We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Fernie(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Place Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Valley Motel(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lizard Creek Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tree Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder Mountain Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
127
99
50
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
99
50
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesindian foodhot tubbalcony overlooking the rivercontinental breakfastski hillfamily suitein house restaurantjacuzzi suitekids loved the poolhockey tournamentonsite restauranthard boiled eggsmain floorfront desk staffroad triprooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is set in a beautiful location just outside of fernie. Also this hotel is perfectly located for skiers wanting to visit nikiska. Comfortable beds but the noise from the main highway (which this hotel sits next to) is quite noisy through out the evening. The highway eventually quiets down later in the night.

Breakfast was good but got corwded. The pancakes were. Frozen and had to be put in the microwave to heat them up. The outdoor sitting area to eat breakfast was looking out on to the river.

Dinner at the hotel was the best food I have ever had in a hotel. The restraint was an Indian place that you can use if you don't stay at the hotel as well. The food tastes really good. On a weekend you might want to make reservations as it gets busy.

The pool is superb with a waterslide over two storys tall.

This hotel is a great choice to stay in fernie.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123matt456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for out hotel! Were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location near the mountains and that you enjoyed your breakfast overlooking the river. We're also very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed our Tandoor & Grill Restaurant! Hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nice hotel that is quiet and clean that backs on to a great location along the river. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and there was no noise. The water slides were good for our kids and the continental breakfast served in the morning was beyond excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for us! So glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our hotel, it's location, staff, and facilities. Hope to see you next time you're in Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just spent two nights at the Stanford Inn in Fernie. There were some pretty good things about this Hotel. It is located right on the Elk River and seemed popular with fly fisherman. This also meant there was a lot of people just hanging around the rear parking lot closest to the River. Our room was adequate as was the complimentary breakfast. Our only complaint was the wifi in the hotel was woefully inadequate. I would recommend the hotels restaurant for supper. It serves up some very good Indian food.

Room Tip: The further you get from the lobby, the weaker the wifi signal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We always love to hear from our guests. We're very glad you were happy with the hotel, its location, and our facilities. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the Tandoor & Grill Restaurant during your stay! Hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent the night here recently and would not consider staying here again. Our room was incredibly stuffy and there appeared to be no air conditioning...noting the only other option was to open the window that was level with the car park (which was not safe!). As a result, my 2 year old, myself and mother-in-law were unable to sleep. I called up to the main desk a few times to see if we could resolve the problem but there was no answer. As a result, I missed most of my friend's wedding the next day as I had a very cranky and tired toddler.
I reported these concerns upon check-out, where upon we had to wait some time for the attendant to complete her phone conversation...and to which she said she would have maintenance look in...no apologies, no reduction of price!

Room Tip: Higher room have A/C and less noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

April,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We're sorry to hear that you didn't get a good night's sleep during your stay due to the room's temperature. We hope that you found the other facilities and the hotel's location to your satisfaction. Hopefully you enjoyed your friend's wedding and the rest of your stay in Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We won't stay at this hotel again. It reminded me of the poor quality of some of the Days Inn hotels I used to stay at years ago - mind you Days Inns have improved since then.

You know a hotel will not be great when the elevator goes only to the second floor but your room is on the 3rd floor. It turns out they are the same! When the elevator reached the top it makes a noise like it is going to fall apart - probably fine but nothing smooth about it.

When we called to ask if our room was ready at 2 pm we were told in an annoyed tone that it might be ready by 4 and no offer was made to contact when ready. The room overlooked the road which was noisy (better I'm sure to request a room in the back). The air conditioner was noisy and really did not cool off the loft that much and the ceiling fan looked cheap and did not work. Also patio door did not lock so security was questionable. The fridge was so close to the beds you could hardly open it. The screen door did not lock. The family room had the parents in the loft and two beds for kids below - great! The beds were ok but not that comfortable and comforters were low end and did not seem recently cleaned. Breakfast not the greatest (unless you like microwave waffles) although it was free.

Not all was bad: the back of the hotel has a nice jogging path along the river and the sauna was nice. My 11 year old thought the water slide was not the best - not the worst. With a little more looking in Fernie I'm sure we could have done better.

Room Tip: Spending extra on a family room is not worth it - especially since they are noisy from the road. Avoid the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbestcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests as we strive to perfect our guest experience. We're glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed the hotel's location near the river, the sauna, and the water slide. Sorry to hear that the room was not to your satisfaction, but happy that the sleeping arrangements worked for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews