We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I am writing this review having consumed a lovely meal at the indian restauant in the hotel (thanks Bobby). We have been back to the Stanford a number of times and have always had a excellent stay, the staff are friendly and helpfull and provide great advice on places to go in Fernie when asked. The views from the hotel are spectacular and the hot tub is awesome, especially when it snows. We have not used it but it has ski and board rental on site.
We have stopped at other places in fernie the Stanford is out of town but is not much in a taxi and is very close to the ski hill.
Many thanks to Joan, the manager and all her staff who look after us on every visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ross s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We always love to hear from our guests. Very glad to hear that you were happy with our hotel, facilities, dining options, and staff! Look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel was on par with most economy hotels. The rooms were clean and nice enough and the staff helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast had the usual fare. And people seemed to really be enjoying the pool and waterslide. The location is between the town and the ski hill. On the negative side of things, the queen beds were atrociously uncomfortable. The thin mattress had no support and would "v" so that we were constantly sucked into the center and ate a few elbows throughout the night. The heater was hard to adjust so that it was either cooking hot or cold. Eventually we just turned it off. Might be worth paying a bit more for a better sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback for our hotel, we always love to hear from our guests!. We're very glad to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We're sorry that you did not find the beds to your satisfaction. We hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have just got back to UK from another fabulous time at Stanford Resort in the brilliant Fernie! Staff, room, service and curry could not have been better. Everyone is so friendly and helpful making us feel very welcome and looking after us, even after nearly 24 hours travelling to get there! Even though the hotel was busy over the Xmas and new year period, we were very well looked after and staying in a fabulous family room - loads of space and beds for all of us. Cannot wait to go back again as soon as we can. Ski-ing in Fernie is the BEST and Stanford is ideally placed half-way between ski hill and town making it easy to get to either, even without our own transport - ski bus picks up right outside and also evening bus into town is great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We're so very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay over the Christmas holidays at our resort. It's great to hear that you found the staff, service, accommodations, and food all to your satisfaction. To top it off, it sounds like you had a great time on the slopes too! Hope to see you on your return to Fernie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

From the minute we walked in the doors of the Stanford Inn we knew we had found a hotel that we will go back to for years to come. Karen at the front desk was warm, friendly and helpful. the rest of the staff were great too. The rate was very reasonable per night. The pool and water slide and outdoor hot tubs were a blast. The continental breakfast was plentiful. The rooms were adequate for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great atmosphere good location. Good price. Front staff was very freindly and helpfull. Hotel require some updating and up-keep in the rooms. Beds are not the best for comfort. Heating was difficult to adjust so we just turned it off. It's like they don't want to spend the money to do any thing with the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Loopster9974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As we drove into Fernie we were headed to the Best Western. I phoned for prices and it was 160.00 plus tax. We passed this hotel turned around and went there and glad we did. The room was very cozy. We were in a standard room. I liked the decor really made you feel you were at a resort. The price was 99.00 and they gave us 10.00 off which was very nice of them. Front staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check there website looks like they have some really nice rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moe217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This resort has stunning architecture from the outside and a luxury "log cabin" feel when you walk in. I was very impressed with the Athens Oasis room when I walked in. It had a really cool layout -very cozy and small with a fun loft area overlooking your Jacuzzi tub. The bed was a bit too hard for my liking. The front desk staff were pleasant and average. We missed the cut-off for breakfast in the morning but the waitress took me into the kitchen so I could pick out some muffins and fruits to take with me. Very nice.

Room Tip: Choose the Athens Oasis theme room for luxury, not space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyLauM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, your Athens Oasis Room, our staff, and our facilities. Our apologies that the bed was not to your satisfaction. Also very glad to hear you found our breakfast staff helpful in making sure you didn't go hungry! Hope to see you on your next trip to Fernie, BC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
734 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
97 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort

Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience cozy accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing