We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful view no matter where you look from the inside of the hotel to the outside”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful view no matter where you look from the inside of the hotel to the outside”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The atmosphere at the hotel is relaxing. With the spa like setting of the pool, hot tub and sauna. The friendly staff is very welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

When you walk out if the hotel, the spectacular view of the 360 degrees of mountain is breath taking first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeneyesgirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Greeneyesgirl1967,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the breath taking views from the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    59
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
35
48
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Invermere, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

first off when we arrived a little late and there was a mix up with our room, we were upgraded to the luxury sweet. The front desk staff was professional yet fun and made us feel welcome and taken care of.
The room was fantastic. Large claw foot tub and separate shower, king size bed, dining area and living room. What a great surprise that was. Also impeccably clean and really comfortable.
After a late dinner at the sushi house across the street, we came back and had a night cap in the pub. friendly staff and locals ended off our experience perfectly. no waits for our drinks and food was available if we needed.
Overall a great experience and the price was right. I'll be staying there on every ski trip to Fernie from now on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cory p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Cory P,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade and that the guest services agents were able to accommodate an alternative. Our Pub Bar & Grill is enjoyed by locals and travelers' alike, we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and have shared your accolades with the staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our first stay in Fernie and, with 2 young kids, we usually like a pool. There was a workout room, a pool, a hottub, a cold beer and wine store, a pub, and a restaurant all in one place! You really could NOT ask for more! The service in any department of Park Place Lodge was exceptional! Everyone was super friendly and helpful ! Customer service at it's peak!

Room Tip: I think any room you choose, you'd win!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Kimberlee B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer. We will pass your wonderful comments along to the staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. There's a bar,a liquor store, a pool, a cat skiing operation in the hotel and such friendly staff. The food was good and it's a close walk to town. I've stayed at four seasons all over the world and have to say the service is on par.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msteinbe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Msteinbe10,
Thank you so much for your kind word and reviewing our property, we will share them with our staff. We are pleased you appreciated all of the amenities our hotel offers, including the close proximity to our beautiful downtown. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge AB
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Decided to stay at park place lodge in Fernie.. Loved the rooms, they had everything you needed; from pillow top beds to a play station and a balcony. You could tell it was an older hotel- but still nice never the less. Unfortunately the day we checked in we never made it to the pool, and planned on going in the morning. I called front desk at 8:30 and the lady said no, that we're not allowed till 10:30 (due to voices echoing in the lobby). I am pretty sure my husband and I aren't going to be 'that' loud. The sign clearly states 10:00am. Very disappointing considering checkout is at 11:00am.
Looking on their website they indicate for each room; complimentary newspaper, complimentary use of ski-equipment lockers, and complimentary welcome basket. My husband inquired about the basket and was told it's an add on for an additional charge $$$. Where is the complimentary in that? I'm sorry; but if your promoting it, honour it.
Also if you stay here, make sure your not in a room right above the liquor store. Being a Saturday night..there was a lot of noise.
I really wanted to love this hotel and give it a good review!! But unfortunately front desk employees are not helpful, they do not honour what they advertise and there is quite the noise level. I would recommend the Stanford Inn. Super friendly staff, deluxe continental breakfast (don't worry..free of charge like they advertise) and the pool opens an 7:00am. I feel here you get more bang for your buck and much better quality!
We travel quite a bit; we appreciate and value good quality.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Rachelle D,
We are sorry to hear your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge did not meet your expectations. We have immediately reviewed your comments with our staff and refreshed training with regard to the inaccurate information you were given so that future guests will not be misinformed as you clearly were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

seven night stay at the ppl. best feature for our group of seven was the pub. I know there are good places to eat in Fernie and we tried the Curry spot across the street but we ended up eating all of our dinners at the Pub in ppl. The chef is good and the prices are very reasonable. We usually went with the special on most nights and weren't disappointed. And oh yes, the powder on the hill was magnificent!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear David C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge and Pub Bar & Grill. We are thrilled you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed our chef’s daily creations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were on our way back to Medicine Hat from the Tool concert in Spokane when the weather turned ugly. Because of this unexpected delay and the time of night, I wasn't too keen to spend much on a hotel. I popped in here to check prices, and was greeted by the very friendly and pleasant front desk clerk "Jean".

Because of ski season, it was a bit more than I wanted to spend on a room for what was to be essentially a long nap. But Jean was able to give us a bit of a discount, and convince me to stay.

The rooms were VERY clean, although a bit dated. The beds were on the hard side (if you like that, I prefer a softer mattress). The fan/air exchange didn't work (or at least made a very loud, squealing noise), but I was too tired to complain, and we were just going to use it for a little background white noise anyway.

Pro's: Friendly staff, clean rooms and centrally located
Con's: Dated rooms, fan didnt work

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Richard M,
Thank you so much for choosing the Park Place Lodge during your recent visit to Fernie and for taking the time to review your stay. We equally agree that Jean is very friendly and pleasant; we are thrilled to have her as part of our team. Our apologies for the noisy disturbances during your stay, I hope you were able to get enough rest. We are continually doing upgrades to our property and guest feedback on likes and dislikes helps us to prioritize these projects. We very much look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
143 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Property: Park Place Lodge
Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing