We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Place Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Fernie(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Valley Motel(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lizard Creek Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder Mountain Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
84
64
19
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
64
19
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publiquor storepool and hot tubin townmax restaurantgrab and goadjoining doorcentral atriumquick dipgreen carpetstandard sizeall rounderice rinkwalking distanceski hillcurry bowltiny balcony
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Decided to stay at park place lodge in Fernie.. Loved the rooms, they had everything you needed; from pillow top beds to a play station and a balcony. You could tell it was an older hotel- but still nice never the less. Unfortunately the day we checked in we never made it to the pool, and planned on going in the morning. I called front desk at 8:30 and the lady said no, that we're not allowed till 10:30 (due to voices echoing in the lobby). I am pretty sure my husband and I aren't going to be 'that' loud. The sign clearly states 10:00am. Very disappointing considering checkout is at 11:00am.
Looking on their website they indicate for each room; complimentary newspaper, complimentary use of ski-equipment lockers, and complimentary welcome basket. My husband inquired about the basket and was told it's an add on for an additional charge $$$. Where is the complimentary in that? I'm sorry; but if your promoting it, honour it.
Also if you stay here, make sure your not in a room right above the liquor store. Being a Saturday night..there was a lot of noise.
I really wanted to love this hotel and give it a good review!! But unfortunately front desk employees are not helpful, they do not honour what they advertise and there is quite the noise level. I would recommend the Stanford Inn. Super friendly staff, deluxe continental breakfast (don't worry..free of charge like they advertise) and the pool opens an 7:00am. I feel here you get more bang for your buck and much better quality!
We travel quite a bit; we appreciate and value good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Rachelle D,
We are sorry to hear your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge did not meet your expectations. We have immediately reviewed your comments with our staff and refreshed training with regard to the inaccurate information you were given so that future guests will not be misinformed as you clearly were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

seven night stay at the ppl. best feature for our group of seven was the pub. I know there are good places to eat in Fernie and we tried the Curry spot across the street but we ended up eating all of our dinners at the Pub in ppl. The chef is good and the prices are very reasonable. We usually went with the special on most nights and weren't disappointed. And oh yes, the powder on the hill was magnificent!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are a bit noisier.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear David C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge and Pub Bar & Grill. We are thrilled you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed our chef’s daily creations. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were on our way back to Medicine Hat from the Tool concert in Spokane when the weather turned ugly. Because of this unexpected delay and the time of night, I wasn't too keen to spend much on a hotel. I popped in here to check prices, and was greeted by the very friendly and pleasant front desk clerk "Jean".

Because of ski season, it was a bit more than I wanted to spend on a room for what was to be essentially a long nap. But Jean was able to give us a bit of a discount, and convince me to stay.

The rooms were VERY clean, although a bit dated. The beds were on the hard side (if you like that, I prefer a softer mattress). The fan/air exchange didn't work (or at least made a very loud, squealing noise), but I was too tired to complain, and we were just going to use it for a little background white noise anyway.

Pro's: Friendly staff, clean rooms and centrally located
Con's: Dated rooms, fan didnt work

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Richard M,
Thank you so much for choosing the Park Place Lodge during your recent visit to Fernie and for taking the time to review your stay. We equally agree that Jean is very friendly and pleasant; we are thrilled to have her as part of our team. Our apologies for the noisy disturbances during your stay, I hope you were able to get enough rest. We are continually doing upgrades to our property and guest feedback on likes and dislikes helps us to prioritize these projects. We very much look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here recently for a small conference. Our room was nice and comfortable, the carpet was new and the room included a desk, small table with two chairs and "kitchen" area with a small fridge and a few dishes. The hotel is built around a central courtyard and most rooms have large windows and entrances that look in on the courtyard. Our room had a small outside window that let in some natural light.

The courtyard had sitting areas, a hot tub and a typical small hotel pool. The pool was nice and clean and the hot tub was nice after a day of skiing.

Our biggest complaint would be the noise. The rooms all have large single pane sliding windows and the main entrance facing the courtyard. The roof is structural steel, any sound is amplified not dampened. Even when people were speaking in a normal voice we could hear them easily in our room. When some people came back to the hotel late at night or early in the morning we certainly knew about it.

Only the first and second floors look into the courtyard area. There is a third floor that is separated by walls and windows and they look outward. Some of them have balconies. I'm guessing that they are the premium rooms and that they are much quieter.

I would stay here again but only if I could book a third floor room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Hydehaven,
Thank you so much for choosing the Park Place Lodge during your recent visit to Fernie and for taking the time to review your stay. Our apologies for the noisy disturbances during your stay, I hope you were able to get enough rest. We are continually doing upgrades to our property and guest feedback on likes and dislikes helps us to prioritize these projects. There are similar room types available on the third floor for the same price when making your next reservation request a third floor room. We very much look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This would rate an excellent save for two things - no real "lounge" to relax and read, all chairs etc in busy throughways areas and the internet required constant logging in as you moved around hotel or just dropped out every 30 mins or so. BUT the rooms were great, very big, great beds and well maintained by excellent room service staff who attended to every request as did the front desk staff. The gym is small, functional but open 24 hours. Having a friendly and lively "Pub" attached to the Lodge was a real bonus and we ate there several nights mixing with locals. Plus on Hockey nights they sell discounted tickets with a meal. Go the hockey to see small Canadian town socialising and enjoying themselves - good fun.

From booking several weeks before our trip to checking out, the staff here were faultless: attentive, friendly, knowledgable and promptly did what they said they would. Buy lift tickets at front desk for 20% discount and shuttle picks up at back door, plus hitch hiking spot is about 600m away.

Good breakfast with excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel so you can see the beautiful mountains as you wake up.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenagersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear TeenagersDad,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and comfortable, the staff flawless, and that you appreciated the ease of lift purchases and shuttle services. We have a fantastic junior hockey team and it is an honour to be a proud supporter, so glad to hear you enjoyed the game. Thank you once again, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews