We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we only had a couple of appy's & wine - but , it was good.”

Fernie Cattle Company
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in Fernie
Price range: US$6 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fernie's premier steakhouse featuring grass fed Black Angus Beef, oceanwise seafood, and certified organic, fresh vegetables all year long.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“we only had a couple of appy's & wine - but , it was good.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

busy spot. right on the highway. long weekend. we sat in the lounge, had the scallops and the calamari. very good. tried to different types of white wine. server was VERY personal able .. I think I would come back and try their 25 oz. porterhouse steak.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals we've ever had”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This restaurant should definitely be rated as one of Fernie's treasures! We went to many of Tripadvisor's top 10 for Fernie and were somewhat disappointed.
At the Cattle Co. the staff was friendly, efficient and really worked as a team to make sure our experience was something to remember. We had the tenderloin steak, which was cooked to perfection, along with the freshest of organic vegetables (which all comes from their organic store next door). You can really taste the difference! Even the cocktails that we had with our meal were outstanding. We have tried many restaurants in our travels and honestly can't say enough about Fernie Cattle Co. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Wow, what a delicious meal we had at Fernie Cattle Co.! At first sight it’s just an ordinary steak house, but the meals are really top end for a steak house. Yes, the price is a bit above what you might expect when you enter the place, but once you see and taste the food you’ll know that it’s absolutely worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Yerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Started so bad we left before being seated.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we tried to eat at Fernie Cattle Company and the service was so poor we left before being seated. The restaurant was only about a third full and we were told it would be a ten minute wait. This irritated my entire party so we left.

We had been willing to try it again after a bad experience the first trip about a year ago where we felt we had poor service, mediocre food that was poorly presented and a very overpriced wine list.

We will not give them another chance. Never going back here and don't recommend you do either!

5 Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T, Owner at Fernie Cattle Company, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Wow, I possibly couldn't imagine the review if you were informed that the wait time would of been 15 minutes instead of 10. Whew!
As we are not a fast food restaurant and more of a reservation based restaurant, if you did have the opportunity to call ahead...your table would have been ready for you and you would have had a very short wait or none at all. Unfortunately, at this time of year, the wait time of usually 5 to 10 minutes is necessary for walk-ins so our girls can coordinate our reservation tables with the walk-ins in order to make everyone's experience...as well as ours much more pleasant. On the night of your "party's" visit (you don't say how many people were in your party), we had 7 reservations booked in between 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm so although you think we are only 1/3 full, we are actually close to capacity.
You know, at first I was upset with your review however, after thinking it over for a while I thought to myself that I too would be mad and lash out if I couldn't get in to Fernie's premier steakhouse.
Sorry to hear that you and your party were in such a rush that night and that we were unable to accommodate you in the speedy manner to which you and your party were obviously expecting.
Scott Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“another Fernie experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Typical Fernie overpriced restaurant trying to be like the big city (Calgary) but not quite making it. Decent steaks, very average decor and friendly, but not exactly professional, service. The Keg puts this to shame and I'm not a big fan of the Keg.

Visited June 2014
1 Thank racingwiththewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fernie Cattle Company also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies

Been to Fernie Cattle Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing