We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed two nights here and had a loft suite. It had a king bed downstairs and two queen beds upstairs. It also had a shower and Tv up and down Both times our accommodation was spotless. The kitchen was well equipped and we had a small balcony off the living room area. The television was an older model, but worked okay. The bed was comfortable but the noise from the heater, next to the bed was annoying. We had occasion to eat at the dining room one night and the food was excellent.
This is a full service lodge with underground parking and has beautiful landscaping. We found the staff to be polite and responsive to our requests. Our stay was off season and there were few guests at the time we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riflemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    162
    50
    31
    18
See reviews for
252
177
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I am booked to stay at this hotel in November. I called last week to ask whether I can change my stay from a three to a four night. The front desk staff member snapped at me right away and said no, you can't make and changes...and then she hung up on me! I didn't even get a chance to tell them the dates when I was staying there. This is the worst service that I have ever received from hotel staff...it makes me scared to actually stay at this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Manager at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us at Lizard Creek Lodge in Fernie, BC.

I am thrilled to see that you have returned to stay with us during the shoulder season. I am sure you had the feeling of relaxation as it is a very quiet time of year as we prepare for the busy winter season.

The restaurant and amenities are amazing and convenient at Lizard Creek Lodge. It delights me to hear that the staff made your stay welcoming and comfortable.

I apologize for the noisy heater by your bed. It has been noted and our maintenance team will make sure it will be in tip top shape for our next guest.

I look forward to your next visit with us!

Have a wonderful day!

Krista Anders - Guest Services Manager - Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent a couple of fall days here and very much enjoyed ourselves. Our suite was attractive, spacious and clean. All of the staff were nice and friendly, and the gym is well equipped. The grounds were lovely with lots of flower gardens and baskets. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but they did offer a complimentary breakfast which was basic but adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChessNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The suites come with a kitchenette, every dish was dirty! Bathtub had hair everywhere. Front desk never answered the phone, were rude and didn't seem to care one bit about our comfort. The only ice machine is in the main lodge. The rooms are great sizes (condo style), that is the only benefit. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived Friday evening and booked the date nite special.
The shrimp appetizer was disappointing, small (maybe two altogether) cut up with a sauce.
One hour and 15 minutes later we got our steaks. (main course) They were tough and the potatoes were extremely salty.. The server kept informing us it was busy in the kitchen. There were two other couples in the restaurant. The desert was still frozen (three bite size pieces of cheesecake)
The next morning at the Continental breakfast there was no food! The server would come out, take the basket of jam and be gone 5 minutes to fill it. Then she would take the basket of butter and fill it. Mean time the line was growing and there was no coffee, milk, no plates, no utensils, and we asked for some bagels. She went into the kitchen came out and threw(!!) a bag of frozen bagels in the basket. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean1912013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was the second stop in a road trip for short exploration of British Columbia. The Lodge is a great place to stay while exploring. We were there in September which is obviously a slow time in Fernie. There was almost no one staying at the Lodge. An ownership/rental condo operation, the Lodge is really nicely appointed and equipped and is very comfortable. Not high end, but it is a rental unit. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking around in downtown Fernie as well. Great location if you are there for the skiing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeroy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in a studio at Lizard Creek earlier this month. I was really impressed by the size of the unit and the fantastic kitchen in the unit. I'm accustomed to having the bare minimum of cutlery and plates, but I could have cooked Thanksgiving dinner in there. Great restaurant on site too with fun servers. Outdoor pools and a bunch of hot tubs throughout the property. I can't wait to go back in the winter and hang out around the stone fireplace in the lodge for some apres.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nechrispeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Property: Lizard Creek Lodge
Address: 5346 Highline Dr | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Creek Lodge is in the perfect ski-in/ski-out position at Fernie Alpine Resort. The outdoor pool and hot tubs overlook the mountains. There are 14 units in the main lodge and 85 residential style condos in two other buildings. Each of our luxurious suites has differing configurations from tudios, one, two and three bedroom suites. They all feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace and private balcony. You'll enjoy coming home and putting your feet up after a great day on the hill. We offer the only full service property on the mountain, with on-site restaurant and day spa. If you are looking for more than just accommodation, we can provide you and your family with the ultimate resort experience. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing