We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Escape”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Escape”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were very impressed with Park Place Lodge. Stayed there for 3 nights for a ski trip. Spacious room, comfortable bed, and nice decore. the staff were so friendly and nice - and the attached restaurant is delicious and great for a date night. they also gave us a box of (delicious) chocolates as a holiday gift ... it was a really sweet touch!

It is so close to the ski resort - and much more economical than staying right on the resort. You can even cook meals with the small in room kitchenette.

We will for sure be back.

Room Tip: Third floor is key - the first and second open to the pool so the third floor gives you a bit more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_Pilarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Christina,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled you had such a good time and enjoyed the amenities that the Park Place Lodge has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    59
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
35
48
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The room was pretty good, everything a usual hotel room has. Our room was right outside the pool and it got noisy at times, which was a bit frustrating when we were trying to go to sleep early after a big day of skiing, but not a huge drama.

The fire alarm went off at 3am in the middle of the night, but everything was fine. It happens, nothing you can do about it.

The walls are thin and you can hear conversations from the rooms around you. But if you are just looking for a place to sleep after a day of skiing it's pretty good.

The Pub on site is awesome and there is a liquor store there too, and it's only a couple of blocks from town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Joolery,
Thank you so much for choosing the Park Place Lodge during your recent visit to Fernie and for taking the time to review your stay. Our apologies for the noisy disturbances during your stay, I hope you were able to get enough rest. We are pleased you enjoyed the onsite Pub & Beer Store. We very much look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Roads were bad, we had been driving into the night. We had no reservation but they shuffled things around and made us comfortable. There check out is noon but they offered us a late check out for 130 which we found amazing.
The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I wish we had, had more time to utilize the pool and spa facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mornings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Mornings1,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to accommodate you on a stormy evening. It is always our pleasure to be able to accommodate a late check out if required. We look forward to you visiting us again, hopefully with enough time to enjoy the pool and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We did a quick stop for one night as part of our honeymoon two weeks ago. It was very clean and had an updated, modern feel to it. The rooms were vary spacious and we loved the complimentary soaps and shampoo- they were divine! I loved that the rooms surrounded the pool and hot tub area, made it very accessible to take a quick dip. We had a chance to dine at the Pub and have a few drinks as well, which was very convenient as it is attached to the hotel. All around really great stay, I will be staying here again when we visit Fernie!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ash T
Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge. It is always wonderful to hear our guests are able to enjoy so many of the amenities we have to offer, especially during such a short stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar BC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you are going to welcome hockey teams into your hotel, then expect kids to be there! Also, we are responsible adults in our 30's and 40's who don't appreciate being told to go to our rooms when we are paying customers! We understand there is quiet time, which we all can appreciate, but there is a right and a wrong way of telling your paying customers to "GO TO BED!" The wrong way is when you tell customers that they are being too loud and disrespectful and to go to bed or you are calling the cops! The hotel was full of hockey teams and you should expect a little team bonding to occur!

If you want a good time as a family or with a team, DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!

You can be sure that those involved with OUR Minor Hockey club will be choosing ANY other hotel over yours in the future!

And PS, the hot tub water is brown!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear mlferris

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations.

With respect to your concern about our hotel policies, I think it is fair to share with you and our TripAdvisor viewers what our policies are. We simply ask sport teams staying at the hotel to respect the same policies that all guests are expected to adhere to. These include:

- No excessive noise in guest rooms or public areas.
- No consumption of alcohol in public, un-licensed areas including the lobby, pool and atrium.
- Should the hotel receive a complaint from other guests regarding a guest’s behavior, our staff will advise the guest of the complaint. If there is a second complaint made, the guest will be asked to leave the premises.

As a courtesy, these policies are communicated to all groups prior to check-in, at check-in and, if necessary, during their stay. In this particular incident, the policy was communicated to members of your group a number of times during the night in question. It is unfortunate that you do not approve of our hotel policies but in order for us to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay, we are obligated to enforce such policies.

Your concerns regarding our staff communications and the hot tub condition have been shared with our guest services staff and maintenance team. Steps have already been taken address these items.

Once again thank you for your input. We strive to operate a facility where all guests, including sports teams, will have an enjoyable stay. We will use your feedback to help ensure guests have a positive experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

There was a nice valued place to stay that was a short drive from the mountain. Stayed for two nights in March. All the staff were super friendly and the room was nice and clean. Stay on the backside of the hotel on the top floor as it is quieter. The rooms are away from the main street and the 1 st and 2nd floor rooms have doorways that overlook the pool area. Had an LCD TV and a comfy bed. If you're looking for some good eats, check out the pub in the hotel. Found that little gem our second night there. Good food, even better atmosphere. Plus they were having Trivia night. It was a blast. The liquor store there also had a really good wine selection.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top (3rd) floor on the backside. It's quieter in those rooms plus the hall do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear jreuto,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and comfortable. The Pub Bar & Grill hosts Trivia weekly if you are interested in entering during your next visit! Our Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop proudly stocks over 350 different wines to satisfy any palette, we hope you found something you enjoyed. Thank you once again, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here last weekend on a fishing trip. The Lodge is well located, modern and well appointed. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, as we arrived late. Our room was clean, with 2 queen beds, good closet and storage space, large TV, well equipped bathroom, coffee maker and small fridge. It also had real glasses-not plastic! The room was quiet, the staff very pleasant and helpful, and we will stay here again on our next trip to Fernie.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlew1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Curlew1978,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Whether it is a simple overnight stay or an extended stay, we want every guest to feel as though we are their home away from home, and we believe it is the small things (like glass’) that can make all the difference. We look forward to your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
143 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Property: Park Place Lodge
Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing