We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in Feb/March on a snowboarding holiday, the staff were really helpful and would go above and beyond. Really laid back atmosphere and great bar downstairs to meet people. Can be quite noisy but thats expected in a hostel. The kitchen area is good, yummy pancake breakfast every morning, although they need to invest in a tin opener! The dogs that live out the back are so cute and friendly. The rooms are functional, I was in a four person room with an ensuite and had a mini fridge which was great. Fernie is a nice small town, great ski hill but if it rains you soon run out of things to do! Supermarket is a short walk away and also downtown is not much further with a range of shops. A few different bars to choose from for nights out, a small town feel that's lots of fun!

Room Tip: Smaller upstairs rooms have ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmgb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
9
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 weeks on our second trip to Canada. After visiting the likes of whistler, big white and Banff we stumbled across a little gem called Fernie. Such an awesome ski hill and a really fun little town thats full of life but still nice and laid back. and such a great hostel to come back to at the end of a big day to wind down (or up) with a few beers and chat to fellow travellers. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and happy to share there local knowledge which made our stay even more enjoyable. I know recommend Fernie to everyone and hope to come back to the elk next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dijion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Amazing staff, had some of the best memories in my life at the raging elk hostel. The bar has a great atmosphere and is situated just 5 minutes walk from the groceries and Main Street. So all and all great experience as I will be back here in future :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanbenbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Has to be the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Great location, great staff!! It's a must for all who pass through fernie!! It has everything you expect from a hostel and more!! Excellent somes it up. So for all you travellers out there this is where fernie is at !! It all starts here with the famous hemp!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AForbes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

living is hostels 1/6th of my life,this. Hostle had it all beautiful lady's by the bus load,daly!!it was clean"the hostel".hostile ya sometimes.but always friendly staff and a clean kitchen where food is the mission.aswell as a bar to play pool and drink cheep
Wobbly pops
"

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerthebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Raging Elk when we first came to Fernie for the ski season, and it was a great place to start. The staff are really welcoming, the hostel is only a very short walk from town, and the bar is great - free pool and $3.50 pints. The kitchen is huge and was a good place to meet people. When the sun comes out, there is a really nice deck at the rear of the hostel overlooking the mountains - and you can get to know Cody and Whiskey (2 awesome dogs who live next door).
Another bonus during the ski season is that the mountain shuttle stops right outside the hostel door.
Definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My family and my sister's family stayed at the Raging Elk before Xmas to do some skiing. We had never stayed in a hostel before so were not sure what to expect. I like the concept of a hostel, but would not recommend this particular hostel. The hostel is run down and has seen its day. The kitchen is in poor shape with not enough dishes etc. One of the ovens did not work which creates a bottleneck when trying to prepare meals. The carpet in the rooms is almost threadbare. There are not enough places to hang clothing or wet towels. Climate control is poor. The rooms are either too cold or too hot. The rooms can be noisy when people decide to continue their party after the bar closes. To be honest, I felt as though I was staying in a shelter! The only good thing about the hostel was the price (but, you get what you pay for). If you are looking for a cheap place to party, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would certainly not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fernie hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.0 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge

Property: The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Address: 892 6th Ave, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raging Elk adventure lodge is situated in the heart of Fernie, a 10 minute drive to Fernie Alpine Resort. We have 2 large patios with epic mountain views, a theatre style TV room, comfy lounge areas with pool table, fuse ball & piano. Fully loaded kitchen, spacious dinning areas, sauna, ski tunning room and secure ski and bike storage. Enjoy our outdoor fire pit in summer and winter and our daily complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing