We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Came to Fernie to do some snow shoeing. Was very pleased with the quietness, cleanliness and value of the PML. They have renovated since I had been here last and the place looks great! The hot tub was a welcome place to rest and recharge after trekking through the snow all day.

I for one am very happy with the fact that they have a quiet policy for their guests and will enforce it as needed. This is a great place for adults and families who aren't here to party until the wee hours of the morning.

The location is perfect, right off the highway but the rooms face into a quiet courtyard. It's a quick walk or drive to anywhere you want to go in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYCMtnGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We brought this hotel a lot of business with a group trip and they handled situations very poorly along with treating their guests poorly by telling people when to go to bed. They also threatened to lock many of their patrons out of their rooms if they didn't "shut up and go to bed". Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Migonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
powdermountainlodge, Owner at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. We too were unhappy with your group as well. Your group received many noise complaints and continued to interrupt other guests, staff and management for 5 continuous nights. The hotel has a quiet policy between the hours of 11pm - 8am. Your group was informed of this policy upon arrival and given several reminders yet you continued to make disturbances between the hours of 1am - 5am each night. Being a large group does not make you exempt from these policies. Given the general lack of respect for the property, other guests, staff and management your university group will not be welcome back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We rented the three bedroom suite with kitchen and couch/tv area for a family of five ski holiday, and took an extra room a 15' walk away. The walk was outside but covered. You can crawl to the ski shuttle stop, or make the 7 minute drive to the hill. Two block walk to grocery stores, wine, beer, liquor, and walk on another block or two for the local stores. Value priced, quiet, with really comfortable beds and wifi included. There is also a common room kitchen/games room where you can cook, or grab pots, pans and wine glasses, or use the barbeque. An easy place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sixtripsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a fabulous find in Fernie. It is a nice family owned and run business. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Well worth the price, we had tried two other hotels in Fernie , and left them because of unsatisfactory accommodations. Then when we found this one it was amazing. The price was very reasonable, and it was extremely clean, and quiet. Fabulous pool, and kitchen area. Would highly recommend this to any family!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Best value in Fernie! for about $100 Clean rooms, nice warm clean outdoor pool to swim in, main kitchen if you want to save $ and cook your own food. Friendly "ocally owned motel. the Only place we stay in Fernie!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We recently stayed here (booked 1 week and stayed 2). It was great - we made use of the weekly room rates (surprisingly VERY competitive versus the hostel if there are 2 or more people).

Exactly what we were after - great value accommodation, clean rooms, comfy beds and a very well equipped kitchen. The common room with a pool table and adjoining hot tub is a great space to hang out and unwind after a long day. This room also has a kitchen if you do not opt for a room with your very own. Ski bus picks you up directly out the back, supermarket just up the road and downtown a short stroll away. Great restaurants/coffee place just across the highway. Extra bonus is a washer and dryer onsite which is very handy if you have been travelling for a while. Staff were so helpful and like reviewers before us, always happy to assist.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travels2010Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed in Fernie for 3 nights in January 2013 and found that the accommodation was generally a little more expensive than other local resorts, and staying really close to the night life wasn't really an option. Powder Mountain Lodge is only 5-10 minute walk from the town centre (bars, restaurants etc) and there is also a good bar with decent food 100M down the road. Best breakfast in town is across the road at Cincott Farms. Rooms were clean with a decent TV and a good heater for drying ski gear.

Room Tip: There are two levels, with outdoor access. If travelling with skis it is probably worth requesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendanshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Address: 892 3 Hwy, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned hotel with a beautiful courtyard housing an outdoor pool and BBQ area. A common room with a full kitchen, pool table, wood burning fireplace & TV area. We offer rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as studio's and 2 queen kitchen suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities and just a short 10 min drive to the ski hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing