We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatly disappointed”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I have stayed at this place a few times in the previous ski season and had no problems in the past. I was very disappointed with my last stay there over New Years. We were put in a room in which you could barely walk around the bed due to how small it was. The bathroom had black mold over the shower and the floors looked as if they have not been swept in weeks. We traveled with 2 other couples (whom I recommended staying at this lodge). One of the couples actually left after one evenings stay due to how dirty their room was. They also booked for joining rooms with the other couple and were not accomodated. We asked for a larger room the second night we stayed and where told there was no vacancy (even though one of our groups checked out early). The service was very poor and I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We are extremely disappointed and are still waiting for our follow up phone call.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibum010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Ms Bum,

As new owners we thought we could help you enjoy Fernie even though you were already flagged as a problem guest by the previous management. We were wrong.

You threatened a bad review without a discount and here it is. I hope that any reading will clearly see it is completely contrary to our other reviews.

Sincerely

PML Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    43
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
56
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable. Customer service is second to none. New management is very friendly and welcoming. Very convenient location - across the street from two restaurants( an excellent sushi bar and Thai/Indian/Japanese restaurant) and a convenience store. A short walk to the downtown area. The shuttle to and from the hill stops here too.

Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will_S_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

we really had a good time here. People are very nice, it is clean and close from the ski resort. It is also cheap and we enjoyed all the features of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Stayed here for two weeks in mid December. Great facilities, very friendly hosts, and great price. Would have no hesitation in recommending Powder Mountain Lodge to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugopass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Powder Mountain was a very inviting and friendly experience. The rooms were nice and very clean with a price that was second to none. We look forward to staying there again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel for two nights while we were skiing at Fernie. This was the first time we stayed at the Powder Mountain Lodge, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in the evening. The lady behind the front desk already had our reservation paperwork ready and we were checked in in no time.

The location of this hotel is really convenient. It's on the main road through town and less than 2 mins walk to many excellent restaurants. The walk downtown is also very short if you need to get to the stores there or hit the bars.

The rooms weren't fancy, but they were clean and had all the amenities you need including a fridge and a microwave. I believe you can also get rooms with a kitchenette.

All in all a very nice place to stay if you want a clean, low cost, pleasant hotel stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenKnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

very comfortable, clean and staff so courteous. Definately would stay again and recommend to friends, in fact did so and our daughter stayed as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfmanplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
310 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#14 of 22 in Fernie
95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Property: Powder Mountain Lodge
Address: 892 3 Hwy, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned hotel with a beautiful courtyard housing an outdoor pool and BBQ area. A common room with a full kitchen, pool table, wood burning fireplace & TV area. We offer rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as studio's and 2 queen kitchen suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities and just a short 10 min drive to the ski hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing