We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of the holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Livery - CLOSED

The Livery
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A unique restaurant serving contemporary food in a comfortable chic environment. Fresh and stylish, relaxed yet sophisticated. The culinary culture at The Livery Restaurant offers a pioneering attitude towards Kootenay lifestyle featuring locally sourced ingredients prepared in innovative combinations with the minimum of fuss.
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

5 of us ate here twice during our holiday in Fernie. Absolutely fantastic, the food and staff were great which was why we went back for a second time, just as good as the first. Can't recommend any particular meal as they were all so good. Make sure you book as is busy. Only complaints we would have liked a little more light and on our second visit we were in the back room and it was freezing with terrible draughts so eventually we moved, but I would still go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayJayYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super food and excellent wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Three of us had dinner at the Livery, and we all had great food. Excellent mussels as an appetizer, and pasta with braised beef for the main course.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great decor, wonderful waiter - but just poor food at high prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

In summary - seems like the investors set it up well but forgot to leave somone in charge of each evenings operations and customer satisfaction.

Our family of four booked this as a special treat after being told it was the top notch place in town. On entering we had high hopes at the decor and layout were very relaxing and high class. The waiter who served us was very attentive and helpful. All well and good. Then the food came..

The soup was weak and rather tasteless, and smoked salmon which did not seem fresh. Our main course was duck, rib eye steak and vegetarian Moroccan dish. The duck was ok but covered in an over sweet heavy sauce, the vegatarian dish as dry, oily and with a bland heavy rubbery taste. The steak was probably about the worst we have ever seen with 20% fat.

The worst was the response, we told the waiter and he expressed his disappointment and said he would "Tell chef". Nothing further was heard or any excuse offered. Normally, I would expect the restuarant manager to come over and "manage" the situation. One of our group is in the industry and was open mouthed that nothing further was done.

Fernie is a greta laid back town but it can go too far ....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeenagersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Luxury in a Small Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were in a group of 20 and we all tried different items on the menu. The appetizers were awesome, the entrees were awesome, and the service was presidential. Yet it didn't feel like I was out of place in jeans. Comfortable place to eat and visit. Staff were exceptional.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSand64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just amazing!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I visited The Livery for the first time this week and it did not disappoint. The menu is modern and eclectic, and the ambiance is fantastic. I would enjoy visiting for a drink with friends just as much as dinner. The excellent news is their lounge menu is available until midnight!
Don't miss out on the Halibut Ceviche, it was excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Aysha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Livery also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing