We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding torture”
Review of Elk View Lodge

Elk View Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk View Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Fernie
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you are planning on booking a wedding at this location, I would think about it again. It looks nice at first glance, however, we had a room on the main level which did not have a bathroom in the room. The bathroom that was to be used by us was the "public bathroom". We paid $260.00/night for my husband and I and our two kids. No one came in to clean the bathrooms throughout the weekend, and there was about 50 people using the bathroom. It was disgusting. We were expected to shower in there, however, I felt dirtier coming out of there. The bedroom was dark, didn't have a screen so we couldn't open the window. There was a chair, night stand and a place to hang your clothes, but no other furniture. I had to clean the night stand as there was dried food on it. We ended up leaving a night early as we were very disappointed in the accommodations. We didn't have a key to our door as it was a door that you push the handle in and turn it. It was very difficult to sleep as well, due to the traffic going in and out of the bedroom.

I also helped cook the meal for the bride and groom and one of the ovens was not working properly. The lighting in the lodge also made no sense, we had to bring a lamp into where the bar was as we could not find a light switch. The dishwasher wasn't working in the kitchen either.

There were also several areas in the lodge that were "employee only" areas, however, you could still see the areas and they were extremely messy - not appealing to the eye at all.

We ended up forfeiting $260.00 (one night stay of our money) as we couldn't sleep the two nights before and didn't want to stay another night of not getting sleep and having to listen to everything that was happening in the bathroom (our designated bathroom) which was right outside our door.

I was very disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sageaktook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkview, Manager at Elk View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you for submitting your review. We were sorry to hear that your stay at the lodge was disappointing. Just to clarify a few things, here at Elk View Lodge, we only rent the entire lodge as a single unit. If the guests who booked had decided on charging out rooms separately to the other guests, we have no control over the amount that each guest was to pay, so the rate of $260 per night for a room must have come from the booking guest (most likely the bride and groom) and not Elk View Lodge.
Since your stay in 2013, we have added 2 more public washrooms on the main floor of the lodge specifically for larger parties such as weddings, so that the bathrooms dedicated to each bedroom no longer have to be utilized.
We have also recently done some major upgrades and renovations at the lodge including new paint inside and out, new flooring in the main dining area, a major kitchen renovation, we opened up the living and dining areas to create a new beautiful open concept space and even put the hot tub back on the rooftop deck to take advantage of the beautiful views.
We strive to keep the lodge at a high standard of cleanliness and now have on staff a professional and diligent group of cleaners headed by a very competent cleaning manager.
We would love the chance to have you back for a discounted stay at the lodge or even just a walk through to show you all the amazing changes that have happened at the lodge since your stay.
Please feel free to contact us at info@elkviewlodge.com.
Thanks again,
Billy and Kristina Woodford, Managers
Elk View Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 11 of 11 reviews

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
704 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk View Lodge

Address: 3934 Cokato Rd | PO Box 188, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Fernie
Price Range: £1,101 - £1,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elk View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing