We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here recently for a small conference. Our room was nice and comfortable, the carpet was new and the room included a desk, small table with two chairs and "kitchen" area with a small fridge and a few dishes. The hotel is built around a central courtyard and most rooms have large windows and entrances that look in on the courtyard. Our room had a small outside window that let in some natural light.

The courtyard had sitting areas, a hot tub and a typical small hotel pool. The pool was nice and clean and the hot tub was nice after a day of skiing.

Our biggest complaint would be the noise. The rooms all have large single pane sliding windows and the main entrance facing the courtyard. The roof is structural steel, any sound is amplified not dampened. Even when people were speaking in a normal voice we could hear them easily in our room. When some people came back to the hotel late at night or early in the morning we certainly knew about it.

Only the first and second floors look into the courtyard area. There is a third floor that is separated by walls and windows and they look outward. Some of them have balconies. I'm guessing that they are the premium rooms and that they are much quieter.

I would stay here again but only if I could book a third floor room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Hydehaven,
Thank you so much for choosing the Park Place Lodge during your recent visit to Fernie and for taking the time to review your stay. Our apologies for the noisy disturbances during your stay, I hope you were able to get enough rest. We are continually doing upgrades to our property and guest feedback on likes and dislikes helps us to prioritize these projects. There are similar room types available on the third floor for the same price when making your next reservation request a third floor room. We very much look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This would rate an excellent save for two things - no real "lounge" to relax and read, all chairs etc in busy throughways areas and the internet required constant logging in as you moved around hotel or just dropped out every 30 mins or so. BUT the rooms were great, very big, great beds and well maintained by excellent room service staff who attended to every request as did the front desk staff. The gym is small, functional but open 24 hours. Having a friendly and lively "Pub" attached to the Lodge was a real bonus and we ate there several nights mixing with locals. Plus on Hockey nights they sell discounted tickets with a meal. Go the hockey to see small Canadian town socialising and enjoying themselves - good fun.

From booking several weeks before our trip to checking out, the staff here were faultless: attentive, friendly, knowledgable and promptly did what they said they would. Buy lift tickets at front desk for 20% discount and shuttle picks up at back door, plus hitch hiking spot is about 600m away.

Good breakfast with excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel so you can see the beautiful mountains as you wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenagersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear TeenagersDad,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and comfortable, the staff flawless, and that you appreciated the ease of lift purchases and shuttle services. We have a fantastic junior hockey team and it is an honour to be a proud supporter, so glad to hear you enjoyed the game. Thank you once again, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights last week (17/Feb-21/Feb) and really enjoyed our time here. The rooms were spacious and had very comfortable beds. Special thanks to Guy, the man who works at the front desk who went out of his way several times to ensure we had a great stay. We all really appreciated it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear SunnyPerth2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Guy is a fabulous part of our guest services team; we will share your kind words with him. We look forward to your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were in Fernie to ski, of course. This hotel is about a 5-7 minute drive to the hill and its location, in town, was much better for us than staying at the hill. The PPL is walking distance to everywhere and there are lots of restos to choose from. Liquor store in the hotel, walk to groceries, convenient fueling and close to shops and 'the strip. The place was very quiet and clean. Our room was comfortable, had a small balcony and was great for our purposes.

Here's the quirky. The room had a small fridge and microwave. There were two place settings of plates, glasses, cups and utensils. No dish soap. No sink but the bathroom. No tea towels, no dish cloth. Hmm.The single cup coffee maker was not sufficient. We usually travel with some Starbucks VIAs as back up. We called and asked if could get a kettle and they asked us to use the microwave to heat water. Ok. We asked if we could get a toaster and they told us their toaster had already been loaned out to a guest. Not sure if the strategy is to encourage people to use the in house restos but we never did eat there. The 'kitchenette' was obviously an after thought but we weren't really sure what to make of it. We were glad to have the amenities we did but with a couple of more steps and it would have been better.

Having stayed here, we would stay again knowing what we know now. We would just come better prepared. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we liked the clean, quiet hotel. Pool and hot tub were also great. I would recommend the PPL just come prepared if you want to be able to have some snacks in your room.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies looking out over the main street. Others also have balconies overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skislave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Skislave,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge. We are sorry you did not find the amenities in your room to be all you required. We have increased our inventory on kettles and toasters so that they are more readily available and we will be updating our room guides to more clearly inform guests that there are additional items available for the rooms upon request and that dishes can be replaced through housekeeping or guest services as there is no space to wash them yourself. We do also have kitchenette units available on our third floor that feature larger fridge, cook top, larger sink and all the amenities required to cater for yourself. We are pleased you enjoyed our other in-house amenities and central location. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Very helpful staff, pool can be opened at anytime of the day. Room was comfortable, had a really large balcony which would be very nice in warmer weather. There was a microwave and small fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skfc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Skfc4,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just call in for a night at Fernie and was extremely happy with our stay at Park Place lodge. Fantastic customer service and great rooms. Prices were reasonable for the time of the year with our stay. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhysendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Rhysendo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge and for your gracious comments. We have shared your wonderful experience with our staff who is equally thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the Park Place Lodge weekend of Feb, 8 & 9. Fabulous hotel, very clean rooms which is #1 to me. Beds were very spacious and comfy! Front desk staff were very accommodating with any requests. Also ordered room service and the food was awesome!! Will definitely stay here again. Thanks Park Place!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you Selina621! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Park Place Lodge. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in ensuring each room is cleaned immaculately for each guest’s enjoyment and our guest services team endeavours to accommodate every request. Our food and beverage team is equally delighted you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
149 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £100 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing