We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snow Creek Lodge
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband, his sister and I spent six nights at Snow Creek Lodge - our yearly ski trip and our second visit to Fernie.
The main attraction of this hotel is its location - right on the hill. It's a classic ski in- ski out with all the advantages that this implies.
We were three people, so we booked one of the two-bedroom/ two bath condos. I chose a "valley view" unit, which was not only cheaper than the units that face the ski run, it's also quieter, because you are not overlooking the pool/hot tub area and the deck. We were on the third floor, and had a great view of Mount Fernie, and of the chairlift, which went right by our window!
The condo was clean and comfortable, with a well-equipped full kitchen, which we put to good use. We arrived rather late in the evening because of the nearly four hour drive from Calgary, but there was a pleasant woman at the front desk who checked us in and explained where everything was.
We were assigned a ski locker, and every morning we would simply take the elevator down one level, grab our skis, and walk down the outside stairs and onto the ski slope.
After a hard day of skiing, the spacious, sunny deck was a pleasure to hang out on.
Snow Creek has recently added "Big Bang Bagels" which is located on the main floor just inside from the deck. It's open for breakfast, lunch, or an apres ski beer, and the bagels, which are freshly baked, are to die for.
We would definitely return to Snow Creek Lodge. I can't think of a single negative thing to write about it. Well, come to think of it, they did say they had wifi throughout the hotel, which isn't really true. In order to connect, we had to go down to the main lounge area. But this was a vacation after all, and we are not addicted to our computer, so we didn't mind a bit.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank genevaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

3 guys had a 2 bedroom unit (1 queen, 2 singles). Just big enough but would have been tight with 4 or trying to sleep on the pull out couch. Great ski-in, ski-out location. Very, very quiet (we were there late Feb and the whole resort was dead). Nice and clean. Good bagel cafe in the lobby. Not open at night, though... you had to go to another restaurant/bar. Room had all the needed kitchen utensils.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMacToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Travelled to Fernie w/ hubby in March 2010. We had a slopeside view one-bedroom. We loved our little condo. It had a gorgeous view of the mountain and was very peaceful and quiet. Although the hotel was apparently fully booked, the whole place was quiet. We were looking down at one of the hottubs and we were never disturbed. Everything was quiet, relaxed and very mellow. They've opened a bagel cafe in the lobby, so we would wander down and pick up a coffee & bagel & eat on our balcony looking at the sun-filled slopes. Fernie is a magical, peaceful place - we would go back and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

My wife and I plus her brother and wife shared a 2 bedroomed apartment in January 2010. I completely recommend this place; it's probably the only hotel that you really can ski out of to all the lifts without walking and ski back into. Staff were great, friendly and accommodating.
Rooms were very comfortable with all you would need for a 10 day skiing holiday. Not luxurious but very comfortable. The room without ensuite possibly could have had a bit more hanging space but it was not an issue.
Two small issues: free wireless wifi is available all over but you can only get a really good signal in the lobby. I was loaned a cable to connect to their cable system in the room.......but the general speed of the connection was very poor when everyone came back from skiing. Best to use when everyone had gone to bed or before they woke up!
We had a room overlooking the slopes (nice view) but that meant that it also overlooked the pool and hot tub. At the weekend (Friday and Saturday) these were used well into the early hours and it was very, very noisy. My suggestion would be, if you want peace and quiet, get a room at the front. The view is OK but I'm sure it would be quieter. Also the rooms facing the slopes get all the sun (when there is some!) and they can get very hot and stuffy.

Having said all that we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

I stayed at Snow Creek Lodge with my family during the summer, after having stayed there for a ski-ing trip in the Winter. It was great both times! The rooms are well-equipped with decent kitchens, beds, bathrooms, balcony and enough space for us and young kids. The outdoor pool and hot tubs are handy and spacious. The location on the ski resort means it's quiet in the Summer, except for the mountain bikers in the day. But we liked that kind of thing. Nice walks up the mountains in the Summer, tennis courts to use..

Our Winter trip was good too. Again, a great location for getting to the snow - a true ski-in, ski-out location. Excellent snow! The room we had was facing the ski slopes, which seem to be the best ones as you get a good view of the mountain and sunshine too.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99flake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

The Snow Creek is located in the Fernie Alpine Resort (FAR), this means it is sited where the ski slopes are and NOT in the town 4km away. In fact this is a ski-in/out location, which could not be better, you will be first out there!
If you are concerned with going into town at night or day there is a regular bus service, after 6pm it comes right to the door, so don't worry about that.
We had a suite on the 4th (top) floor, it had 2 bedrooms (1 en-suite), bathroom, fully stocked kitchen, tv, video, cd player, getto blaster....like a home from home. Elsewhere there are 2 communal hot-tubs and a small heated swimming pool. Given that it was often -10 or lower, the pool never got used. There is also a small gym, with decent equipment. The staff are excellent, without exception. There is free internet in the cafe (or wirelessly if you have a laptop). The hotel does not offer meals after 6pm, there is a cafe open from breakfast to 6pm which serves soups,wraps,wings,nachos etc- all very good and nicely priced. You can get beer too.
There is a small supermarket a 5 min walk away (out the backdoor and across the nursery slope).
We met some real nice people too- some were owners as this is a kind of timeshare.
I would suggest this hotel would only be beaten by the Lizard Creek in the FAR.
If travelling into town, get the Looney Bus- a buck a ride, the reception will give you a timetable- the drivers are very accomodating.
You can't fail to enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — Superb location for skiing
  • Disliked — Possibly a little low on atmosphere- but it was low season
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr Steve-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

We had a wonderful time at Snowcreek. Rooms were large and very nice, (bed a bit too hard for my taste). Great kitchens and great common areas (large main fireplace and nice pools/hottubs). Lots of people think this is one of the best places to stay at for skiing and I can sure see why!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Creek Lodge

Property: Snow Creek Lodge
Address: 5258 Highline Dr, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snow Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow Creek Lodge and Cabins by Fernie Lodging Company - nothing beats being on mountain near the legendary powder skiing and snowboarding of Fernie Alpine Resort. Snow Creek Lodge & Cabins offers ski in ski out accommodation that ranges from studios to 2 bedroom suites as well as 3 private log cabins sleeping up to 8 guests. The most convenient Fernie rental accommodation, these properties put you close to the best of Fernie Alpine Resort in all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Snow Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Creek Lodge And Cabins Hotel Fernie
Snow Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing