a good value, the Super 8's the place in Fernie. One of the most beautiful mountain towns in the Canadian Rockies no matter how you slice it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi Brett_1982

Many thanks for taking the time to review us at the Fernie Super 8. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and good value for money - we were also glad that you enjoyed our free SuperStart breakfast

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fernie Super 8 for your future trips to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We checked in late however our room was held for us and Frontdesk was efficient and friendly. The Hottub was outdoor and in a very nice enclosure. With a wraparound bench and beautiful mural on the wall. We were able to do our laundry as we soaked in the Hottub and enjoyed the gorgeous views Fernie has to offer. Rooms were extremely clean and in good repair, there were renovations happening on the second floor however Amber from the desk gave us a room on the third floor so it would not disturb us. Breakfast was basic with a few nice surprises. Fresh fruit, yogurt, and hardboiled eggs. I was impressed with Super 8 Fernie. Great value clean rooms and friendly service I’m glad we stayed

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hi Kendrick W

Thank you for taking the time to review of Super 8 Fernie. The hot-tub mural was painted by a member of staff and the hot-tub area was all recently renovated too. Thank you for mentioning Amber by name, its always nice to be able to pass on positive feedback to staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you to Fernie Super 8 on your next trip to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is pet friendly which is why we picked it. It is a little out of the way from the downtown but costs a lot less - downtown hotels more trendy catering to skiers. Room was clean and the staff were nice. The breakfast was more than ample. It is a little off the highway but was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hi BuffaloLake,

Many thanks for your review of the Fernie Super 8, we were glad to accomodate you and your pet. We are proud to be pet-friendly and we were also happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, that your room was clean and that our staff were nice too. We take pride in all of these elements and more to give every guest a super experience whilst they stay with us.

Fernie Super 8 looks forward to accomodating you and your pet the next time you are in town.

Regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

FANTASTIC Service! So helpful, fast response. I contacted the hotel to find out if we could possibly check-in early as I snowboard while my boyfriend doesnt. Jan, responded promptly and provided the front desk with my contact details in the event that an early check-in was possible. Called at 9:00 AM, totally not expecting to be able to check-in and they checked with housekeeping and got back to us within 10 mintues to say they had a room available. In addition, they extended our checkout time to 1:00 pm with no charge. Great service, friendly staff. Rooms are standard but perfect if your looking just to lay your head down. Breakfast was complimentary and standard but did the trick. Great out door hot tub, although this time the jets were broken. Unexpected but were still able to use. Would stay there again forsure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Hi Shannon M

Many thanks for taking the time out to review Fernie Super 8. We were glad you had a great experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked in midweek March and got a good rate of around $110.00 a night. When looking at other options, we found this to be a reasonable choice, not too far away from the hill. The quality of room exceeded our expectations. It appears that they have got new carpet. When returning to Fernie, I wouldn't look anywhere else - I don't think you could find the same value anywhere else in town! We'd come back.

Room Tip: Book more than one night and book it earlier than two weeks out for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sekaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Hi Sekaitraveller,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Fernie Super 8, we are glad you found us to be a good choice and that the rooms exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to offering a warm welcome on your next visit to Fernie
regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We chose Super8 Fernie because of proximity to the ski resort. We will return because of the great service, spacious and clean rooms, nice hot tub and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
HI there Vanvoyageur

Many thanks for the review, we were glad to hear you had a good stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you on the the Fernie Super 8 on your next trip to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Property: Super 8 Fernie
Address: 2021 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#4 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Fernie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super Eight
Fernie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing