We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst service ever. Don't go.”
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst service ever. Don't go.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was there for a wedding for three days. They didn't clean my room once. Nothing. And they didn't clean or change the garbage or do anything to the bridal suite. We went for breakfast, 18 of us. Two hours later we finally all had our food. Two hours!
They didn't let is check in even 15 minutes early, though the room had been ready for hours. The staff had no idea what was up and couldn't answer even the simplest questions. It ruined what was otherwise a very fun weekend. Don't go unless you want the worst customer service ever.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MargNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Marg

Thank you for bring this up to our attention. We are very sorry the service that you received was not up to the standard that it should have been. If you could email me your contact information at guestservices@lizardcreek.com I would love to talk to you about your stay.

Kind Regards,

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    163
    51
    31
    18
See reviews for
253
179
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The suite we stayed in was the one bedroom king with a loft. The room was very big and bright with great ac for the main floor. It had plenty of beds (kingsize in bedroom, pullout and two queens in the loft. The suite was furnished with plenty of storage space as well as dishwasher, full sized fridge/freezer and an oven. I was also stocked with dishes and had two bathrooms. On the negative side the loft stayed a bit warm for my taste and the tv's were old and picture was poor. The room was a little older but that didn't bother me. Also as this room is in the main building it is a little bit noisy but not that bad. There is a continetal breakfast but it is quite basic cereal, toast, muffins.

I think this room is a good value to sleep 4-6 people,

Room Tip: Rooms that are not in the main building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Dean,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conrad, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Love Lizard Creek Lodge. The rooms and condo units are spacious, bright and furnished well. We have been going there almost every year for the last 15 years. Typically in the past we have been able to reserve a mountain view room (which is one of the other reasons we love it, the view is to die for). However, new management has now determined they can no longer guarantee the type of room and therefore we ended up with a unit that faced a road and was smothered in trees. Very disappointing. They had a unit that was a mountain view but it hadn't been cleaned. When I made the booking I was told I would get a mountain view, second floor and what building it would be in. At no time did they tell me that this would not be guarenteed. It was not until after the booking was made and I recieved an email confirmation with a small paragraph at the end of a list of items which said there was a "small possibility" that the requested room type would not be provided and could not be guarenteed. Management needs to charge extra for the mountain view so that it can be reserved and guarenteed.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank montanagirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.

The new management had decided to change our room types because of the problems that we had in the past. Since our condos are all individually owned, if the owners wanted to use their unit we then had to move the guest to a different unit. Now we do not grantee any room numbers.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I don't get why anyone would have a negative thing to say about this resort? I am staying here now in suite 2102 enjoying a glass of wine on my deck staring at the mountains after a day of mountain bike riding in town followed by an awesome lunch on the patio at Loaf and an afternoon at the pool. We have a one bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. This morning I watched the sun rise on the mountain from my king size bed and then drank coffee on the deck. Pick up some groceries and beverages in town and enjoy the peace and quiet on the mountainside!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Stella,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The pool is just fine. The location on the mountain is perfect. The suite is huge. Grab one of the frequent groupon deals that seem to be up for this place all the time, and you've got a great 2 night stay for less than $250.

The staff was a little surly when we asked for a simple thing like pool towels after we arrived at 230 only to be told our room wouldnt be ready until 4p. That was the only drawback, the rest was wonderful value for money.

More of my review here: http://blog.buzzbishop.com/travel/mountain-escape-lizard-creek-lodge-fernie-review/

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We absolutely enjoyed our stay. The lodge was beautiful, and the view incredible. The room rates were great plus they seem to like to upgrade at no additional charge if they can. The continental breakfast had minimal choices, still better than nothing :) on our 3 day stay housekeeping only dropped by 1 time. But they do have a washer and dryer in each room with a full size fridge. That's the only negatives. The room we had was huge with 2 balconies. Had coffee out there every morning!!! If you ever see a price sale for a room, take it, you won't regret it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

A very old review, but still valid, great resort but it is a fair trek from Calgary airport and seems to take forever to get to. We were unlucky with the snow as it rained most days at the bottom of the hill and therefore the beginners in our party got very wet saying that, the snow at the top of the hill was fantastic.

Rooms are simply huge and great for a family with all the amenities that you could imagine. Food very good and everybody had plenty of choice.
Would go back to this hotel if we were to visit Fernie again, not sure when that will be though.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tony B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Hope if you come back this winter the snow will be the best that we have ever had!!

We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Property: Lizard Creek Lodge
Address: 5346 Highline Dr | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Creek Lodge is in the perfect ski-in/ski-out position at Fernie Alpine Resort. The outdoor pool and hot tubs overlook the mountains. There are 14 units in the main lodge and 85 residential style condos in two other buildings. Each of our luxurious suites has differing configurations from tudios, one, two and three bedroom suites. They all feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace and private balcony. You'll enjoy coming home and putting your feet up after a great day on the hill. We offer the only full service property on the mountain, with on-site restaurant and day spa. If you are looking for more than just accommodation, we can provide you and your family with the ultimate resort experience. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing