We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait To Go Back”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The company I work for uses this hotel for all of our ski weekend in Fernie. Park Place Lodge has been nothing but great. I enjoy the venue, the service, the close proximity to the ski hill and the pub attached. Always a great time. Sheila and Tina are fantastic to work with. Highly recommended this resort for any Fernie trips

I would hate to say anything negative but in the sake of being honest, they do host a lot of wild guests so if you are looking for a quiet resort I would give them a shout first to see what group they have at the same time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdee324234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Dear sdee324234:

Thank you very much for your recent review of our lodge and staff. We are pleased that you would recommend us and we look forward to being of service when your company comes to visit us again. With regard to the comment about wild guests, we would like to assure that this is not something we encourage; however there are certainly occasions when exuberant visitors to Fernie stay with us. When such situations should arise we make every effort to ensure that our staff and security seek to control the high spirits of guests without taking the fun out of a visit to Fernie. We also try very hard to ensure that large room blocks are kept away from our long term independent traveller's and when possible seek to advise any guests who might become inconvenienced to notify us immediately so that we can take action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2011

I have stayed at Park Place Lodge almost once a month while on business for over ten years now. The longevity of my loyalty to this hotel should be an immediate indicator that this is an excellent place to stay. Rooms are clean, spacious and well-equipped: WiFi, excellent beds, and every room has a fridge, microwave and dishes if you want to make your own breakfast and lunch - perfect for those in Fernie to ski. The restuarant and pub also offer excellent food at good prices, regular feature items, and good service. Avoid a room located over the pub if you are looking for a good night sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskeypimp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Dear Whiskypimp 13:

We are very pleased to see that you have been a return guest for 10 years. Repeat visitors is what our guest services team strives to achieve. We thank you for your comments regarding our facilities and our staff and we look forward to your continued visits to our Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Park Place Lodge for a fortnight's snowboarding holiday at the beginning of January 2011.

The hotel is located in Fernie town, which is approximately 15 minutes away from the ski hill by shuttle bus. It is very close to some great restaurants (The Curry Bowl, Cincott Farms) and about 10 minutes walk from downtown Fernie. There is also a great snowboarding shop (The Edge of the World) about 2 minutes walk away from the back of the hotel.

On site there is a pub, a smarter restaurant and an off licence which sells some great BC wines and soft drinks. The hotel also has a pool and a hot tub which was great after a day in all the famous Fernie powder! We booked our trip as part of a package holiday with Crystal Ski and we requested a king room at the time of booking which we were upgraded to at no extra charge. The room itself was large with a balcony and the bed was enormous and very comfortable. We also had a bathroom with a bath and shower, a kitchenette with a microwave, coffee maker and fridge. There was plenty of space for all of our belongings - it certainly didn't feel too cramped for a two week stay.

The hotel was very quiet and peaceful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, there were no downsides whatsoever, although I am glad that they were able to get us into the king room because it was on the card access only 3rd floor and was very quiet away from the pub and the main reception of the hotel, which also houses the swimming pool and hot tub, most of the rooms appeared to open out onto this area and although I'm sure they were perfectly nice, there was quite a strong smell of chlorine in reception from time to time!

The pub was a nice, lively place to hang out and the food was very good, as a vegetarian I was not short of options, which is always nice!

There is a shuttle bus that goes once an hour up to the ski hill which costs $3 per person each way - this leaves from the back of the hotel by the off licence, not the front (as we found out when we missed it on the first day!) The hotel is about the 3rd to last stop and the bus varies in size but we were never not able to get a seat, although it was fairly quiet while we were there.

I would definitely recommend the Park Place Lodge, the location suited us as it was nice to have access to the town's facilities in the evenings, yet still be able to get to the slopes really easily. There are a few hotels and restaurants in the ski resort itself but I would imagine after two weeks it might get a little repetitive in terms of apres ski.

Snowboarding in Fernie was fantastic, it just seemed to snow all the time. The resort did get a little busier at the weekends but there was never a queue for any of the lifts and the pistes are so wide and there are so many of them that there was more than enough room for everyone - nothing at all like the clamour you get when you go to Europe.

It was a really great holiday all around, if I had to criticise anything I would say that Fernie is a little too quiet for my taste but my boyfriend absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julier2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Dear Julier2004:

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit to the Park Place Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed all our facilities and the many other amenities offered in Fernie. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our guest services team. We are very happy to see that you would recommend our Lodge and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I stayed with my Teenage Daughter during the Holiday Season. I must say the quality and cleanliness of the rooms and ammenities were excellent. The Staff always greeted us with smiles, and were very helpful with all request.

It was very enjoyable to return to the Hotel and relax in the Hot Tub, which was very clean and well maintained.

I would also thank Donna for ensuring our reservations were taken care of.

The restaurant was also excellent, with a wide variety of menu items.

We loved our stay and will return, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoJoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Dear Mr. LoJoll:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Park Place Lodge. We are very happy to see that you are a return visitor and that you were
very happy with your accommodations and all the facilities within the hotel.

Thank you for your generous comments regarding our staff and we are glad to see that
you hope to visit us again in the future.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Very well located in the center of Fernie on the downtown side of the highway which makes it easy and quick to get around to places. Across the street is a park and there is good access of Fernie's very nice walking trails. The room was only okay, a disappointment from what I was expecting - drab linens and not very clean overall. The lodge atmosphere is nice however, and I did enjoy having a balcony on the front side with a nice mountain view and the interesting highway view...no noticeable noise with the door closed. Great on site services with restaurant, pub, beer and wine store, pool, hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

Dear goner1:

Thank you for your review of the Park Place Lodge. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our facilities and our Central Location and that you would recommend our Lodge. We are sorry that you felt the accommodations were disappointing and your comments have been forwarded to our housekeeping department. We do seek to avoid
complaints about our cleanliness by following a duplicate check list and would like to
apologize for what seems in this incident a failure to meet the standards we seek to achieve.

We look forward to your future visits to the Park Place Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Wonderful location for saunters about town with 360 degree view of the Rockies. Centrally situated interior pool and hot tub were fun and relaxing. Indeed I enjoyed two great nights and days at the Lodge in beautiful Fernie. While not my first stay with the Lodge it certainly will not be my last. Thanks for the great hospitality. Victoria, BC

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandrin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Wandrin1:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge. We are very happy to see that you enjoy our Lodge and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have visited Park Place Lodge in the past and will again in the future. I find that all of the facilities are A-1. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, quiet, and relaxing; the pool is great and the kids really enjoy it. The location of it being central to the rooms makes access and supervision just perfect. The food services are great and the staff is always willing to help. I would recommend the Lodge to anyone who is travelling through Fernie.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miajune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlaceLodge, Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Miajune1

Thank you for your recent review of the Park Place Lodge. Our management and staff strive to achieve a repeat customer base and we are pleased to see that you enjoy our facilities and would recommend our Lodge. We look forward to your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.0 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
150 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £97 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing