We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small rooms, small service”
Review of Snow Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snow Creek Lodge
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location, small rooms, small service”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Snow Creek Lodge is conveniently located and offers a true ski in/out experience. It is literally 20 steps from the ski lockers to the slopes. It is only a short walk from all the amenities and restaurants at the base of Fernie. For the price we paid I would have expected more from the room. Our one bedroom condo was smaller than I expected, to the point that the pictures on-line come across as misleading, there was no room to move once the couch was converted into a bed. The fireplace made such an awful noise that we couldn't use it, a couple of the electrical plugs didn't work, the kitchen cooking supplies and utensils were adequate at best. No housekeeping was provided unless you stayed 6 nights, so we had to take out our own garbage and recycling, I expect more for $400 a night. The outdoor pool and hot-tubs are a very nice touch and the kids loved that part, plus a beer in a hot-tub after a long day on the slopes is one of the best things in life. Overall, the amazing location would convince me to stay here again but they seem to use that as a crutch and don't deliver $400 a night value otherwise. I should also add that I saw a 2 bedroom unit and would certainly pay the extra dollars for one as they are much bigger in terms of actual living space.

Room Tip: Try to get on the slope side, plows on the road side are very noisy at night when it snows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowtowntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our stay at the Snow Creek Lodge was fantastic. It is really the best location on the mountain for ski in/out. The one bedroom suite was perfect for 2 adults and since we went just prior to peak season, the ski package was a very reasonable rate. There are hot tubs, a heated pool and barbecues for use by lodge guests. The heated unground parking and ski rental store within the property is a great bonus. The only draw back we found was the small TV in the room, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway. All in all we had a great stay at the Snow Creek Lodge and have recommended it to many since returning home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goochers300mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Snow Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Goochers300mag,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay in Fernie. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good time, and that our accommodations met your expectations. Your point about the TV size has been duly noted, and we will pass this on the the owner of the suite so they may consider an upgrade. As you point out, there are far more activities to enjoy in our wonderful town than just watching television! We hope to see you again soon, and appreciate your recommending us to friends and family.

Kind Regards,
Juliana Dare
Brand
Fernie Lodging Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The accomodation is old and run down. The beds have the cheapest matress available on the market. The refrigerators are so old they make a awful high pitch hum when the motor kicks in. So aweful it was really uncomfortable in the room and we couldn't sleep.

Snow Creek Lodge is NOT worth what they charge. If it was cheap you could put up with the taty fixtures, bad bed and noise. But, they charge premium ski in / out prices. We stayed all over Canada at the same price point (inc other ski resorts with ski in / out) and this accomodation was far below standard for the price it costs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Snow Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Rez76,

Firstly, my apologies for not having responded to your review sooner. We do encourage reviews of your properties, good and bad, so that we may improve for future guest satisfaction. As a result of your feedback we have encouraged each owner of the suites we manage to upgrade their mattresses and televisions, as well as other items in the units which we deem to be below our standards.

We are in the process of implementing minimum standards for properties in our rental pool, to ensure that the guest experience is not just met but exceeded. Again we appreciate your taking the time to provide us with this feedback, and look forward to you one day visiting us again.

Kind regards,
Juliana Dare
Brand
Fernie Lodging Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Genuine ski in /out - probably best on the mountain. Nicely maintained self contained room ( 1 bedroom) and of sufficient size. When booking ask for a slopeside room, which offers a good view of the resort base and training slope. Rate is marginally higher, but worth it.
Bagel outlet on ground floor offers real tasty treats.
Downtown shuttle drops off at foyer door. Shuttle cost is $3 per person each way so can add up with frequent visits to Fernie townsite. Small grocery store at village offers reasonable range, but far better to visit Outerwaitey grocery store in town - terrific store!
Very cold during our visit to Fernie but the positive is that the snow maintains its quality.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband, his sister and I spent six nights at Snow Creek Lodge - our yearly ski trip and our second visit to Fernie.
The main attraction of this hotel is its location - right on the hill. It's a classic ski in- ski out with all the advantages that this implies.
We were three people, so we booked one of the two-bedroom/ two bath condos. I chose a "valley view" unit, which was not only cheaper than the units that face the ski run, it's also quieter, because you are not overlooking the pool/hot tub area and the deck. We were on the third floor, and had a great view of Mount Fernie, and of the chairlift, which went right by our window!
The condo was clean and comfortable, with a well-equipped full kitchen, which we put to good use. We arrived rather late in the evening because of the nearly four hour drive from Calgary, but there was a pleasant woman at the front desk who checked us in and explained where everything was.
We were assigned a ski locker, and every morning we would simply take the elevator down one level, grab our skis, and walk down the outside stairs and onto the ski slope.
After a hard day of skiing, the spacious, sunny deck was a pleasure to hang out on.
Snow Creek has recently added "Big Bang Bagels" which is located on the main floor just inside from the deck. It's open for breakfast, lunch, or an apres ski beer, and the bagels, which are freshly baked, are to die for.
We would definitely return to Snow Creek Lodge. I can't think of a single negative thing to write about it. Well, come to think of it, they did say they had wifi throughout the hotel, which isn't really true. In order to connect, we had to go down to the main lounge area. But this was a vacation after all, and we are not addicted to our computer, so we didn't mind a bit.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank genevaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

3 guys had a 2 bedroom unit (1 queen, 2 singles). Just big enough but would have been tight with 4 or trying to sleep on the pull out couch. Great ski-in, ski-out location. Very, very quiet (we were there late Feb and the whole resort was dead). Nice and clean. Good bagel cafe in the lobby. Not open at night, though... you had to go to another restaurant/bar. Room had all the needed kitchen utensils.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMacToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Travelled to Fernie w/ hubby in March 2010. We had a slopeside view one-bedroom. We loved our little condo. It had a gorgeous view of the mountain and was very peaceful and quiet. Although the hotel was apparently fully booked, the whole place was quiet. We were looking down at one of the hottubs and we were never disturbed. Everything was quiet, relaxed and very mellow. They've opened a bagel cafe in the lobby, so we would wander down and pick up a coffee & bagel & eat on our balcony looking at the sun-filled slopes. Fernie is a magical, peaceful place - we would go back and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
309 reviews
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Creek Lodge

Property: Snow Creek Lodge
Address: 5258 Highline Dr, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snow Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow Creek Lodge and Cabins by Fernie Lodging Company - nothing beats being on mountain near the legendary powder skiing and snowboarding of Fernie Alpine Resort. Snow Creek Lodge & Cabins offers ski in ski out accommodation that ranges from studios to 2 bedroom suites as well as 3 private log cabins sleeping up to 8 guests. The most convenient Fernie rental accommodation, these properties put you close to the best of Fernie Alpine Resort in all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Snow Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Creek Lodge And Cabins Hotel Fernie
Snow Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing