We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family room with balcony overlooking the river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernie Stanford Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Family room with balcony overlooking the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a nice stay at the Stanford while whitewater rafting with our family. It was very convenient to have the rafting offices in the building, and they were able to take our last-minute bookings as we were only passing through town. We stayed on the river side on the top floor, which had no traffic noise (other than the train!) and a lovely view.
Our teens liked the indoor water slide and outdoor hot tub, which seemed rather over-regulated... the front desk clerk seemed more interested in monitoring the pool activities than was necessary. But once she relaxed, they had fun. Would definitely stay again, maybe in the winter next time. Lots of parking for sleds out back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback for out hotel. We always appreciated hearing from our guests. So glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our water slide and hot tub, and your accommodations. We're also glad you managed to get out on the river! Hope to see you back in the winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    68
    34
    18
    14
See reviews for
113
58
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here June 23, 2013; this was the time Alberta was flooding and we were finishing up a motorcycle trip to Montana. The staff were very friendly, the restaurant for dinner was great and the morning breakfast was just fine. Very clean in the room and in the hotel. The hot tub was great and the manager kept it open a bit longer for us. I would choose to stay here again for a visit or another pass through.

Room Tip: I had the hot tub room and it was very romantic, great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YonatiaEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for out hotel! We are always striving to perfect our guest experience, and your review helps us to be sure that we're on the right track. We're so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the hotel, its staff and facilities to your satisfaction. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just had 16 bikers stay with during our June Bike Tour at the Stanford Inn on June 22nd. They accommodated us last minute and gave a great rate considering we needed to change our route due to the floods in southern Alberta. The service checking in and for supper was amazing. Rooms are very clean and the restaurant has the best Indian Cuisine around... I highly recommend the Stanford Inn.

Room Tip: The Family rooms are great because they have three beds, a microwave and a fridge great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowball_td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The outside is beautiful. The view from the dining room is lovely. The view from the our room was the highway with cars just feet from our room. The A/C kept the noise down, however. The internet was flaky and I was told it was probably because we were toward the end of the hall. The two-double bed room was adequate with wallpaper starting to curl away from the walls at the corners. It failed my clean-corners-in-the-bathroom test, but the room itself seemed clean. The worst part were the AWFUL very-uncomfortable mattresses which were too short for my 5'10" body. They told us they were DOUBLE beds--I should have expected that my feet would hang over.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the river-side of the building, top floor (2nd floor, but rooms numbered in the 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed two nights here and was thoroughly comfortable. The room on the 3rd floor came with a jacuzzi and king size bed plus all the normal amenities one expects with hotel rooms these days. The hotel provides a complimentary continental style breakfast in the Tandoor & Grill Restaurant which in the evenings has excellent East Indian cuisine at very reasonable prices. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and I would certainly return here next time I'm in Fernie. BC.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have just returned from 10 days at the Stanford Resort in Fernie and both my daughter and i had a fantastic time. This is a really comfortable and homely hotel. The rooms are big with big beds. The view from the room patio doors and balcony was superb. I booked the deluxe room which was great with plenty of room and all the facilities you could want. Bathrooms are nice and the showers are just fantastic - especially after a days skiing.

The hotel also has a pool with a four revolution slide which was great fun and an outdoor hottub and dip pool. Also a small gym, sauna and a very handy laundry (reception sells individual washing tabs). There is a restaurant within the hotel which is reasonably priced and serves great foot - the best curry in town. Breakfast is free and is really quite good.

The hotel staff were so accommodating to all of our requests and there were a number of them. Canadians are just so polite and service orientated. I really believe that they wanted me to have the best time that i could have.

Skiing and boarding in Fernie is great and the community spirit is really tangible wherever you go whether it be the slopes, the bar, the hotel or just shopping in the town. Ski bus stopped just outside the hotel and slopes just a 5 min bus ride up the hill. A really great base to explore both the Rockies and Canada in general. The town is a 30 minute walk from the hotel or a few minutes in a cab (not cheap). The shops in the town are diverse and interesting including a gallery, arts studio, chocolate factory, a great cinema and the usual grocery, clothes, eateries and gift shops.

Only minor downsides if I could find any was that some of the hotel furniture/decor was a little dated and the rooms were not quite as dusted/clean as my own home. I bit more attention to the quality of cleaning and this would be absolutely excellent.

Thank you Stanford team - you really did make my holiday memorable and relaxing. I would return without hesitation.

The Eden family

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room as you get a lot more storage room and a loft bed and ask for a room at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eden4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed here during ski season for two nights. The rooms are small, but comfortable, and the mini fridge was a real asset. Many of the rooms are pet friendly, but make sure it's a small pet because there's not much space for them. The complimentary breakfast is very good, although heavy on the starch so for anyone going gluten-free or who has read Wheat Belly, bring your own. My son loved the water slide, and the pool itself was very warm, which was great since the hot tub is outside and behind a glass wall so parents can't enjoy themselves and keep an eye on the kids. My husband loved the fact that he could get his snowboard tuned at the on-site ski shop and clinic. The staff is very friendly and easy-going, and it's only minutes from either downtown Fernie or the ski hill. For the price, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: The family suites only have a small fridge and microwave crammed against a bed so aren't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Stanford Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Resort

Property: Fernie Stanford Resort
Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fernie Stanford Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing