We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I've ever stayed”
Review of Blackstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackstone Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Fernie B&B and Inns
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
“Best place I've ever stayed”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I travelled with my boyfriend and another couple, and it was really the accommodation that made our trip. The skiing was really fun and we had an awesome time on the hill, but we will never forget staying a Blackstone. Everything was beautiful, there was no detail of the room and our stay that wasn't impeccable. The beds were extremely comfortable, the decor was breathtaking, and the kitchen was stocked up with everything you would need including coffee and tea you could make at any hour of the day. We felt completely at home there and Ian and Charlotte are very nice and fun people. They made a delicious breakfast with great variety. The highlight was the awesome hot tub! But make sure you bring sandals to wear out to it, and a few cold beers! Can't wait to stay here again in the summer and winter. I would go back to Fernie over another mountain destination just to stay at Blackstone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
87
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We go to Fernie on a regular basis and were pleased to see that a new B&B that fit all our criteria had recently opened up. As soon as we walked through the door of the Blackstone Lodge and saw the large open living room, kitchen and dining areas, we knew we'd stumbled on a great place to stay. Our bedroom was spacious and tastefully decorated with handcrafted furniture, including a luxurious king size bed. The adjoining bathroom was also spacious and contained all the necessary amenities. Our bedroom window offered an uninterrupted view of the Three Sisters and Hosmer Mountain. Downstairs, the living room was outfitted with comfortable leather chairs and iPod docking stations and was a very relaxing place to hang out with a book or a glass of wine after a hard day of skiing. Ian and Charlotte are fabulous hosts and take great care to ensure that their guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Everything from the TV and entertainment room, the outdoor cedar hot tub and the mud room with boot drying racks to the delicious homemade breakfasts, which included carefully sourced coffee, locally baked bread, real maple syrup and homemade jams, has been carefully thought of. We're looking forward to staying there again next time we're in Fernie and will be telling all our friends about it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vantoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Finally Fernie has an amazing place to stay which does not cost an arm and a leg. This lodge is beautiful and the couple who own it are very welcoming and willing to ensure you enjoy your stay. Breakfast was delicious as well, you will not go hungry here. I highly recommend staying at this B&B and I know I will be a return visitor for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibum010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

To share a great travel experience with you, I have been staying at this superb B&B in Fernie for 3 days in March 2011, the Blackstone Lodge. Blackstonelodgefernie.com

It is a brand new (3 months old) log house with a great view on the mountain, most bedrooms on the 2nd floor, the first level is for the guests only, huge stone fire place, custom furniture, kitchen, tv room, mud room, outside hot tub and great breakfasts !

Simply nice and affordable, must see

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodsland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Yes, Blackstone Lodge is everything that the previous reviews have said. The owners were inviting and helpful and the accomodations were definately above average. Sledders will appreciate the gear dryers, storage facility, proximity to equipment and rentals and the sled in sled out access.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haltz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Blackstone Lodge was probably the best place we could've stayed in the entire region! The entire place is new, flawlessly decorated and organized, and perfectly suited to almost any group. This log home is bright, open and warm with a fireplace, cozy couches and soft blankets. There were amazing bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, lovely views and our every need was more than met. The kitchen and dining area were perfect and could've hosted a much larger group than just us. There was even a full media room complete with 60" TV and an XBOX Kinect, a veritable Man-cave. Ian and Charlotte (the owners) were lovely and greeted us when we arrived and gave us the grand tour. The ultra-modern kitchen was perfect and saved us quite a bit in restaurant bills. There's even a cedar hot tub outside and sitting in there after a day of conferencing, watching the snow fall silently around us was amazing. Our group of 10 had more than enough space, even with some ski gear. Overall, the value for money was there - it worked out to slightly cheaper than hotel rooms and was SOOOO much better than a hotel. Definitely the most relaxing business trip I've ever taken, and just a quick drive to the mountain too. All in all I'll be looking for excuses to go back, and soon. I imagine it'll be just as lovely in the summer too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We spent 10 days in this fantastic house where the young owners offer warm hospitality to all their guests. The rooms are stylish and comfortable with thick mattresses ensuring good nights. The outside cedar hot tub had great views and stayed pleasantly warm even in the midst of a snow storm, but the most unusual feature was the extremely spacious communal areas available to all guests with comfortable sofas by the fire, a large modern kitchen and plenty of eating space. We 're sure this new lodge will become very popular, but hope to be able to find a space in the future as we'll certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
2.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
618 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
#3 of 12 in Fernie
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Lodge

Property: Blackstone Lodge
Address: 7 Cedar Bowl Pl, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury Bed and Breakfast. A large log home located in a quiet part of Fernie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blackstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing