We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. location”
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were transferred to this hotel due to a booking error at Fernie Slopeside Lodge.

The hotel is excellent for ski in and out. The ski lockers provided are well ventilated and secured.

The reception staff did not know how foam or feather pillows feel and requested maintenance to bring 2 foam pillows. Maintenance brought 1 foam and 1 feather pillow.

The hotel does provide wifi, though if you want reception, go down to the ski entrance where the antenna is located. Wifi reception in the rest of the hotel is dodgy at best.

The room was clean and well maintained. The appliances need an upgrade though (there was a VHS and DVD combo player with a CRT TV on top). The bed needed replacing (I could feel the steel of the spring pushing against the bone). The room did look great though and the eating table was a welcome addition.

The hot tubs provide for a spectacular view and are well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Pieter,

Thank you for the review and feedback, we appreciate you taking the time out of your day. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and some of the facilities we provide here at Lizard Creek Lodge.

We have duly noted the suggestions you have made and hope the next time you visit Fernie and us here at Lizard Creek Lodge your stay will be incomparable.

If you would discuss any of the concerns further please don’t hesitate to contact myself Nikki Ferris, Front Desk Supervisor at guestservices@lizardcreek.com

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great location right on the hill. Loved the Kitchen so we could cook meals with our friends and kids. Housekeeping staff were very friendly. The lodge and rooms were very clean. The King bed mattress was very comfortable.

The only negative was that the front desk staff seemed somewhat unhappy although they were helpful. The sofa bed mattress was also paper thin and you could feel all the springs underneath so we couldn't use it to sleep on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Jana,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are glad to hear your overall stay with us was pleasant.

We will ensure to follow up the concerns you have expressed, our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope your next stay with us is 100%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our holiday was superb from beginning to end. We stayed for 2 weeks and we had a very unique experience. A good location as the lift chair was minute from the room we stayed in. We paid around $500 a night and it worth every penny. The room we were in was huge and everything was clean, staff were all very courteous, warm friendly and very helpful. Front desk assisted us with arranging lift tickets which was a big help as we didn't want to stand on the line in the morning. Housekeeping did a good Job in keeping up with the mess we had in the room.
Overall, a very good experience. We made another reservation for next year for 2 weeks again before we left.

We encourage all Skiers visiting the Kootney's to visit this fabulous resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Ammy,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here with us and that it was everything that you had hoped for. We look forward to making your next stay with us just as enjoyable.

Best wishes for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in a Studio unit in the main building. The Elk chair was just steps away! Could practically roll out of bed and be on the hill. The staff were very friendly and did attend quickly to a problem we had with our hot water.

We enjoyed the hot top a few times, and the gym looked well equipped.

Our only complaint was with the furnishings. The bed mattress was extremely soft, as was the sofa. The kitchen was set up with a high counter, and what was supposed to be two high chairs, but they were not high enough, so I felt like a 5-year old eating my morning cereal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mira,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate your feedback and hope we are able to ensure your next stay with us is an enjoyable one.

We will ensure to follow through with the concerns you have mentioned, our apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience.

We hope to see you again soon, all the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were very pleased that we went to Lizard Creek for Christmas. We stayed multiple times last year and all the time we felt we were treated like 5 star guest. At check in we were greeted by a wonderful lady, I don't recall her name but she was very customer oriented. The whole family had Christmas dinner and the food and service was top notch. Our rooms were Hugh and spotless and the housekeeper made sure that they come and clean the room daily. The only complain I had is the Spa services. We had to book in advance in order to get a massage. Overall, the stay was good and we will definitely come back next year and recommend lizard creek to our friend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear James,

We are delighted to hear that your Christmas and family vacation here at Lizard Creek was a 5 star experience.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience with the Spa bookings, we do hope next time we are able to better accommodate you with this matter.

We look forward to seeing yourself and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

So i visited lizard creek recently. i was expected normal standard services as other hotels or lodges provide, but I was surprised with their services. the stay was so comfy i can still remember the whole package of goodness they provided during my stay. i remember meeting up front office supervisor (Mr Karan, he was super cool. he helped us a lot during our stay. he was very professional and provided all the information regarding staying, main attraction and other services . I will highly recommend other people to go n stay their.
Vipin

Room Tip: If u Guys visit their ask for Mr. Karan Mallik. He will be awesome, whenever you need any kind of in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vipin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Vipin,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lizard Creek Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that your stay here with us was an enjoyable one.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I booked a week away during July. The lodge is usually for skiing but they are trying to bring in summer clients. We had a great time! The staff was fabulous and friendly! This is a must for quiet time! Our room was awesome and the views phenomenal!

Room Tip: We had a loft and the room was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Dee,

We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and an enjoyable break for you and your husband. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope to see you again at Lizard Creek Lodge, summer or winter and hope it’s just as relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
71 reviews
3.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
156 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Address: 5346 Highline Dr | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: £98 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Creek Lodge is in the perfect ski-in/ski-out position at Fernie Alpine Resort. The outdoor pool and hot tubs overlook the mountains. There are 14 units in the main lodge and 85 residential style condos in two other buildings. Each of our luxurious suites has differing configurations from tudios, one, two and three bedroom suites. They all feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace and private balcony. You'll enjoy coming home and putting your feet up after a great day on the hill. We offer the only full service property on the mountain, with on-site restaurant and day spa. If you are looking for more than just accommodation, we can provide you and your family with the ultimate resort experience. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing