We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ultimate 5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The Ultimate 5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in Lizard Creek many times in the past but this was the best stay we have every experienced. The buildings are pretty well maintained. The accommodation were above reproach "CLEAN". Fantastic snow and friendly helpful people working there. Every staff we encountered during our stay was very service oriented. We really enjoyed the interaction with the front desk staff and they knew our entire family by name.
A thumbs up from us as we felt like we were treated like 5 star guest. Everything we required during our stay was delivered.
Most highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room in the lodge would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Steven j,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was to your expectation. Also thank you for bringing the snow with you.
We hope to see you again in the near future. Please ensure you mention your review to receive 15% off your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Nikki Ferris
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    159
    49
    31
    18
See reviews for
244
171
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

PROS: large 1 bedroom condo, 2 tv's (bedroom and living area), 2 bathrooms, sofa bed, sofa, fireplace, balcony, large kitchen well supplied, wi-fi, GREAT STAFF all around - front desk, restaurant, great Starbucks coffee, ski rental/lift tickets sales. Good fitness room, never tried out the hot tubs nor steam room but it was all there. LOCATION - ski lift right out the door - ski in/ski out. We could walk over to Kelsey's Restaurant, more ski rentals, retail shop (4 minute walk or so). Underground Parking! nice. We didn't need any housekeeping services as we were only there 2 nights and I prefer no one in my space. They came to the door and we replenished some coffee & creamers :)
CONS: Pricey. You pay to be on the hill! Our room was located above the garage door so we could here the door open and close day and night as vehicles came and went. Not supremely noisy, but noticed it once and awhile.
We were here during the second busiest week of the year and all was very efficient and fabulous!

Room Tip: There will be a few rooms located directly above the garage door to underground parking. It's sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinceyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Quincey,

Thank you reviewing the Lizard Creek Lodge, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are happy to hear you enjoy the location and you stay with us here. We do hope you return within the near future and get a chance to enjoy the facilities as you mentioned.

Our apologies though for the noise from the garage. If you choose to stay with us again please let us know either phone the Reception on the toll free number 1877-228-1948 or email info@lizardcreek.com and please, your more then welcome to request a room away from the garage. Also let us know about this review and receive 15% off your next stay.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,

Nikki Ferris
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year with our kids in a two bedroom condo. Loved it, other than the beds were very hard. This year, we rented same two bedroom condo, different building this time. Everything is very similar to last year.
The condos are well stocked and just the right size.
This year, we noticed the cleaning staff is very rushed, knocking on the door asking if you want your room serviced. If you say yes (they refresh towels, make beds, empty garbages, that's it) they seem quite annoyed. One girl told me that there was only 4 on staff and they had no time to do a good job.
So, come on management! Hire some additional staff! We are paying $650 a night! We should have full service every day. Including bathrooms cleaned, floors swept, etc!
There is also an issue this year of no pool towels at the main building. Several times we got out of hot tub to find no towels!!
Other than these few issues, the place is great.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sundance1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sundance,

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate it. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your first stay and returned to Lizard Creek Lodge, we do hope you will return again in the near future.

Our apologies if you felt the Housekeeping service you received was rushed, that is not our intention.
If may clarify this, the housekeeping service is a Vacation Style service. Therefore as you mentioned the service you received is the daily service until the fourth day when sheets are changed, bathrooms and floors are completely cleaned. If you do require any extra service throughout your stay please don't hesitate to contact the Front Desk who will notify Housekeeping.

We do try our best to ensure there are towels for the hot tub at all times unfortunately you were on the receiving end of this, which we apologize for. Please notify the Front Desk for any queries, concerns or problems and we will do our best to resolve the situation.

If you would like to discuss anything further please don't hesitate to contact my self via guestservices@lizardcreek.com.

Kind Regards

Nikki Ferris
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fantastic location. A hidden gem. Management and service is A+. World class egg benedict with breakfast was delivered right on my comfy bed. Food is little pricey but has that ultra upscale ambiance. All together a must stay. Recommended to all my friends and family. Will be back in summer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawon_pagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Shawon_pagla

We are very glad to hear that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and everything was to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to review the Lizard Creek Lodge we appreciate it.

We hope to see you again in summer, until then take care.

Kind Regards,

Nikki Ferris
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The rooms have large bedrooms but small living area. The furnishings are old and well worn. The kitchen is stocked with a mixture of style that look like they were purchased from Goodwill. Dishwasher didn't work properly. Hardly any clothes storage which is a problem for a ski holiday. Housekeeping was awful. Aside from making the bed they did hardly anything else - didn't replace tissues or toilet paper unless asked. Didn't replace towels. Didn't tidy up. Lots of people at the front desk but overall poorly managed.

Restaurant and lobby were beautiful overlooking the mountain and with a huge central fireplace open on 4 sides. Food was very good. Restaurant service was good.

Internet was horrible and wouldn't work in any of our rooms despite the fact that we were just a few steps off the lobby. Front desk people really didn't care.

The only reason to stay here is the location, which is perfect, as there is a chair lift right outside the back door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Correy,

Firstly I would like to thank you for reviewing the Lizard Creek Lodge and providing constructive criticism.

I would like to touch on a few subjects if I may. In regards to the dishwasher, unfortunately if we are unaware of items being out of order during your stay we are unable to repair them. If you advise the Front Desk of the inconveniences we are then able to try to solve them. Housekeeping services the rooms daily, towels are replaced if left in the bath tub although are unable to touch guest belongings. On the fourth day Housekeeping will provide a “tidy up”.

Our apologies for the WiFi inconvenience, due to our location we have been experiencing difficulties which we are currently in the process of upgrading the service for all areas of the lodge. The Front Desk agents in this particular situation are only able to do so much.

We are glad to hear you enjoy the restaurant, view and surrounding atmosphere. We are also happy that you enjoyed the convenient location for the skiing.

If you would like to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to contact myself directly via guestservices@lizardcreek.com.

Kind Regards
Nikki Ferris
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The location is fantastic. We were a group of 3 couples who had rented 3 mini-suites (2 of which were adjoining). You could clip into your skis beside your patio and ski to the bottom of the lift. At the end of the day you could keep enough momentum to ski right back up to your patio.

The accommodations were very nice; comfortable bed, good TV, fireplace, full size fridge and stove with all the kitchen basics provided.

Friendly, helpful staff and an excellent restaurant.

The 3-course Table d'Hote on Saturday night was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the roughly $300 per night the ground floor mini-suites are well equipped with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi David,

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the great ski in, ski out location. We hope that your next visit will be just as wonderful. Please let us know when booking to receive 15% off.

Kind Regards,

Nikki Ferris
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Not bad at all


We always read previous review in trip advisor before we select a hotel. After reading some of the old review we took a chance and book at Lizard Creek Lodge.

We have a complete opposite perception towards this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome. Everything about it feels luxurious and they seem to go the extra mile to provide little extra.

Excellent housekeeping and front desk service. Very clean and feel at home type of hotel. Only breakfast should be better (make it buffet) and better priced.


We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Lizard Creek Lodge. We are very please to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your suggestion for breakfast and will forward this on to the appropriate department.

Please don't hesitate to contact myself when making your next booking to receive 15% off.

Thank you again, hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nikki Ferris

Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Property: Lizard Creek Lodge
Address: 5346 Highline Dr | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Creek Lodge is in the perfect ski-in/ski-out position at Fernie Alpine Resort. The outdoor pool and hot tubs overlook the mountains. There are 14 units in the main lodge and 85 residential style condos in two other buildings. Each of our luxurious suites has differing configurations from tudios, one, two and three bedroom suites. They all feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace and private balcony. You'll enjoy coming home and putting your feet up after a great day on the hill. We offer the only full service property on the mountain, with on-site restaurant and day spa. If you are looking for more than just accommodation, we can provide you and your family with the ultimate resort experience. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing