We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just spent two nights at the Stanford Inn in Fernie. There were some pretty good things about this Hotel. It is located right on the Elk River and seemed popular with fly fisherman. This also meant there was a lot of people just hanging around the rear parking lot closest to the River. Our room was adequate as was the complimentary breakfast. Our only complaint was the wifi in the hotel was woefully inadequate. I would recommend the hotels restaurant for supper. It serves up some very good Indian food.

Room Tip: The further you get from the lobby, the weaker the wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We always love to hear from our guests. We're very glad you were happy with the hotel, its location, and our facilities. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the Tandoor & Grill Restaurant during your stay! Hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent the night here recently and would not consider staying here again. Our room was incredibly stuffy and there appeared to be no air conditioning...noting the only other option was to open the window that was level with the car park (which was not safe!). As a result, my 2 year old, myself and mother-in-law were unable to sleep. I called up to the main desk a few times to see if we could resolve the problem but there was no answer. As a result, I missed most of my friend's wedding the next day as I had a very cranky and tired toddler.
I reported these concerns upon check-out, where upon we had to wait some time for the attendant to complete her phone conversation...and to which she said she would have maintenance look in...no apologies, no reduction of price!

Room Tip: Higher room have A/C and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

April,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We're sorry to hear that you didn't get a good night's sleep during your stay due to the room's temperature. We hope that you found the other facilities and the hotel's location to your satisfaction. Hopefully you enjoyed your friend's wedding and the rest of your stay in Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We won't stay at this hotel again. It reminded me of the poor quality of some of the Days Inn hotels I used to stay at years ago - mind you Days Inns have improved since then.

You know a hotel will not be great when the elevator goes only to the second floor but your room is on the 3rd floor. It turns out they are the same! When the elevator reached the top it makes a noise like it is going to fall apart - probably fine but nothing smooth about it.

When we called to ask if our room was ready at 2 pm we were told in an annoyed tone that it might be ready by 4 and no offer was made to contact when ready. The room overlooked the road which was noisy (better I'm sure to request a room in the back). The air conditioner was noisy and really did not cool off the loft that much and the ceiling fan looked cheap and did not work. Also patio door did not lock so security was questionable. The fridge was so close to the beds you could hardly open it. The screen door did not lock. The family room had the parents in the loft and two beds for kids below - great! The beds were ok but not that comfortable and comforters were low end and did not seem recently cleaned. Breakfast not the greatest (unless you like microwave waffles) although it was free.

Not all was bad: the back of the hotel has a nice jogging path along the river and the sauna was nice. My 11 year old thought the water slide was not the best - not the worst. With a little more looking in Fernie I'm sure we could have done better.

Room Tip: Spending extra on a family room is not worth it - especially since they are noisy from the road. Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbestcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests as we strive to perfect our guest experience. We're glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed the hotel's location near the river, the sauna, and the water slide. Sorry to hear that the room was not to your satisfaction, but happy that the sleeping arrangements worked for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel is right at the farthest end of town, almost out of town to the west. Room was great, had a balcony overlooking the stream out back -- watched people fly-fishing. You can walk along the river, there are some benches to sit at along the way too. Had to keep the fan going at night to drowned out the noise, but other than that, room was good. The restaurant at the hotel is an Indian one, didn't try it. And the breakfast was continental --- and the most pathetic continental breakfast I've seen--we went elsewhere to eat. The view was the best part. Price was decent too, compared to some of the others in town.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the river, not the street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whattheheck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your hotel room and our scenic location. It's unfortunate that you didn't have the opportunity to try the Tandoor & Grill Restaurant during your stay, hopefully you enjoyed the other dining options in town. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent one night in Fernie and really enjoyed ourselves. The waterslide was the high point for our daughter. My husband and I enjoyed it too. Everyone was friendly. Our room was great...clean with a lovely view of the river. The bed was sagging in the middle and a bit uncomfortable, but other than that, we would certainly go back. Breakfast was ok...simple with not a great deal of choices, but that is not much different than other places we've stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wxgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We always appreciate receiving feedback, especially from our international guests. So very glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed the waterslide and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie BC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We usually stay at this hotel when visiting Fernie. About 2 km out of town, backs on a river. During the week the hotel was not busy, pretty well had the pool to ourselves most of the time, busier on weekends, very large pool with slide, small hot tub outside. We have only stayed in the hotel. Staff very friendly. Room rate was only $ 99.00/night, possibly as we booked ahead or stayed six nights, I am not sure, great value. East Indian restaurant onsite with limited hours, we have not eaten there. Free continental breakfast is nothing special but nothing wrong with it and you cannot beat the price. Large lobby, stone floors and wood construction, fits the theme of mountains and woods. Generally the hotel is in good repair, however, the carpeted areas look like they are due to be replaced. The rooms are simple and the furniture is wood and again that fits in, refrigerator in room was handy. Due to the great value will give it a 4 this time and we will be back.

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel part of the resort best to choose rooms that back on to the river, balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james19501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always looking to perfect our guest experience, and feedback from guests is always appreciated. We're also very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities and found it to be a great value. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It's very hard to not like all this hotel has for the kids to do. The water slide is just plain old fun. Service at the desk was excellent. Breakfast was very basic, but still nice to have in the morning. The main issue I had was in the loft room. The upper bed is just tired and needs to be replaced. it slumps in the middle terribly, leading to a poor nights sleeps. The curtains also need to be replaced and there are visible pin holes in therm. The deck furniture is tired and old and falling apart. If they address the old mattress and other issues, this becomes a 4 or 5 in my book vs a 3. Fernie is a great town, I love visiting it, and miss it when I have to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kings_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Fernie, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel, we always love to hear from our guests! Very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our water slide facilities, and that you were happy with the level of service provided by our staff! We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience, and we value your feedback greatly. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort

Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range: £71 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience cozy accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing