We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer,Ab
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were travelling through on a long trip and wanted to break the trip up. We decided Fernie was a good place to stop. A lot of the hotels are pricy there, but we found this place and decided to go for it. The price was right. We booked 2 rooms as there were 6 of us traveling. They gave us rooms beside each other and I requested ground floor as we have a baby in tow and my Mother In Law with us, so stairs can be a little difficult. The room are pretty basic, old style tvs and the such, but very clean. I am a little obsessive about cleaning and the rooms here were pretty darn good! There is a common kitchen area you can use for a snack or a meal. I made some toast in the morning. They have 3 dining room tables and a tv area as well. I personally do not mind having others sit with me, so this set up worked for me. I ate with another guest and at another table the owners children were having their breakfast. It is family run I believe and they are very nice. I would stay here again in a heart beat! The only thing I did notice, was they need some new towels for the bathrooms... they are clean, no stains, but seem old and or cheap. If you are a towel snob, bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentalAbGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    40
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
49
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed here for a night on a ski trip. I found the service to be excellent, Stephanie went out of her way to be helpful, really made us feel at home.

Their location in the middle of Fernie, on the highway, is great for walking access to downtown and to nearby restaurants.

They are currently renovating the common area and hot tub area, but once that gets going I think this will be a great little hotel.

The rooms were pretty standard, probably could use some work, but for the price it was fine. I would stay there again.

Cheers

Room Tip: If you have any problems just talk to Stephanie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We were happy to find an economical option in Fernie aside from a private room at the noisy hostel. This >25 (to book) hotel is a quiet, reasonably priced, very comfortable place to stay.
Central to the highway and downtown, we found the owners to be very helpful with dinner suggestions nearby. They have a large common area (to be a bistro), fireplace, pool table, indoor hottub and will have great views in the courtyard/ outdoor pool area this summer.
The room was spacious and very clean. Bathrooms were recently renovated. There's plenty of room for luggage and equipment, with ski lockers outside.
We used to stay in Crowsnest Pass rather than pay regular Fernie prices, but we won't have to anymore!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

On this trip we were looking for little more than a basic room and a reasonable price. Powder Mountain Lodge was the perfect fit. It's not new, but it is clean, functional and the owners are extremely nice people. We could have paid 50% more at a hotel chain up the Hwy and received essentially the same thing: a bed, a tv and bathroom. The only negative we had was that the walls were a little thin and noise from the next room could be heard sometimes. Bottom line: save some money and root for the "little guy".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmfr3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We enjoyed two nights at Powder Mountain Lodge. I have stayed in many, many hotels and a clean bed and hot shower are top of my "must have" list. We were delighted to find these at Powder Mountain Lodge - and a lot more. The warm hospitality of the owners is proof that they care about their guests and reputation. The care that is taken over the cleanliness of the hot tub is impressive. The hotel is quiet, no pets, no smoking, clean and very reasonably priced. We will be staying there again and it will likely become our "go to" Fernie accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlovestoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The new management are trying to pull this place up to standard- with encouraging results. Helpful and efficent they are making Powder Mountain Lodge a great place to stay. Just a shame they cannot control the noise at night that comes from the Raging Elk Hostle across the street....
All in all though, a alot of good about the place. Look forward to returning another year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pincher Creek
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Have stayed at the PML before and each time it keeps getting better.Have no complaints at all and will stay there again next week if they have space.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Property: Powder Mountain Lodge
Address: 892 3 Hwy, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned hotel with a beautiful courtyard housing an outdoor pool and BBQ area. A common room with a full kitchen, pool table, wood burning fireplace & TV area. We offer rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as studio's and 2 queen kitchen suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities and just a short 10 min drive to the ski hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing