We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just love the place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powder Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Pincher Creek
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just love the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Have stayed at the PML before and each time it keeps getting better.Have no complaints at all and will stay there again next week if they have space.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The managers Randy and Stephanie are fantastic. They will arrange a personal shuttle service from the airport (at a comparable rate to the main shuttle), to meet your travel arrangements. The main shuttle doesn't do door-to door airport transfers.

The accommodation is clean, comfortable and the ski bus stops right outside the premises. It is currently being refurbished but I had no problem with apartment. Rooms are good sized. Very popular accommodation with british skiers.

Has a hot tub and a swimming pool (pool in summer only). Towels and linen included and rooms are cleaned and towels changed mid-week.

You will feel at home at Powder Mountain Lodge and Randy and Stephanie are like mum and dad!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFleetStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed here as a group from the 22/1/11 to the 29/1/11. All the essentials are in place - comfortable beds, excellent shower, clean rooms, lockers to store your ski's/snowboard, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and a hot tub with additional showers for Apres Ski! The lodge is located about 3 miles from the Fernie Alpine resort, and the bus stops right at the back of the lodge. It's also a 50m walk from "The Pub" - a good place to start for a night out in Fernie! The welcome was warm and offered excellent value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshblack66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We spent a month at this wonderful reasonably priced Hotel right in the heart of Fernie. You do not need a vehicle as a shuttle stops right outside the lodge and drops yoy at the ski lift 5km away. The supermarket and shops are a 5 min walk away. The hosts Randy and Stephanie are very friendly and obliging . We used the hot tub every day after skiing and while we used the cooking facilities in our unit for most of our meals , Powder Mountain Lodge is surrounded by many eating facilities to suit all budgets. The monthly rate was great and the skiing was amazing. We will definately be back and will stay here again next time. We enjoyed watching the Fernie Ghostriders hockey team at the Arena right next door. Thanks Randy and Stephanie for a wonderful Stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davewebbWhangamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

The Powder Mountain was a great place for us to stay for our winter ski holiday to Fernie. The staff was helpful and friendly and the price, location and facilities suited our family well. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charleswparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

I have stayed at this place a few times in the previous ski season and had no problems in the past. I was very disappointed with my last stay there over New Years. We were put in a room in which you could barely walk around the bed due to how small it was. The bathroom had black mold over the shower and the floors looked as if they have not been swept in weeks. We traveled with 2 other couples (whom I recommended staying at this lodge). One of the couples actually left after one evenings stay due to how dirty their room was. They also booked for joining rooms with the other couple and were not accomodated. We asked for a larger room the second night we stayed and where told there was no vacancy (even though one of our groups checked out early). The service was very poor and I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We are extremely disappointed and are still waiting for our follow up phone call.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibum010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Ms Bum,

As new owners we thought we could help you enjoy Fernie even though you were already flagged as a problem guest by the previous management. We were wrong.

You threatened a bad review without a discount and here it is. I hope that any reading will clearly see it is completely contrary to our other reviews.

Sincerely

PML Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable. Customer service is second to none. New management is very friendly and welcoming. Very convenient location - across the street from two restaurants( an excellent sushi bar and Thai/Indian/Japanese restaurant) and a convenience store. A short walk to the downtown area. The shuttle to and from the hill stops here too.

Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will_S_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Property: Powder Mountain Lodge
Address: 892 3 Hwy, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned hotel with a beautiful courtyard housing an outdoor pool and BBQ area. A common room with a full kitchen, pool table, wood burning fireplace & TV area. We offer rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as studio's and 2 queen kitchen suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities and just a short 10 min drive to the ski hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing