We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Scenic Location!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel is right at the farthest end of town, almost out of town to the west. Room was great, had a balcony overlooking the stream out back -- watched people fly-fishing. You can walk along the river, there are some benches to sit at along the way too. Had to keep the fan going at night to drowned out the noise, but other than that, room was good. The restaurant at the hotel is an Indian one, didn't try it. And the breakfast was continental --- and the most pathetic continental breakfast I've seen--we went elsewhere to eat. The view was the best part. Price was decent too, compared to some of the others in town.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the river, not the street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whattheheck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your hotel room and our scenic location. It's unfortunate that you didn't have the opportunity to try the Tandoor & Grill Restaurant during your stay, hopefully you enjoyed the other dining options in town. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    89
    44
    19
    14
See reviews for
149
64
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent one night in Fernie and really enjoyed ourselves. The waterslide was the high point for our daughter. My husband and I enjoyed it too. Everyone was friendly. Our room was great...clean with a lovely view of the river. The bed was sagging in the middle and a bit uncomfortable, but other than that, we would certainly go back. Breakfast was ok...simple with not a great deal of choices, but that is not much different than other places we've stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wxgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We always appreciate receiving feedback, especially from our international guests. So very glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed the waterslide and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie BC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary, alberta
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We usually stay at this hotel when visiting Fernie. About 2 km out of town, backs on a river. During the week the hotel was not busy, pretty well had the pool to ourselves most of the time, busier on weekends, very large pool with slide, small hot tub outside. We have only stayed in the hotel. Staff very friendly. Room rate was only $ 99.00/night, possibly as we booked ahead or stayed six nights, I am not sure, great value. East Indian restaurant onsite with limited hours, we have not eaten there. Free continental breakfast is nothing special but nothing wrong with it and you cannot beat the price. Large lobby, stone floors and wood construction, fits the theme of mountains and woods. Generally the hotel is in good repair, however, the carpeted areas look like they are due to be replaced. The rooms are simple and the furniture is wood and again that fits in, refrigerator in room was handy. Due to the great value will give it a 4 this time and we will be back.

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel part of the resort best to choose rooms that back on to the river, balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james19501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always looking to perfect our guest experience, and feedback from guests is always appreciated. We're also very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities and found it to be a great value. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It's very hard to not like all this hotel has for the kids to do. The water slide is just plain old fun. Service at the desk was excellent. Breakfast was very basic, but still nice to have in the morning. The main issue I had was in the loft room. The upper bed is just tired and needs to be replaced. it slumps in the middle terribly, leading to a poor nights sleeps. The curtains also need to be replaced and there are visible pin holes in therm. The deck furniture is tired and old and falling apart. If they address the old mattress and other issues, this becomes a 4 or 5 in my book vs a 3. Fernie is a great town, I love visiting it, and miss it when I have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kings_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel, we always love to hear from our guests! Very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our water slide facilities, and that you were happy with the level of service provided by our staff! We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience, and we value your feedback greatly. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a nice stay at the Stanford while whitewater rafting with our family. It was very convenient to have the rafting offices in the building, and they were able to take our last-minute bookings as we were only passing through town. We stayed on the river side on the top floor, which had no traffic noise (other than the train!) and a lovely view.
Our teens liked the indoor water slide and outdoor hot tub, which seemed rather over-regulated... the front desk clerk seemed more interested in monitoring the pool activities than was necessary. But once she relaxed, they had fun. Would definitely stay again, maybe in the winter next time. Lots of parking for sleds out back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback for out hotel. We always appreciated hearing from our guests. So glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our water slide and hot tub, and your accommodations. We're also glad you managed to get out on the river! Hope to see you back in the winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here June 23, 2013; this was the time Alberta was flooding and we were finishing up a motorcycle trip to Montana. The staff were very friendly, the restaurant for dinner was great and the morning breakfast was just fine. Very clean in the room and in the hotel. The hot tub was great and the manager kept it open a bit longer for us. I would choose to stay here again for a visit or another pass through.

Room Tip: I had the hot tub room and it was very romantic, great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YonatiaEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for out hotel! We are always striving to perfect our guest experience, and your review helps us to be sure that we're on the right track. We're so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the hotel, its staff and facilities to your satisfaction. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just had 16 bikers stay with during our June Bike Tour at the Stanford Inn on June 22nd. They accommodated us last minute and gave a great rate considering we needed to change our route due to the floods in southern Alberta. The service checking in and for supper was amazing. Rooms are very clean and the restaurant has the best Indian Cuisine around... I highly recommend the Stanford Inn.

Room Tip: The Family rooms are great because they have three beds, a microwave and a fridge great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowball_td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort

Property: Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience cozy accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing