We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski and Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernie Stanford Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Raymond, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ski and Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have been many times to the Stanford hotel, as each time we have had a great stay! Not only is the proximity to the ski hill amazingly close, but the staff, food and cleanliness is very good. For the price, you really can't go wrong. We visit at least 2 or 3 times a year and in our opinion is the best place to stay in Fernie!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    69
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
115
58
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Excellent place to stay. Clean, great resteraunt, good service! Favourite hotel in all of fernie too stay in!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Glad to hear you had a great time! We hope to see you and your friends back again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We got a very good rate as October is the slow season for them. This rate was about $150 less than peak season. This also translated into fewer amenities such as no restaurant or bar service so it meant you had to drive for your meals and entertainment.

However, they did include a decent continental breakfast with some very good coffee and hot and cold entrees.

We were on the highway side of the hotel. If you have trouble with noise, be sure to ask for the river view. It will cost you more but what price do you put on sleep?

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was good and clean. They accept pets but I understand that they have a separate area that they try and use to accommodate pets and their owners.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneOldSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! Our apologies for the closure of the restaurant, as that was only a temporary situation. Rest assured our restaurant is now re-opened and fully operational. We hope to see you back next time you're in Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed at the Stanford mainly because of the pool and waterslide.

The rooms were ok... standard type of hotel room. I think the hotel could generally use a facelift. The empty feeling in the saloon and the front dining room was very prominent. Maybe it is more alive in the winter?? The room was an ok size with a little balcony with table and two chairs. We stayed on the quiet side... so had a great nights sleep. Bed was cormfortable.

The pool and waterslide were great!! My four yr. old grandson was able to go up and down the slide by himself safely. He thought that was the best part of our trip.

For the great waterslide and pool we will be returning to this hotel!

We decided to forego the free breakfast. It looked like a regular type of free breakfast at a restaurant... 2 types of cereal.. fruit... boiled eggs... toast and pastries.

Room Tip: request room on the 'quiet' side away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rottn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The best part about the Stanford is the pool and waterslide. It's great even compared to slides in waterparks, never mind in hotels. The other nice thing was breakfast. Not fancy, but we always appreciate when its included and we don't have to drag the kids to a restaurant.

The rest of the hotel is OK, but there are signs of mild disrepair in the restaurant and it the rooms. We slept poorly because of the mattress, pillows and noise from the A/C which blew on the bed beside it. We would have left the balcony door open except it faced the highway and its noise. The TVs were elderly and the wifi worked on and off.

Overall poor value for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Very clean and comfortable, uniquely furnished room. Pool and hot tub very nice. Hotel restaurant very good, Indian and Canadian cuisine. Would consider staying here again. Nice mountain view.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaTinkerBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We looked at a couple other options in Fernie, but decided on the Stanford Resort because of the enormous water slide and nice interior. Our room was cozy and clean and the river view was uninhibited. The bathroom was quite nice. We had a wonderful sleep. The room was quiet and we didn't hear any noise from other rooms or the hall.

The continental breakfast was fairly standard; it's self-serve in the restaurant so the environment was very nice.

While it's a short drive into the main part of Fernie, it was an incredible value and I would most certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theseoldroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Stanford Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Resort

Property: Fernie Stanford Resort
Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fernie Stanford Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing