We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay, awesome value”
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a Travel Zoo coupon for this two night stay, which included a bottle of wine for $199 plus tax. We had stayed at Lizard Creek about nine years ago and loved it. This time, the feeling was even better as we spent more time on the resort enjoying the pool, hot tub and the restaurant. The weather in late July was beautiful which just made it even nicer.

Our room was a one bedroom suite in the condo building ( the same layout we had before). This is a real treat as we had two bathrooms, two HD TVs (never used but they rent DVDs for $2), a very large kitchen (we had breakfasts but could accomodate full meals) and two living areas that included a fireplace (not needed in July). Our room had two balconies. One partially faced the moutain while the other faced the valley and mostly trees. The mountain view meant sun in our room, while the other one was quieter which we sat outside having coffee. It was very quiet on this balcony. There was even a BBQ (didn't use either). We enjoyed this room as a couple but if you have a family, this would work as well (and they have two-bedroom suites as well). Judging by the kids in the pool, there were a lot of families but we rarely heard anything in our room.

Lizard Creek is situated on the Fernie Ski Hill and in the summer, the chair lifts ferry mountain biking enthusiasts to the top. We took the lift to the top last trip and the hike along the top was spectacular. This time we drove fifteen minutes away to make a short hike to the Ancient Cottonwoods. It was enjoyable and an undiscovered gem

The food in the restaurant or on the patio was excellent and served in big, hearty portions. A real treat this summer is that all the lunch items were $10. Big portions and wonderful flavours.Try the chicken cranberry aioli sandwich!

The staff were very friendly as well. Plus my wife had a massage as a gift and was thoroughly impressed with the masseuse. So as you can tell, a very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: We had 2202 which is an end unit ( very quiet) and partially faces the valley view. One of our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom condo, and loved all of amenities that Lizard Creek had to offer. The condo was well equipped, it even had a washer and dryer! We loved sitting by the pool on a hot summer's day, and the mountain provided much to do. We did not get to try the restaurant opting to either eat in town, or make our own meals in our fully stocked kitchen. The only complaint that we had was it was very hot in our room when we arrived. The large windows had the blinds pulled to showcase the beautiful view, but also baking the room from the heat of the sunshine. The bedrooms cooled down quickly after turning on the a/c, but the main room remained warm. It should also be noted that you are a 5 minute drive from the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvl_lvr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location of this property is over looking the Fernie Ski hill. The swimming pool is great for families and the rooms are adequate in size for a family of 4. We have stayed here on several occasions and have yet been disappointed. I would recommend this lodge to all our friends and families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here this weekend with two other couples. The hotel was fully booked yet they only had the minimal staff to accommodate all the guests. The service was utterly awful and when you let the staff know about it they were less than impressed or motivated to assist you. Our kids cut themselves on broken glass from a window, our friends found dirty underwear in their bed which means they never changed the sheets from the last guests who were there and our other friends had to wait over three hours to check in from the normal check in time. The food was even worse than the service and their breakfast which is billed as complimentary from 7-10 is only stocked once and if you ask for more of anything at 8am (cause there is nothing left) you get an evil look by the desk clerk who is obliged to refill the coffee thermos and the measly two ounces of cream they put out for the sold out crowd. If you can stay somewhere else, i would.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Not too busy and we were able to relax in quiet room.Had all the supplies to make meals and eat to feel at home. Very lovely view from balcony. Happy to let husband enjoy the biking straight from the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sndkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just got back from Lizard Creek Lodge after a short stay. Wife was away visiting her sister so I was taking care of some business with kids in tow.

Hotel thankfully arranged for a babysitter who was very good. Room was fantastic. Stayed in the hotel portion and still had a main floor king and two queens in a loft. Tons of space for the 4 of us.

After business was done kids and I enjoyed a couple small hikes just outside our door at Fernie Alpine Resort and spent some time at the pool.

Hotel is fantastic and we had a great time. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I were having an anniversary celebration long weekend, and found ourselves at Fernie. We had a fabulous weekend with perfect weather and thoroughly enjoyed low season at the lodge. When we got back home and discovered that I had inadvertently left my charging cords to my phone and tablet hanging in the wall, guest services was more than accommodating. I happened to be traveling again the next weekend and had to drive right past the lodge, and they held onto my cords and had them labelled and waiting for me when I popped in to grab them on my way by. Really appreciated the great service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
366 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Address: 5346 Highline Dr | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £61 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Creek Lodge is in the perfect ski-in/ski-out position at Fernie Alpine Resort. The outdoor pool and hot tubs overlook the mountains. There are 14 units in the main lodge and 85 residential style condos in two other buildings. Each of our luxurious suites has differing configurations from tudios, one, two and three bedroom suites. They all feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace and private balcony. You'll enjoy coming home and putting your feet up after a great day on the hill. We offer the only full service property on the mountain, with on-site restaurant and day spa. If you are looking for more than just accommodation, we can provide you and your family with the ultimate resort experience. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing