We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, will definitely be back!”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights last week (17/Feb-21/Feb) and really enjoyed our time here. The rooms were spacious and had very comfortable beds. Special thanks to Guy, the man who works at the front desk who went out of his way several times to ensure we had a great stay. We all really appreciated it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear SunnyPerth2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Guy is a fabulous part of our guest services team; we will share your kind words with him. We look forward to your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were in Fernie to ski, of course. This hotel is about a 5-7 minute drive to the hill and its location, in town, was much better for us than staying at the hill. The PPL is walking distance to everywhere and there are lots of restos to choose from. Liquor store in the hotel, walk to groceries, convenient fueling and close to shops and 'the strip. The place was very quiet and clean. Our room was comfortable, had a small balcony and was great for our purposes.

Here's the quirky. The room had a small fridge and microwave. There were two place settings of plates, glasses, cups and utensils. No dish soap. No sink but the bathroom. No tea towels, no dish cloth. Hmm.The single cup coffee maker was not sufficient. We usually travel with some Starbucks VIAs as back up. We called and asked if could get a kettle and they asked us to use the microwave to heat water. Ok. We asked if we could get a toaster and they told us their toaster had already been loaned out to a guest. Not sure if the strategy is to encourage people to use the in house restos but we never did eat there. The 'kitchenette' was obviously an after thought but we weren't really sure what to make of it. We were glad to have the amenities we did but with a couple of more steps and it would have been better.

Having stayed here, we would stay again knowing what we know now. We would just come better prepared. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we liked the clean, quiet hotel. Pool and hot tub were also great. I would recommend the PPL just come prepared if you want to be able to have some snacks in your room.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies looking out over the main street. Others also have balconies overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skislave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Skislave,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge. We are sorry you did not find the amenities in your room to be all you required. We have increased our inventory on kettles and toasters so that they are more readily available and we will be updating our room guides to more clearly inform guests that there are additional items available for the rooms upon request and that dishes can be replaced through housekeeping or guest services as there is no space to wash them yourself. We do also have kitchenette units available on our third floor that feature larger fridge, cook top, larger sink and all the amenities required to cater for yourself. We are pleased you enjoyed our other in-house amenities and central location. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Very helpful staff, pool can be opened at anytime of the day. Room was comfortable, had a really large balcony which would be very nice in warmer weather. There was a microwave and small fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skfc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Skfc4,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just call in for a night at Fernie and was extremely happy with our stay at Park Place lodge. Fantastic customer service and great rooms. Prices were reasonable for the time of the year with our stay. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhysendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Rhysendo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge and for your gracious comments. We have shared your wonderful experience with our staff who is equally thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the Park Place Lodge weekend of Feb, 8 & 9. Fabulous hotel, very clean rooms which is #1 to me. Beds were very spacious and comfy! Front desk staff were very accommodating with any requests. Also ordered room service and the food was awesome!! Will definitely stay here again. Thanks Park Place!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you Selina621! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Park Place Lodge. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in ensuring each room is cleaned immaculately for each guest’s enjoyment and our guest services team endeavours to accommodate every request. Our food and beverage team is equally delighted you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Park Place Lodge is a great hotel....stayed here for the first time over the recent family day long weekend, very impressed by everything, our room was clean and well located for our family, the Max Restaurant served amazing and delicious food, the servers were very friendly, attentive and great with our children. Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Sarah D,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay. We are delighted we met all of your expectations from accommodations to food and beverage. We have shared your comments with the staff and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Clean, big and quiet rooms. We stayed there 4 nights in January, mostly because we had a discount with FWA(Fernie Wilderness Adventures). Only negative was the dinette: no wine or beer opener, no toaster and witha cheap and bad 1 cup coffee machine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Masoub,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge. We are sorry you did not find the amenities in your room to be all you required. The items you were requiring are however available through our guest services and we will be updating our room guides to more clearly inform guests that there are additional items available for the rooms upon request. We are pleased you enjoyed our large quiet rooms and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
150 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £86 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing