We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ice cream ever!”

Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Handcrafted ice cream, ice cream cakes, shakes, ice cream sandwiches and more!
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best ice cream ever!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you are in Fernie you will have to make a stop at Happy Cow, some of the best ice cream and deserts I have had. They have everything from cakes for birthdays to your standard gelato to all natural ice cream! They also have the most amazing ice cream bike that is ridden around town that they sell their product from.

It's always a pleasure to go to happy cow after a long day skiing or biking, happy cow is a great addition to Fernie :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dbenniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danowor, Owner at Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks you for the thoughtful review. We love it when you spoon us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There are not enough superlatives to describe my favourite ice cream here- the honeycomb . It is made with local honey, another bonus! Every ingredient is natural, no food colouring or artificial flavourings. And the proprietors are wonderful, enthusiastic and friendly. There is not a flavour that friends or family have tried that we have not enjoyed immensely. Flavours change with what is available and in season. Fantastic, not inexpensive but worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy L, General Manager at Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely review!! It is people like you that make us love to do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream, homemade”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We met the proprietor and got a full explanation of his ingredients and methods, and sampled some product before settling on our favourites. This is a nice little local home-made ice cream shop, and worth the few bucks you drop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gasp262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great cones and shakes, limited sit down area, ice cream said to be made on site. Very friendly staff and service. Pricey but you get what you pay for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james19501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our group of four arrived five minutes after closing. The kind young man closing up took pity on us and opened so we could enjoy a special dessert. There were not too many flavors available compared to many chain stores but the quality surpassed them by far. I had simple vanilla and it was scrumptious. Everything is natural, with no additives, and it was noticeable in the taste. Make time for a visit and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Happy Cow Ice Cream and Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing