We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good ice cream”

Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Handcrafted ice cream, ice cream cakes, shakes, ice cream sandwiches and more!
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“really good ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Chocolate macaroon, really good. The ice cream is superb, but not cheap - but worth the money. Nice that they are open till 'late' too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“More than Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was our first time to Happy Cow. There of course was typical ice cream and sherbert selections but to my surprise the place offers cupcakes, cheese cakes and slabs of ice cream. Also there is a great selection of take-away containers of ice cream. I would have loved to try the homemade caramel lollies or the ice cream sandwiches they both looked really good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmalfiRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“this is the best ice cream in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

expensive but worth every penny. The cones are homemade and a very small one is enough as it is so rich.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindaandclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Ice cream sandwich ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great home made ice cream with many local ingredients (such as saskatoons), albeit a bit expensive, but I can appreciate the quality. Their ice cream sandwich is my all time favourite item. They are huge with 2 home made chocolate chip cookies filled with heaps of soft serve for 5$, you could easily share one. Unfortunately their cupcakes are terrible, dry cake, muted flavours and weird icing. Go for the ice cream though, that is where they shine! They were working on an ice cream cart, didn't ever see it in the summer, but look forward to it next year with the ice cream coming right to my door, great idea for this town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cleopatra999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy L, Owner at Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to review Happy Cow. I was happy to hear what you loved about our ice cream, but so incredibly dissapointed to hear about your cupcake experience. What happened?? We make the cupcakes fresh everyday and use pure fruit to make our colour free buttercream frostings. We sell the unsold cupcakes as "yesterdays" and only the next day. We've had such a huge positive response with these, so I am sorry to hear your comment.
Dan & I would love to make you some to try again. Please call us at Happy Cow: 250-423-8381 after Dec 11 and we will make you a believer, I promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homemade Ice Cream at it's best!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Happy Cow makes all of it's ice cream from fresh ingredients and what is seasonal also!! They make great deserts and cakes, pies along with home made Ice Cream!!! What more could you ask for!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimmerFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing